We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Tokyo”
Review of Annex Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Annex Katsutaro
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2008

This is an excellent place to stay in Tokyo, as it is away from the amazing crush and bustle of the main tourist areas. It is, however, very easily reached from the Nippori train station which connects with most of the main areas of the city. We were three people staying in a room, and there was plenty of space for our stuff as well as the three very comfortable futons. The bathroom was about the cleanest I have ever seen. The map they provide showing all the local restaurants is invaluable. We had some great meals at very reasonable prices.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2007

[--] - book direct with the hotel. They are very helpful, and can handle questions in English. The front desk staff are very helpful. The rooms are lovely, traditional but modern at the same time. You must stay in the Annex, a much better hotel/ryokan. Breakfast is good. For two people make sure to ask for the larger room, at 12,600 yen per night and you'll have plenty of room for 2 suitcases. The market street near the hotel is very traditional, plenty of places to eat, and the locals couldn't be lovelier or more welcoming. The hotel directions on how to get to them aren't very clear, so these may help you:
From the West exit (not easy to find, look for the East exit sign then head in the opposite direction) at Nippori station turn to your left. Cross over the pedestrian crossing, as you'll need to be on the right hand side of the street as the road will split in two. You'll go past quite a few little shops before you reach the stairs to the market street/lane with plenty of shops & restaurants. Once you arrive at the end of the street or t-junction (no more shops) take your left. The Ryokan will be on the left side, a few shops down. It is about 10 min walk from Nippori, with suitcases. 5 minutes otherwise.
They have free internet service in the foyer, and washing machines & dryers also in the foyer area. The best restaurant I have ever eaten in, anywhere in the world, is also in their street.
There is no signage in English so I don't know what the name is, but head out the hotel door to your right and stay on that street all the way to the end. The restaurant is at almost the very end of the street, on the right hand side. About a 10 minute walk. They don't speak any English, but there is a large menu with pictures of the food with their names also in English. Do not let this fool you, the food isn't westernised in any way - even if you're not a huge sushi fan and don't like raw anything (like me) you will love this restaurant. It is simply the freshest and most beautifully prepared food I have ever had. The restaurant is always busy, so be prepared to be turned away if you arrive too late, or to have to wait a while for your meal as they sometimes have huge group reservations in the back to deal with. It is absolutely worth any wait. You can't see in from the outside, just slide the traditional door and wait - one of the ladies will seat you, or turn you away so apologetically & gracefully that you won't mind at all.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Brisbanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Stayed 4 nights in November and loved it. Great room which was a mix of modern and traditional. Local area was super, a feel of real Japan, some great places to eat and shop. Location was also very good close to both the underground and the JR railway. All the major sites, shopping and highlights were in easy travelling distance. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

The Annex Katsutaro Ryokan is a wonderful place to stay, situated in a quaint, yet vibrant town called Yanaka. The rooms are of good size, very clean and tastefully appointed. There were five of us, staying in two larger 2-person rooms and one single room. There is a laundry area downstairs - 200 yen each wash and 100 yen each 20 minutes of drying time. It is a brisk 15 minute walk to the Nippori train station and 5 minutes to the Sendagi subway station. Very easy to get around. Lots of places to eat, and the shopkeepers are so friendly. We speak just enough Japanese to get in trouble, but we got by just fine. It was so nice being able to visit different (and very busy) areas of Tokyo, and return to this area was a great break from the frenzy. We have so enjoyed our stay here at this ryokan and will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank firecat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

A good and modern ryokan, conveniently located at the Nippori area (for JRP holder, the ryokan is 8-10 min walk from JR Nippori station).
The room as spacious enough, adequate bathroom size and it is very clean.
I stayed with my friends for 3 nights and enjoy the neighborhood.
No dinner included (simple breakfast is provided with a bit extra).
If you are looking for a convenient location and modern ryokan, this is the place to stay. Curfew at 11pm but there is a side door for your convenient if you come back after 11pm (the code change everyday, you need to get the access code from the counter).
Free internet in the room and at the reception lobby with 2 desktop computer provided.
There is vending machine, washing machine, and drier provided in this ryokan.

Overall, recomended!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rudy_setiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2007

We stayed here in June and again in September, 2007. As noted by others, the location is outstanding. The surrounding area is like a small village, but is within walking distance of Ueno Park and Akusaka. Reaching the Annex by the Keisei train was very easy following the directions on their web site. The inn keepers are very friendly and helpful. They provide a map of the local shops and restaurants and give advice about which restaurants welcome English speaking guests. We particularly liked the tempera restaurant. Our room was an 8 tatami mat room with a bath tub, a storage area and a small refrigerator. The pictures posted by others coincide with our experience. The breakfast is a matter of personal taste—I found the continental breakfast to be okay, my partner did not. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Annex Katsutara and will stay there
again when we return to Tokyo.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank RhondaWhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

This is a very good and unique mix between an hostel, an hotel and a ryokan!
So it is ok unless you do not expect a traditional hotel, altough it is quiet and clean and provide everything you need included free internet access. I did not like the small rooms (even the deluxe ones) and the conditioning air system.
Yanaka is a traditional and lovely part of the city well connected by subway via the Yamanote and Chiyoda lines.
I will visit them again.


Stayed: August 2007
Thank Jobaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Livemax Nippori
Hotel Livemax Nippori
#86 of 124 in Taito
30 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#7 of 124 in Taito
312 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#6 of 124 in Taito
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ryokan Katsutaro
#64 of 124 in Taito
102 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#25 of 124 in Taito
179 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 124 in Taito
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Katsutaro

Address: 3-8-4 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £52 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Annex Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annex Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Annex Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing