We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to walk around”

Ameyoko Shopping Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.44*
and up
Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun to walk around”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We didnt really buy anything here, but just wondering around is quite fun. It does get busy at certain times though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pojaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    874
    409
    51
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It was absolutely a hoot!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I think that this is as far away as you can get from the civil, whispering Japanese society as you can get in Tokyo. The vendors are loud and brash, laughing and talking loudly. The crowds are an exotic mix of peoples from everywhere. The shopping is wonderful, the food is amazing. I had a very good experience. This is a must-go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ViandeFumee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Shops Galore”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When in Tokyo never miss this place. Its in Ueno very near main station. Good place to shop and eat. Tokyo is expensive enough to tour around. No need to shop at Ginza, Shibuya, or Roppongi. Ameyoko is just under the track of train from Ueno station. Its endless shops and stalls. Short walk from our hotel, Mitsui Garden Hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruzdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beer and snacks”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Interesting shopping street. There are also plenty of little shops with Japanese young working adults having a beer and snacks at 430pm on a weekday, some al fresco. Wonderful experience in the cool Spring weather.

Helpful?
Thank myojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wish we could've stayed longer”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My friend and I were pressed for time so we just browsed and didn't buy anything here. I've been hearing good things about this shopping street and it's also featured in tourist info brochures. We'll spend more time and shop in this area when we go back to Japan, and hopefully be able to buy lots.

There's a variety of goods in here from food, clothing, accessories, shoes so one needs to be patient in looking through the wares.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ameyoko Shopping Street also viewed

 

Been to Ameyoko Shopping Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing