We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Inn Asakusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Via Inn Asakusa
Ranked #26 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels in this category that we stayed in during our tour of Japan.
The rooms are tasteful and as you would expect in Japan, spotless. Breakfast was predictable - it is always disappointing if you are vegetarian - but superior.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    204
    57
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
75
88
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I arrived a bit before the 3pm official check-in time, and asked the front desk to let me know if a room happened to become available early. No one could understand my question, which is understandable, but very uncommon in Japan. I decided instead to sit down and order a meal in the lobby restaurant. I motioned at the restaurant, and the front desk clerk typed "1,200" on the calculator, so I walked toward the restaurant. As soon as I put my bag down, she came over and said, "reservation, reservation, reservation." The restaurant was totally empty, but it was clear that I could not eat there for some reason. On and on this way. This might be a fine hotel if you speak Japanese. If you don't, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for six nights, just for a short budget holiday. The hotel is approx a 8 minute walk from the train station, which is great. There is lots of restaurants and shops in the area and convenient stores, even a market next to the famous Senso-Ji temple. Check in & out was fine, the staff are very nice and polite (most speak little English). The majority of guest are business men and foreigners. Our room was on the tenth floor, non smoking, we had a great view of the Tokyo SkyTree Tower! The rooms are quite small as expected, the toilet was pretty much the size of a bathroom stall however they do provide you with useful amenities, overall the room size was fine for us and there was room for all our luggage etc. There is a flat screen tv in the room but all the channels are in Japanese, there is free WIFI in the lobby of the hotel also. We had breakfast included in our package, which is a buffet. The food is a mix of Japanese and western cuisine, which was a nice option. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Bluewave Inn, good value for money, central location and nice staff.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking floor. Don't leave anything in the bathroom as it will get wet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The rooms are quite tiny....one wouldn't expect much less in Japan and especially Tokyo but those ones are really small. The hotel has though all usual facilities and breakfast is good. It is ideally located just close to the Shrine and about 10 minutes on foot to the Asakusa Station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

I loved our room even though it was small.. It is located a few blocks from both asakusa stations and extreme close to the famous sensoji temple area. The staff are very friendly and helpful in any situation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richdjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed for one night, the room was small but clean with a restricted views of Tokyo tower. The location is pretty good, just 5minutes from Senso-ji Temple and 10minutes from Asakusa Station. The breakfast was also pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faisalm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a good business class hotel which we visited on a tour. Our room was particularly large, being a disabled access room, and was well fitted out. Some of our party had small rooms.

Breakfast was fine with Japanese and Western options, and there was WIFI, but only in reception, as appears to be common throughout Japan.

It is not too far from Asakusa (A-saksa) Station and is in a great position for looking around the (touristy) Asakusa area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McFoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#18 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#25 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#40 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Super Hotel Asakusa
Super Hotel Asakusa
#30 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#29 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Inn Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Inn Asakusa

Property: Via Inn Asakusa
Address: 2-33-7 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032 , Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Inn Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Via Inn Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Inn Asakusa Hotel Taito
Blue Wave Hotel Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing