We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical and functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
Ranked #81 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Practical and functional”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

It takes about 80 minutes on the Keisei main line from Narita to Ueno then either catch the hotel shuttle (when running) or change onto the Ginza line for Tawaramachi and walk 10-15 minutes or catch a taxi from Ueno and you reach this hotel. Close to the
Sensoji temple, shops, supermarkets and restaurants nearby. You can also walk to the pier for boats to Hamarikyu gardens. My 5th floor room wasn't large, small bathroom, double bed, non-smoking room. Clean and compact. In room controlled air con, fridge, hair dryer, lots of very hot water, not much luggage space (cases go under the bed), free wi-fi, hot plate to make cups of tea. A room safe, English tv channels and a bedside light would have been nice. Useful information available and various things you might have forgotten are provided at reception. Lifts are small and if you are on the lower floors you are better off taking the stairs (exterior to the hotel). Breakfast 7 until 9.30am can be something of a scrum as the breakfast seating area is small. Breakfast comprises rice, vegetables, soup, eggs/meatballs/sausages, bread, margarine and jelly/jam. Tea, coffee and juice. Perfectly adequate. The 4pm check-in time (rigidly adhered to) is irritating. A hotel shuttle bus goes to Ueno (for the park, National museum and/or metro) mornings and evenings (check precise times). Other than unnecessarily noisy other guests sharing our floor, the hotel was quiet. Beds and pillows on the hard side and towels could be more plentiful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    50
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
18
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We read mixed reviews about this hotel but found it to be quiet and conveniently located. Our non-smoking room was small (as is typical in Japanese hotels) but comfortable and well appointed. Despite the staff speaking limited English they were very polite and helpful, which was appreciated as we arrived after hours. It was very clean and provided all we needed for our one night stay. The free breakfast was filling and of the standard we experienced at other Toyoko Inn hotels. Although there was free Wifi in the rooms, it wasn't as high speed as what we experienced elsewhere. The courtesy bus to Ueno Station which leaves every half hour in the morning was wonderful and made connecting with the Shinkansen a breeze.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room when booking; it makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Father_Daughter_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In comparison with Kyoto Inn Gojo Karasuma the hotel is good but not excellent. The lobby is very small. The personnel was polite. Though when we asked for an adapter, they wanted to sell it (in Kyoto they lend it us).
As for the rooms - clean, neat, always tidied up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Toyoko Inns typically cater to Japanese businessmen but this one has its fair share of tourists for what it's worth. Like all Toyoko Inns, the rooms are small, beds are firm (hard), rooms are clean, breakfast is included, checkout is at 10AM and the staff is friendly, professional with varying proficiency in English. There is also a shuttle that takes you to Ueno JR station in the mornings and late afternoons. I don't know if they take you back though.
Oh, and this inn is located within walking distance of Asakusa station on the Tsukuba Express line, not the other Asakusa stations. A walk to the other Asakusa stations such as on the Asakusa line is more like a twenty minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephua88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have stayed here 4 nights. I wished though that the staff could speak more English, som of them can. My room no. 713 was very small but worked out very well. Here you can choose wether you want your room cleaned every day or not.
There is free WiFi and the breakfast is not the same every day. It is Japanese breakfast so no continental breaksfast here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Tuyet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have stayed with my wife at this hotel for a total of 3 nights (one stay of 1 night and another stay of 2 nights). This review is valid for both stays.

The room

One of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, but is was just enough for us. We only needed bed, shower, toilet and breakfast so that's what we got. The offer is fair if you do not have great requirements from a hotel. There would be some problems with the window, it is not soundproof, therefore the sounds from outside (traffic, wind, etc.) can be heard inside the room. The internet connection was simply not working, the signal from the access point was powerful, but there was no forther connectivity. Maybe some larger bandwidth would help. Also, the hotel could really replace those uncomfortable keys with some access cards which would be much easier to handle.

The staff

They may look busy, but they look so because they really are busy. Nevertheless, whenever we had a matter to discuss with them, they have been at any time respectful and willing to help us.

The breakfast

Rice. Rice everywhere. Some more meat would be great (salami, sausages, ham or something similar) and those boiled eggs would have been really good if they weren't cold. Another inconvenient would be the breakfast area: that space is simply too small and it can happen that you do not find a free chair. There are 25 square meters for breakfast while there are about 120 rooms in the hotel.

The conclusion is that this hotel is suitable for the ones trying to save some money while visiting Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Călin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Toyoko Inn Uenotawaramachi Station
Ueno, Asakusa
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Super Hotel Asakusa
Super Hotel Asakusa
#34 of 119 in Taito
127 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 119 in Taito
312 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#20 of 119 in Taito
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express

Property: Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
Address: 1-15-1 Senzoku, Taito 111-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Ctrip TA so you can book your Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express Hotel Taito
Toyoko Inn Taito
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing