We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice”
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andon Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget choice”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had an excellent experience with Andon Ryokan - I was a solo female traveler on a tight budget, and I didn't expect to stay somewhere so cool at my price range. It's not a traditional ryokan - I think it can be more accurately described as the world's fanciest youth hostel. It is very stylish - the tatami mats in the room are very cool. The service is excellent, without being overbearing. The room's are relatively small, even by Japanese standards, but as a solo traveler I had no problem. Breakfast is nice, and doesn't need to be ordered in advance. Its probably worth including it. I had to check out early for a 10am flight, and I had no problems at all. It is very close to Minowa station, which is two stops from Ueno, but the location may be the only drawback. If you are familiar with London, it is probably the equivalent of staying somewhere like Upper Holloway/Finsbury Park. Tip: It can be quite difficult to find from the station because it is on a residential street. Make sure you have the address written in Japanese! I had to ask directions. There are good directions on the website, but I followed google maps which took me an incredibly roundabout route. Overall, I had a great experience and I would recommend for another solo traveler like myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orthostice1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it .
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.

We try to give our guests useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful all the time. However, at same time we also learn a lot from our guests!!

Thank you very much once again for staying with us and sharing wonderful time together .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    90
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
177
36
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights (and received a discount for the long stay) in April 2014. The location near Asakusa in North Tokyo was good because it is an inexpensive area where you get an insight into the everyday life of local Tokyo people. For example, there are a lot of old style sento (public baths) in the area. The hostel is a five minute walk from a subway station and there are also local buses. The hostel has been purpose designed as a hostel in Japanese style. It is not however what would generally be called a Ryokan. There are certain standards for a Ryokan, for example futon turn-down service and usually dinner - which Andon Ryokan does not have. Just because a place is in the Japanese style does not mean it is a Ryokan. There seems to be a few places in Tokyo catering mostly to tourists and calling themselves Ryokan - which would not be Japanese standards be considered a Ryokan.

The breakfast was quite nice and good value. It does not need to be booked in advance. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. The 4th floor bath was a great surprise and highlight. A washing machine, dryer and detergent are available very cheaply.

The draw backs were that the walls were so thin that it was rather noises even though we had once of the quieter rooms (second floor away from the staircase and bathrooms). The rooms were the smallest we had in Japan. The internet was very slow in our room so that it was really only possible to use it in the cafe on the ground floor.

This hostel is reasonable value however because of some of the drawbacks I will probably look elsewhere for my next visit to Tokyo.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for giving us your comments. We appreciate it.

Firstly, we would like to apologize for our failure to meet to your expectation.

Sometimes our Wi-Fi can be slow when the time of internet congestion, and this is what we have to improve immediately. And also we have to say sorry for your inconvenience by the noisiness.

We do not serve dinner so that we can keep prices down, and give guests to choose great restaurants nearby our place. This is actually not like standard type of Ryokan as you mention, so we apologize if our explanation on the website was not enough.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Andon Ryokan is in a quiet area, a little off the beaten path. I followed the directions on their website and found them without problem.

The rooms are small, with tatami mats and futon, and decorated in a contemporary style with dark wood. I found it very comfortable, but two people sharing would be very tight. My suitcase fit at the end of the bed. The room was very clean.There's a TV and DVD player in the rooms.

There were no food or vending machines, but they do serve breakfast and have coffee and tea at any time. When I returned late and was hungry, I wish they would have sold some instant noodles or something, so I didn't have to drag myself out to the convenience store.

Their wifi was good and strong. I took advantage of their jacuzzi bath as often as I could. Really nice set-up. The washrooms and toilets were also very clean. The woman's shower on the third floor was a bit tight though.

The staff were very nice and helpful and spoke excellent English. They have activities set up that you can sign-up for like origami lessons and tea ceremony. I was busy sightseeing, so I didn't partake.

The only thing I wish they had was a light switch near the bed.

There's a convenience store about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel is a bit away from the centre of Tokyo, but the price and value and quality of the accommodation made it worth the extra commuting time.

I pre-requested a quiet room, and they put me in the quietest room possible. I really appreciated this. Having said that, this hotel is in a very quiet area. Nice after a day in hectic Tokyo.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write this lovely comments!
We very appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.

We are located in the old Tokyo area where is not very center of Tokyo, but there is great atmosphere of local residential neighbourhood as you saw.

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests to enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable futon on the tatami floor mat.
We will give you an extra light when you would you like to use. So please ask our staff next time.

Please join our events such as Origami workshop, sushi making, Japanese tea ceremony, Travel Japanese lesson and so on, next time!

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
We are very looking forward to your stay again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoje, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Good location, modern style but with traditional elements such as the breakfast nook or the sleeping on mats on the floor. cosy,clean and friendly and helpful staff. Great view from the roof where you can enjoy your breakfast. More adult clientele than your regular hostel. The staff provides you with an area map and can suggest restaurants or activities.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Heffalumpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write comments!
We very appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andon.

We try to give our guests useful information to make your stay in Japan wonderful, especially information on fun things to do around our neighbors.

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as well.
Andon staffs cook breakfasts in front of our guests to serve warm breakfasts.
And also we are happy that you liked having breakfast on the roof top.

Thank you very much once again for staying with us.
We are very looking forward to your stay again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Andon Ryokan is a gem of excellent design for small spaces - not a square centimeter is wasted. The communal space downstairs and on the roof are fantastic, quirky and comfortable. The rooms are small but perfectly formed - JUST enough room for two. The shared facilities are tight but efficient. And the whirlpool bath and shower is just fab!
Combine all this with extremely friendly and helpful staff (Aya and the young woman who makes the breakfast whose name I didn't get) and you have a fantastic place to stay in Tokyo which is affordable and funky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maoiliosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Although our rooms are rather small, we always hope our guests enjoy the experience to stay in small cozy Japanese rooms with comfortable tatami mat and futon!

We also try to give our guests many useful information to make their stay in Japan wonderful all the time.

Thank you very much once again.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We've never had accommodations with shared facilities before so we were a bit reluctant to stay at a ryokan. But we heard from friends that it's a must if we're to travel in Japan. This place was great! When we return to Tokyo, we will definitely stay here again.

Why we loved Andon:
--Hospitable and friendly hosts. Yuki was awesome. She helped us plan our transportation routes, checked on museum hours, gave advice on our itinerary (visit Kamakura on this day vs another, etc). Her recommendations were spot on.
--Affordable. We were able to splurge on other things from what we saved by staying at Andon.
--The best deal on breakfast! Their signature breakfast sandwich, a full breakfast set and 2 cappuccinos cost us the equivalent of $10 (US). No other deals came close as we moved to other hotels and cities.
--Communal areas like bathrooms, showers, tea corners, refrigerators, hot tub were kept very clean. Showers had lots of hot water even after back-to-back use.
--Room space was modest but enough to meet our needs.
--Close to subway (5 min walk).
--Good options for meals and a couple bars within the area. Also other practicalities like cash machine, convenience store (close by) and laundry facilities (in house).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the showers/bathroom for quieter space (not that noise was an issue but gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YouDoTheDishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We always try to find interesting spots and nice places to eat around Tokyo and other area such as Kamakura,Nikko and so forth. We hope we can give you more and more attractive information when you come back next time!
We also have some cultual events at Andon such as a tea ceremony,sushi making class,travel Japanese lesson,etc.

Breakfast and jacuzzi are two of the attractions at Andon. Please have breakfast on a looftop next time,,!

Thanks you very much once again.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a lovely stay in Andon Ryokan. The staff was kind, courteous, and professional, and they were very helpful to us in exploring Tokyo. The room was small but always clean and intimate, and the facilities were all attractive and modern. The breakfast was a congenial experience with good food and conversation with other travelers. The Japanese jacuzzi was also a pleasure.
We send a thank you and greetings to the entire staff. We miss you all. Carmo and Phil

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andonryokan, マネージャー at Andon Ryokan, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We very appreciate it and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We all miss you too!
We always try to find interesting spots and nice places to eat in Tokyo. Hope we can give you more atrractive information when you come back next time,,!
Thank you very much once again.
Ryoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 120 in Taito
311 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Property: Andon Ryokan
Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andon Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing