We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed here for about a week while in Tokyo. I thought the room was excellent for the price. It was very clean and although it was small, it had everything I needed. Additionally, the staff were very friendly and I really enjoyed the location. The hotel is very close to Ueno Park and Ameyoko market which offers an array of restaurants and local flavor. I would stay here again -- recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a semi-double room with the typical Japanese business hotel setup. Room was somewhat smaller than other rooms we stayed in. It included TV, refrigerator, desk, clock, yukata, bath supplies and tea set. Room was very clean and all facilities worked well.

No WiFi in the room, but staff supplied LAN cable. Their Internet system blocked outgoing ports which might be a problem for some - it denied access to certain sites I tried to access.

Location is very good - a few blocks from the JR Ueno station.

Facility includes laundry room and is next door to a Lawson convenience store.
Staff was helpful and capable in English.

Room Tip: Be careful with choosing a room. Some are small, others are closet-like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w1sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Nice place even though a little small.
Very clean and nicely located (walking distance to tw Ueno metro station and train station). The tea and kimonos in te room were appreciated.

The room may be cold when you get there but the heather works well and warms the room pretty quickly.
Would come back and recommend.

Ps: prices for the room are a little high in my opinion but hey it's Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Three of us stayed there for 12 nights in a triple room. We stayed in a room where it had 2 doubles and a single, so it was pretty spacious for what it was. Very good value for the price you pay. We did Lawson runs pretty much every morning and night- it was awesome! It's close to the 0101 building which is pretty much a department store and around restaurants and shops. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Beware of people smoking in the lobby if you don't like to be around smoke.

I'd definitely recommend everyone to stay there when you visit Tokyo! It's in the most accessible location close to train stations and shops! It only took 42 minutes via the Skyliner train from Narita Airport and we didn't have to transfer, it went straight there! It takes about 5 minutes walk to the hotel, but it took a while for us because we had luggage and it was hard to find at night first time!

Room Tip: The triple room on the 5th floor has two doubles and a single couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank solidmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Reservations : Through booking.com. Emailed them to check if we can leave our bags with the reception 2 days before check in (as we are making an overnight trip to Nikko from Tokyo) Reply was prompt and they happily welcomed us to deposit the bags with them
Location : Located in a quiet neighborhood and i had no trouble locating it with my google map. Lawson is just right next door and Ueno "train hub" is about 5-10mins walk away. They are cafes, pharmacy and restaurants located round the corner of the hotel. Ameyoko is about 5-10mins walk away
Reception :They speak little English but good enough for our needs. Find them helpful when we reached out to them to seek assistance to mail back our rented SIM card.
Rooms : Agreed that they are small and dated but I find them clean and well equipped definitely good enough for a recommended stay. Equipped with hair dryer,a small fridge, LCD TV and a flask to boil water. No wardrobe but has a few points on the wall with clothes hanger above the bed. Wi-Fi is available in the lobby but we manage to get connection to it staying on the second floor

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radical_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

After a couple of weeks in Japan we have become accustomed to small spaces so the Izu was a pleasant surprise. We had a twin room with the usual capsule bathroom, although very clean it is a little rundown - but you get what you pay for. The staff are helpful and friendly and have a little English - enough to get by. The best thing about the Izu is the location - a 5 min walk to the station and better yet the fabulous Ueno market alleys.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a twin instead of a double - a little bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed here on a trip trip to Tokyo with friends - as this was my first trip to Japan,I was not sure what to expect! I ave since been told the room was a good size. The Staff could not do enough for us. Conveniently located with Lawsons (like a 7/11 store) next door, it was just a short stroll to Ueno station and the Yamonato loop line.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tohoku
Hotel New Tohoku
#82 of 155 in Taito
94 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno First City Hotel
Ueno First City Hotel
#45 of 155 in Taito
112 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#27 of 155 in Taito
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Park Side
Hotel Park Side
#70 of 155 in Taito
138 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 155 in Taito
242 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Centurion Hotel Ueno
Centurion Hotel Ueno
#68 of 155 in Taito
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel

Address: 3-13-1 Higashiueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £38 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing