We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ueno New Izu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ueno New Izu Hotel
Ranked #37 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Budget Lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a semi-double room with the typical Japanese business hotel setup. Room was somewhat smaller than other rooms we stayed in. It included TV, refrigerator, desk, clock, yukata, bath supplies and tea set. Room was very clean and all facilities worked well.

No WiFi in the room, but staff supplied LAN cable. Their Internet system blocked outgoing ports which might be a problem for some - it denied access to certain sites I tried to access.

Location is very good - a few blocks from the JR Ueno station.

Facility includes laundry room and is next door to a Lawson convenience store.
Staff was helpful and capable in English.

Room Tip: Be careful with choosing a room. Some are small, others are closet-like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w1sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    104
    47
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
52
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Nice place even though a little small.
Very clean and nicely located (walking distance to tw Ueno metro station and train station). The tea and kimonos in te room were appreciated.

The room may be cold when you get there but the heather works well and warms the room pretty quickly.
Would come back and recommend.

Ps: prices for the room are a little high in my opinion but hey it's Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Three of us stayed there for 12 nights in a triple room. We stayed in a room where it had 2 doubles and a single, so it was pretty spacious for what it was. Very good value for the price you pay. We did Lawson runs pretty much every morning and night- it was awesome! It's close to the 0101 building which is pretty much a department store and around restaurants and shops. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Beware of people smoking in the lobby if you don't like to be around smoke.

I'd definitely recommend everyone to stay there when you visit Tokyo! It's in the most accessible location close to train stations and shops! It only took 42 minutes via the Skyliner train from Narita Airport and we didn't have to transfer, it went straight there! It takes about 5 minutes walk to the hotel, but it took a while for us because we had luggage and it was hard to find at night first time!

Room Tip: The triple room on the 5th floor has two doubles and a single couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank solidmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Reservations : Through booking.com. Emailed them to check if we can leave our bags with the reception 2 days before check in (as we are making an overnight trip to Nikko from Tokyo) Reply was prompt and they happily welcomed us to deposit the bags with them
Location : Located in a quiet neighborhood and i had no trouble locating it with my google map. Lawson is just right next door and Ueno "train hub" is about 5-10mins walk away. They are cafes, pharmacy and restaurants located round the corner of the hotel. Ameyoko is about 5-10mins walk away
Reception :They speak little English but good enough for our needs. Find them helpful when we reached out to them to seek assistance to mail back our rented SIM card.
Rooms : Agreed that they are small and dated but I find them clean and well equipped definitely good enough for a recommended stay. Equipped with hair dryer,a small fridge, LCD TV and a flask to boil water. No wardrobe but has a few points on the wall with clothes hanger above the bed. Wi-Fi is available in the lobby but we manage to get connection to it staying on the second floor

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radical_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

After a couple of weeks in Japan we have become accustomed to small spaces so the Izu was a pleasant surprise. We had a twin room with the usual capsule bathroom, although very clean it is a little rundown - but you get what you pay for. The staff are helpful and friendly and have a little English - enough to get by. The best thing about the Izu is the location - a 5 min walk to the station and better yet the fabulous Ueno market alleys.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a twin instead of a double - a little bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed here on a trip trip to Tokyo with friends - as this was my first trip to Japan,I was not sure what to expect! I ave since been told the room was a good size. The Staff could not do enough for us. Conveniently located with Lawsons (like a 7/11 store) next door, it was just a short stroll to Ueno station and the Yamonato loop line.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

New Izu hotel was our first accommodation in Japan and we would certainly recommend it to stay in Tokyo.
advantages:
1. location: ~5 minutes from Ueno station
2. convenience store right by the hotel - you could buy fresh onigiri and have breakfast in the room
3. little fridge in the room, tea-making facilities
4. comfortable beds (unless someone really likes soft mattresses - the beds are firm)
5. quiet
6. relatively spacious room
7. access to laundry machine
8. helpful & friendly staff, partly with decent English
9. clean
10. bathroom module with washlet
11. good price
12. flashlight in the room - quite useful in checking under the beds

Why 4 points and not 5:
- no wardrobe (though we've seen some other rooms had small wardrobes)
- noisy ventilator in the bathroom module
- no AC in the bathroom module
- the bathroom module was a bit dated and it showed - though any areas that you would touch were indeed clean


as for finding the hotel - we almost got lost the first time, it's not straightforward. You take either the Main, Panda Bridge or Iriya (?) exits and cross the freeway - best done over the pedestrian bridge. Then - if you take the escalator, you go straight past Lawson shop, turn right at the next crossroad, you'll have Wakodo pharmacy on the right, and you take the turn left. The hotel entrance is just past another Lawson.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spring1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tohoku
Hotel New Tohoku
#87 of 121 in Taito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#7 of 121 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#51 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Terminal Hotel
Ueno Terminal Hotel
#62 of 121 in Taito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
#41 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
#35 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno New Izu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno New Izu Hotel

Property: Ueno New Izu Hotel
Address: 3-13-1 Higashiueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ueno New Izu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ueno New Izu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ueno New Izu Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing