We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, good location, friendly staff, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Me and my friend were staying in Asakusa Sunroute Hotel for 1 week in February 2010. Not typically for Japanese style, the room was quite spacious - there was enough space for two persons and no crushes happened. WC (which is usually very important for girls) was nice and CLEAN. The staff was very friendly and helpful...helpful for those who speaks Japanese (a little bit at least). Speaking English was a sometimes problematic,, but they were doing their best to understand and help. Great location of the hotel (5 minutes walk to Metro) makes it very easy to reach Ginza, Shibuya and other central districts of Tokyo. There are many restaurants of Japanese and other food. It was lovely stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2010

Stayed four nights, room is a bit old and my room smells damp, it's clean though. Walking distance to temple, nakamise Dori & train station, excellent base for nikko daytrip and start point for cruise along the river. Ps. Beds are firm (like everywhere in japan) and they want prepayment upon check in ( which we also experienced at other hotel, may be it is common practice in japan)

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Room was standard business hotel (very small by Western standards!) but perfectly adequate and very clean. Second floor cafe pretty basic, with passable Western and Japanese food. Front desk service was excellent, very helpful and eager to please. Hotel is also well located - Asakusa is a good spot for restaurants and the Senso-ji Temple.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydney_beach_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

This is the second time that I stayed here and although the price went up a little in two years (outside of the worse USD to Yen exchange rate), it is still an excellent value for Tokyo. Proximity to the temples and shops was great, and I was able to get a good meal at my favorite Indian restaurant a few blocks away. Asakusa in general may be one the best locations for value and proximity. I needed to go to Tsukuba. Well...the Tsukuba Express train was right up the street. The Tawaramachi subway line is essentially across the street, and the Asakusa line is also close by. Get the double room...it is a bit larger (although still very small by US standards). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Excellent hotel in a great location. Much better than staying somewhere like Shinjuku which is full of tourists. Asakusa area is much more traditional and Japanese but still is handy to everything with the Ginza line a 5 min walk and only 2 stops to Ueno and all the JR lines.
Staff are very helpful and free internet in lobby and rooms is good.
Typical Japanese business hotel rooms which are not as big as in the west, but it's Japan and if you want giant rooms with english tv channels, maybe don't travel to an asia country.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We arrived from Narita at 11 am, so too early to check in. So we had our first experience with "jonathan", the "restaurant". Not a restaurant, but an OK spot for a light meal and with unlimited tea, coffee and soft drinks for less than Y300, including the fave green Fanta. The room, a standard twin, was fine - the twins are bigger than the doubles, and the beds, though firm were wide and long enough. Nice little bathroom, good shower, nice body wash, shampoo, etc. The immediate area is quiet, but you've got all you need, and the senso-ji temple, riverbus terminus and the subway are close. Would we stay again? Perhaps. The price was right, the room perfectly adequate, but we'd like a better restaurant. The staff were very helpful. Depends if the area is handy for our Tokyo needs - it's a big city!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I was at the Asakusa Sunroute Hotel in April '09. It's a comfortable hotel, cleen, and in a good position close the Metro Station. I spend a good time there during my trip in Tokyo. ....SUGGESTED! :-)

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fabriboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#25 of 124 in Taito
283 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Red Planet Asakusa, Tokyo
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#22 of 124 in Taito
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#35 of 124 in Taito
154 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Asakusa

Address: 1-8-5 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £49 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Asakusa Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing