We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Good location, modern style but with traditional elements such as the breakfast nook or the sleeping on mats on the floor. cosy,clean and friendly and helpful staff. Great view from the roof where you can enjoy your breakfast. More adult clientele than your regular hostel. The staff provides you with an area map and can suggest restaurants or activities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Heffalumpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to write comments!
We very appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.

We try to give our guests useful information to make your stay in Japan wonderful, especially information on fun things to do around our neighbors.

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as well.
Andon staffs cook breakfasts in front of our guests to serve warm breakfasts.
And also we are happy that you liked having breakfast on the roof top.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
We are very looking forward to your stay again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Andon Ryokan is a gem of excellent design for small spaces - not a square centimeter is wasted. The communal space downstairs and on the roof are fantastic, quirky and comfortable. The rooms are small but perfectly formed - JUST enough room for two. The shared facilities are tight but efficient. And the whirlpool bath and shower is just fab!
Combine all this with extremely friendly and helpful staff (Aya and the young woman who makes the breakfast whose name I didn't get) and you have a fantastic place to stay in Tokyo which is affordable and funky.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maoiliosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable tatami mat and futon!

We also try to give our guests many useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful all the time.

Thank you very much once again.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Ryoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We've never had accommodations with shared facilities before so we were a bit reluctant to stay at a ryokan. But we heard from friends that it's a must if we're to travel in Japan. This place was great! When we return to Tokyo, we will definitely stay here again.

Why we loved Andon:
--Hospitable and friendly hosts. Yuki was awesome. She helped us plan our transportation routes, checked on museum hours, gave advice on our itinerary (visit Kamakura on this day vs another, etc). Her recommendations were spot on.
--Affordable. We were able to splurge on other things from what we saved by staying at Andon.
--The best deal on breakfast! Their signature breakfast sandwich, a full breakfast set and 2 cappuccinos cost us the equivalent of $10 (US). No other deals came close as we moved to other hotels and cities.
--Communal areas like bathrooms, showers, tea corners, refrigerators, hot tub were kept very clean. Showers had lots of hot water even after back-to-back use.
--Room space was modest but enough to meet our needs.
--Close to subway (5 min walk).
--Good options for meals and a couple bars within the area. Also other practicalities like cash machine, convenience store (close by) and laundry facilities (in house).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the showers/bathroom for quieter space (not that noise was an issue but gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YouDoTheDishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We always try to find interesting spots and nice places to eat around Tokyo and other area such as Kamakura,Nikko and so forth. We hope we can give you more and more attractive information when you come back next time!
We also have some cultual events at Andon such as a tea ceremony,sushi making class,travel Japanese lesson,etc.

Breakfast and jacuzzi are two of the attractions at Andon. Please have breakfast on a looftop next time,,!

Thanks you very much once again.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Ryoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a lovely stay in Andon Ryokan. The staff was kind, courteous, and professional, and they were very helpful to us in exploring Tokyo. The room was small but always clean and intimate, and the facilities were all attractive and modern. The breakfast was a congenial experience with good food and conversation with other travelers. The Japanese jacuzzi was also a pleasure.
We send a thank you and greetings to the entire staff. We miss you all. Carmo and Phil

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We all miss you too!
We always try to find interesting spots and nice places to eat in Tokyo. Hope we can give you more atrractive information when you come back next time,,!
Thank you very much once again.
Ryoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Andon was a great place to stay. The room were well kept and the facilities were always clean. They have a large private bath that could be booked which was great to soak in after coming back from a day around Tokyo. The staff are knowledgeable and can point you to some of the best sights around Tokyo as well as local places to see and restaurants to eat at in close proximity to Andon. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethTeatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Private jacuzzi is one of the attractions of Andon Ryokan. It's a perfect way to relax after lots of walking in Tokyo!
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our recommendations for sightseen spots.
Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you very much once again.
Ryoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had a good experience at Andon Ryokan. I was only in Tokyo for a few days but wanted to see as much of the city as possible. The staff were able to help me get to the places I wanted to visit. They offer very good quality bicycles for rent and the Skytree, Asakusa and Ueno are all accessible this way. I stayed in the single room ground level and found it very clean and compact with very comfortable futon and bedding. You must take advantage of the Jacuzzi on the top floor. Make a reservation and it is all yours for an hour. A great way to end a long day of sightseeing. Also, you can wear a fukata as they are free to borrow and fun. In all, the owners have done a good job of making this place very charming. Modern architecture with traditional Japanese style. I would stay here again. Just be sure to write down the address and maybe print a map for directions. I had a little trouble finding it because I did not do this.

Room Tip: If you are solo, just stay on the ground floor single room to save a little money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, Andrew!
We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We offer 4 rental bicycles because it is one of the best way to travel around Old Tokyo area such as Ueno, Asakusa, Tokyo Skytree, and so forth.

We were also very happy to hear that you made yourself at home in Andon as you enjoyed Jacuzzi and wore yukata! We also enjoyed talking with you during your stay : )

We all Andon staff hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you once again for your stay and wonderful comment!
Ryoko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've stayed at a lot of traditional Ryokan's before so I wan't sure how a modern one would actually be. When we arrived, a kind employee who spoke English very well offered us coffee. Our room was compact but never felt confining. Everything in the rooms and the bathrooms had been placed in a thoughtful way to conserve space. It was quite impressive. I will say the bathrooms are shared with your floor, but I never found myself having to wait to use the bathroom. I do wish the all female bathroom had a mirror in it though. The room was great, the service excellent, the breakfast was delicious and worth the extra few dollars. Although you cannot order a Japanese style breakfast, the Western one was quite good. Another highlight was also the jacuzzi you can reserve for free for you and your guests. Also, the location is quite good. It's near Ueno station on the northeast side of Tokyo, so your very close to all the major subway lines; and the place itself was not difficult to find. Overall, it is wonderfully run Ryokan and I will definitely stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: We actually stayed in the cheapest of the room options and thought it was excellent. So I'm sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to write this lovely comments!
We very appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.
At first, I appreciate your advice of having mirrors in laddies bathrooms.
We will install mirrors as soon as possible.

All of Andon stuff speak English and we are willing to make your stay in Japan wonderful with usufull informations!!

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests to enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable futon on the tatami floor mat.
We cook and serve breakfasts in front of our guests. We cook after we receive orders so all breakfasts are warm and flesh. We can also provide information of the places where you can try Japanese breakfast around Andon area.

Jacuzzi is one of the attractions in our ryokan. You can relax in a hot -tub and recover from the fatigue of your traveling and shopping for all day long.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
We are very looking forward to your stay again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 125 in Taito
331 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
My Stays Asakusabashi
My Stays Asakusabashi
#12 of 125 in Taito
621 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#4 of 125 in Taito
828 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing