We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for money and position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel for money and position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

As my son lives in Kuramae I was looking for hotel for a couple of nights which was within walking distance to his apartment. I found this hotel within a few minutes walk. I booked a double room on about the 8th floor. (single rooms or twin bedded rooms are on lower floors and look into a building). The room was Japanese small but quite large enough for a couple of nights. Everything was very clean. The foyer was very busy in the morning with people taking advantage of the free Japanese breakfast. I am booked to stay there again in July for 2 nights. The hotel is only a short walk from the Kuramae Oedo line Subway. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Double rooms are on higher floors and have "some" aspect as it has a window with a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slenda_Glenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    56
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
27
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is located near 2 different metro lines and 1 of them has a direct metro to Narita Airport. If you are carrying your luggage, make sure that you use the right exit so that there is an elevator. Otherwise you will need to carry your luggage up and down the stairs. There are convenient stores close by. It is within walking distance to Senjo-ji and some famous centuary-old restaurants.
Since I stayed for 3 days, I opted for the "eco plan" which means that there is no cleaning service on the second and third day. Clean towels will be put in a plastic bag hung on the door knob. This will save 300yen per day on the room charges. What's more important for me is that I didn't have to leave my room early in order to allow the cleaning staff to clean the room. As regards reception staff, my check-in staff was very sweet and friendly but the check-out staff appeared rather strange. Maybe it's the language problem. But this is a rather minor issue which does not affect the overall attractiveness of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Small, typical japanese hotel, not any luxury but every thing that you need for a stay. wifi at rooms is also convenient. Perfect location, very close to subway and Asakusa main attractions, easy to find the hotel. It was a little bit noisy at nights since it is on the main street, but not really important. Early checkout such as 10.00 may be a disadvantage of the hotel. Japanese breakfast was average, but everyone can find to eat something.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

After breakfast on day two we ventured out into the cold snow icy blizzard conditions which Tokyo was experiencing (the worst for 40 years), around 1 pm it was simply too cold for outdoor exploration so we returned to our hotel room. The bed had been re-made, the room tidied, however some cleaning rags remained at the base of the toilet in the bathroom.
The housekeeping staff became agitated when we indicated we wanted to use our room, and said we could not use the room and should come back later. We returned at 2.00pm, no cleaning staff on our floor and the bathroom remained as we had found it previously.
We queried Reception staff who were emphatic we could not use the room; come back at 3.00pm, then drew our attention to the key card envelope which was presented to us on check in the previous day. This envelope which along with breakfast times etc stated ’Quote your room will be cleaned by 4.00pm. If you would like it to be cleaned earlier please ask the front desk’
Our request for another room was denied, and after much sensible protest from us, a cleaner removed the cleaning rags from the base of the toilet and gave us back the use of our room.
From this experience we gleaned that between the normal check out time of 10.00am and check-in time of 4.00pm it is the hotel preference that guests are not permitted in their rooms during these times unless previous arrangements have been made. Apart from the odd policy, we thought with the current weather conditions, more effort could have been made to accommodate its guests; the experience reminded us of days gone by when Youth Hostels had lock out times. The only time we saw other guests was before 10am and after 4.00pm.
Room presentation totally satisfactory, nowhere else in the world have we encountered similar room restrictions for guests.

Room Tip: Ensure you are able to have access to your room for stays of more than one night at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is typical of all of the Toyoko Inn hotels we stayed in on our trip to Japan. It was clean and comfortable (although the beds are typically firm), the staff were polite and helpful despite speaking limited English, and the free breakfast of rice dishes, miso soup, bread and spreads, and coffee/green tea filling. Our non-smoking room was quiet, very clean and tidy, and well appointed. The hotel is conveniently located (walking distance) to Senso-ji temple and Tokyo Sky Tree, and other sites/places in Tokyo via the subway. It can be reached from Asakusa or Kuramae subway stations but make sure you use the right exits. The subway stations gave us a quick connection to Ueno Station (and Keisei Ueno Station for the Skyliner Express train to Narita Airport).

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room when booking; it makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Father_Daughter_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have a friend who's been constantly recommending Toyoko Inn but I never tried it till now and I think she's got it right. It's really, really value for money because the rooms are cheap but very nice and large (for Tokyo). It's a budget hotel so don't expect it to be fancy but it has everything you need. The front desk is very efficient and everything is clean. A simple breakfast of onigiri, rice, & miso soup comes free every morning and the room even has a humidifier (in Winter), which some more expensive hotels I stayed at did not have.

This Toyoko Inn at Kuramae is near the Kuramae station (5 min), which has 2 Toei lines. If you travel purely on the Toei lines, which we did some days, there's a one day pass on special holidays (like new years, summer, & winter vacation) that is only 500Y.

It's a little further from Asakusa Tobu station (12min) going to Nikko but completely walkable. As a plus, on the way to Asakusa, you'll see many views of Skytree and pass by Bandai with some lifesized figurines. There are also lots of convenience stores (7-11, Lawsons, Lawsons100, etc) around and enough to eat (TCM, Royalhost, some izakaya, etc) but fewer food choices than at Asakusa.

Room Tip: The Twin room is the same price as the Double but bigger so if you're just 2 friends going toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingdomnoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Easy access from Narita to Asakusa station, then roughly a 8-10 min walk to hotel. 2 mins walk to metro and with two 24-hour convenience stores across the street. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and practical and had touches which would not exist in a budget hotel outside of Japan. For example, I was offered a "ladies toiletries" pack on check-in which included a face-mask and there's complimentary tea making facilities, slippers & yakatas in room. Bed was comfortable and there's free WiFi, free included breakfast (good enough but not great), coin laundry facilities etc. The only downside is that there is only one lift which means a bit of a queue in the morning. Also, the hotel is closed for cleaning between 10am - 3pm, so you can only stay in your room if you don't want your room cleaned. Also, generally no early check-in possible, so expect to leave your bag at reception for a few hours for those flying into Narita early.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zana711_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
Ueno, Asakusa
Toyoko Inn Uenotawaramachi Station
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#25 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#47 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon

Property: Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon
Address: 1-3-13 Komagata, Taito 111-0043 , Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon Hotel Taito
Toyoko Inn Taito
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing