We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ueno Tokyo New Izu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$153
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Via Inn Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Stays Asakusabashi(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
52
114
51
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
114
51
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese style roomnarita airportueno parkconvenience storeameyoko marketshort walkshared bathroomquiet areanon smoking roomsubway stationluggagelinestokyotoiletinternetbudgetnecessities
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Expect clean rooms, but small. The staff are cheerful and helpful. The rooms are surprisingly quiet.
You get what you pay for here.

The amenities are all here:
There is free wifi in the lobby and free.Internet via LAN cables in the rooms. Laundromat service is available too. plus, there's a free massage chair in the lobby too.

The location is fantastic, especially the high speed trains from Ueno station, including a great connetion to Narita airport.

Be sure to check out the cycle hire around the corner, only 200 yen per day! A great way to see Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Nice small hotel in a side street close to Ueno Station. We stayed here as a family of 4 (with 2 adult children) in October 2010 for 5 nights. We got the largest room with two doubles and a sofa bed. The room was pretty large, nice, quiet, clean, and exceeded our expectations compared to other hotel rooms in Tokyo as we heard of. Location is very convenient for touring Tokyo and taking day trips outside Tokyo, as it’s so close to Ueno Station, a good base to go everywhere. We took the Keisei train from Narita which brought us 7min walk from the hotel. We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel as they only had Japanese style, but there was a Lawson next door open 24h, and a fridge and an electric kettle in the room. Price was very reasonable for 4 people. Staff was nice and spoke good English. Only drawback was that wireless connection was only available from the lobby, but this wasn’t a big deal for us. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank To123er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I stayed here the first time 6 years ago via a random pick at the hotel counter at Narita airport. I have stayed a fews times since and year in, year on it has been consistently good.

Staying in Tokyo I want

1 A good basic location. Ueno is 40 mins from Narita by Skyliner so good when arriving and leaving. And also good for staying as has its own attractions (all the museums in the Park etc), and is well placed to visiting other places.

2. Nice area round the hotel. Despite being v close the Ueno station, the hotel is an a quiet side-street, next door to a 24 hour convenice store (a Lawson - come to Japan and discover how convinent convinience stoors can be) with plenty of nice restaurants near by.

3. A clean, well run hotel. The rooms are scrupulosly clean all the times, and the hotel seems very well run.

4 Extremely nice staff. When jet lagged, and culture shocked, the last thing you want is staff with attitude. The staff are all very nice.

5 The stuff that matter when travelling. For me this is computer access and a washing machine with drier. There is nothing more miserable than wasting your holiday trying to find a coin laundry and an internet cafe. There's a washing machine, drier (drier could be quicker, but that's a quibble), a compter in the lobby, and free WAN cable access in the room.

Personally I like the Japanese style rooms, but they have western rooms too.

The guests seem a mix of tourists and business people, with a mix of locals and foreiners. It's not the last word in super-swish, but has good honest rooms, and get's the necessary stuff comlpetely right. Very recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The hotel is very well located walking distance from Ueno station, within easy reach of everywhere. The Japanese room was clean and cosy, with a good bath and welcoming tea/confectionary. Japanese breakfast was also delicious. The service is the key though, very helpful. They got us some tickets for an event before our trip, as we couldn't buy them from outside Japan, and were always happy to help. The only negative is that the place is smoking throughout, but it is a very Japanese thing so you have to live with it. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floydpepper2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

When we first stepped into the hotel, we are greeted with a friendly welcome greeting. As we are reached the hotel before the check-in time, we requested to leave our lugguage with them. They gladly assisted us to leave it at one side and after that we too asked about if there is any places nice for breakfast. They passed us a map and pointed us to a few places.
After we are back at night, they friendily greeted us and assisted us to check-in.
The first moment when we stepped in, my friend and I were very pleased at how clean the place is with our futons all prepared for the night. We went for our bathe and soak in the bathtub for at least 10 mins (with the complimentary bath salt that we got from the front desk) and comfortably tucked ourselves into bed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oasis2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews