We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice updated rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agora Place Asakusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agora Place Asakusa
Ranked #25 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
“Great location and nice updated rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel was very nice. It was our 2nd in Tokyo, and although it was smaller than our room in Shinjuku New City Hotel, the rooms were much more up to date and newer. This hotel doesn't believe in too many extras, so if you needed something, you had to pay a little extra money to get them in the lobby. Tea was free for example, but if you needed a toothbrush you would have to pay a small fee. I liked this hotel's location. It was walking distance to Asakusa Temple, and was not far from where the Airport Limousine bus picks up/drops off. They provided some new iMacs for you to use in the lobby, and although we had some trouble connecting to the free wi-fi, it was nice to have once we got connected.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    148
    51
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
96
59
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Agora Place review is a mixed bag. On the positive side, the hotel is very stylish, has a great location in a not so crazy part of Tokyo, convenient access to metro. The rooms are clean. I did not like the 'pay for every little thing policy' - but if you pack all your own stuff, it's not that big a deal. The rooms are very small, even by Tokyo standards. No breakfast included. Excellent internet access with both wi-fi and LAN. If you can get the hotel at a good price relative to other properties, I would recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring all your own toiletries and supplies!!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank santarosapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My regular accommodation in Asakusa (the Ryokan Kamagawa) was full, so I went with this instead. The room was small, but clean and tidy. The best was very soft and comfortable (I was upgrade to a double, which was great). Staff were friendly and helpful.

I didn’t like the “no frills” attitude of the hotel, which even meant paying extra for hand soap….seemed a bit too cheapo. Plenty of stuff is available in reception to buy or rent. Internet, a kettle, air con and towels are included thou! I wasn’t about to check in until 3pm, and check out is at 11am. You can pay Y1000 more an hour to extent the room, which I thought was pretty expensive. My view was of the neighbouring building’s fire escape.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased with Agora Place; the location was perfect (30 seconds from metro stop, in a lovely quiet area. 10 minutes walk to Sensoji Temple. We went here at night which was magical!)
The room was small, but so clean and modern that it was perfect. There were great thoughtful touches such as flexible reading lights and power point at the head of the bed, fabric / air freshner, cute little fridge and a safe.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and we would definitely recommend as a base for exploring Tokyo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Satying at this hotel was a joyful experience. Locating it at first was difficult, but after that it was so easy to navigate all over tokyo! The subway is approximately 200 metres away from the hotel and took maybe 10 minutes by subway to reach the heart of Tokyo, Shibuya. The staff was very helpful with maps, subway and bus information. The rooms are small but you can not expect much more in Tokyo!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Three nights in a small double. Yes it is a small room but the bed is just about OK for two small sized Brit adults. Makes keeping eveythng tidy a must. Bathroom not as small as feared. If you are used to American or Australian rooms you will find it cramped. But service was excellent - they changed feather pillows for foam without any fuss. We didn't use any rental items - you may went a cushion or two and the rates are OK once you overcome the shock of Tokyo prices. The location s excellent. We walked there from ASAKUSA station, which you can get to from Narita by fast train direct on Keisei line. The nearest subway station is just at the corner - about 40 metres away. If you are prepared to be in close proximity with each other then totally recommend for a couple. Air con was great, plenty of room in fridge although very limited clothes hanging space. The great Kanon shrine is ten mins walk away - and a fab walk at that. Plenty of convenience stores all around for teabags, milk etc. Try the Doutors coffee shop about two mins away - exit, turn left, cross main road and it's 50 metres up on the left. They have English menu.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

OK, I will start out by agreeing/affirming that the rooms are small. The website pretty much gives you fair warning of that. And Tokyo is generally very expensive, so judging by economies of scale (Y18,500/AU $205) for 3 nights for a single room was a bit of a bargain.

The bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom, despite being so small I couldn't reach the sink without leaning at an angle, had a great shower with a choice of normal or rainforest shower. Not bad for a mini set up - like a bathroom on a cruise liner (a hook to hang towels on would be an improvement though). As someone pointed out, you can't fill a kettle in the bathroom sink. I have had that happen in 5 star hotels - you just use a glass or a cup and fill it up that way...! Some people, sheesh!! ;-)

The staff were really friendly, although the one thing I wouldn't rate is the cafe attached to it. I turned up to breakfast at 9.25, thinking it was on until 11 (as per their sign) and they were packing up all the food - even after making me walk to the reception to buy a voucher. I got a dodgy coffee and they made me a burger (yes, a burger in a bun with lots of mustard as breakfast - I wasn't asked what I would like) for my Y800. I then grabbed a coffee the next morning and couldn't drink it. Just walk on up towards Senso-ji and grab some ramen or katsu. Easily fixed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa
#26 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#18 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#47 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Place Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Place Asakusa

Property: Agora Place Asakusa
Address: 2-2-9 Kotobuki, Taito 111-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Place Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in July 2012, AGORA PLACE ASAKUSA is a stylishly designed limited service hotel in Tokyo.Just 2-minute walk from Tawaramachi Station, 10-minute walk from the Senso-ji Temple. The hotel has modern air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, refrigerator,safe, bathroom with a hairdryer, slippers, nightwear and amenities are available for an extra cost.The friendly staff can provide local information. Computers are available for use in the lobby and iPads can be rented at the front desk.Guests can use the coin laundry, or request dry cleaning. The hotel also has a vending machine for soft drinks and alcohols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Agora Place Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Place Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing