We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is the second time we've stayed in this hotel. We stayed here in Aug 2012 and ended up booking again for our last minute trip in Nov 2013. We chose this place because of its location and convenience. We got a semi-double room and I would have to say the rooms here are somewhat smaller compared to other hotels out there but the rooms are clean and the service is great and so is the location (as long as you know where you are going!). It's a short walk to and from the JR Ueno station. From the JR Ueno station, take the Central Gate exit and go up the escalator beside Hard Rock Cafe. You'll pass through some restaurants and exit out to the overpass. Just keep walking straight and go down the escalator/stairs at the end. You'll see it across, on your righthand side. Ameyoko is also a few steps away. We just recently discovered you can walk to Akihabara (about a 15-20 min walk) by going through Ameyoko with the train on your right side/under the train tracks.

The hotel will also keep your luggage, even for days. Takuya was very helpful and it was always nice seeing his friendly face at the front desk. I guess the only thing I didn't like about my recent stay was the room we were in (#203) had a window facing the next building which was inches away-- it felt really cramped. We stayed in another room on our return back (#209 I think) and it was much better with a view of the side streets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twodotsonamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel again and writing such a kind review.
I remember that we enjoyed having a conversation during your stay.
We are delight that you had a comfortable stay and explored around in Ueno then found out Akihabara.
We will renovate the second floor next month therefore, we hope that our guest will feel more comfortable to stay after the renovation.
We hope to see you in the near future and thank you again for feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in the bunker bed rooms. Mattress is very comfy, there is a TV in the room as well as a fridge and hair blower. toilet is clean and good. great place to stay with good value and just 2 minutes walk from the Ueno station. the park is also a short walk away and plenty of stores and convenient stores nearby. would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on our hotel and Ueno area.
We are very glad to hear you liked our bunk bed room and found our amenities useful as well.
As you have mentioned, Ueno is full of stores to shop and there is a park where you can walk around and work out which is not that common in Tokyo.
We hope to see you again in Tokyo and at our hotel and we will try our best to serve better service next time.

Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The big plus of this hotel is the easy access to Ueno station. Even on foot and with suitcases there is no problem. Staff is helpful and friendly. The minus is that it's not made for tall people with more than one suitcase. When you're two with luggage you have to be on very good speaking terms to stay friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on our hotel.
We are glad you liked our location and our staff helpful and friendly.
The last part of your comment was hilarious.
We will take in your comment to make this hotel more suitable for tall people as well.
Hope you enjoy the last month of the year!

Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great little place to spend a couple of nights if you plan to base yourself out of Ueno. Easy to get to via the overpass from the Railway Station.
Beautifully quiet and compact. After 13 hours flying I fell right asleep in the bed, so it must have been comfortable! Room tastefully appointed, and as I said quite compact. Watch your head on the entrance door, especially if you're taller than 6ft.
Complimentary Wi-Fi for enabled devices. Multiple AP's throughout hotel based on floor number.
Will definitely consider staying here again when I return to Japan soon.

Thank you for the great service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank mrpayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay at our hotel.
We are glad and very pleasant to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
There are things we need to work on but we are glad to know that you were able fall asleep right in the bed and found it comfortable.
It is true that the entrance door is not tall so it may hit tall people especially from abroad!
We also hope to see you again at our hotel if there is a chance to visit Japan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Its very close to Uneo station, 5 min. Everything clean, new bedding, towels and kimono every day. toiletries. Very nice Staff. Japanese breakfast very good. Higlhly recommended. Of course room and bathroom are small, but its japanese standard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback on your stay at our hotel.
We are so glad to see that you would highly recommend our hotel to others.
Even though its Japanese standard, it is true that it is not big but it is pleasing to see how you enjoyed our breakfast and amenities.
We will try even harder to make your next stay at our hotel a better one.

Best Regards,
Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

All can be summarised into 3 sentences;
1) Very close to Ueno train station, if you come back late at night..the place is still safe
2) Very helpful & friendly receptionist-they speaks english very well
3) Opt for bunked beds if you need some space (eg. for muslims to pray)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeeTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review.
We are very glad to hear you found our hotel very close from Ueno station that you feel safe late in night too and you found our receptionist helpful!
Your words will defintely make them happy. We also learned how the space in the bunk bed room may be useful for Muslims for prayer.
Thank you again for the nice comment and hope to see you again at our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good location, and easy to walk to tokyo metro ( 2 mins) or 5 mins to yamanote line. Lawson store nearby which easy to find something to eat at night. Even the staffs can speak a little English but they are helpful. The room is tidy but full of equipment you needed, clean and the pillows are comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambi1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback.
We are very happy to know that you found our hotel very conveient to tokyo metro, JR lines, and Keisei Ueno station.
We will put effort to keep the amenities and rooms cleaned and to improve on our service too.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#17 of 124 in Taito
317 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 124 in Taito
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#31 of 124 in Taito
74 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno Touganeya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Address: 3-17-5 Higashi-Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taito
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £58 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ueno Touganeya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ueno Touganeya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touganeya Hotel Taito
Ueno Touganeya Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing