We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel, close to Ueno station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ranked #7 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, close to Ueno station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This business hotel is very practical close the Ueno station and you have everything in this area: restaurantn supermarket, shopping etc...
the service in this hotel is very good but the room is small, if you choose double room is more a single room. The bed is extremely small and you cannot sleep very well..anyway i recommand a big room if you are two p. As you know in Japan all rooms is smaller than Europe.
good value quality/price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations.
As you wrote ,we have some big rooms so please try it next time.
Our staff sincerely appreciates that you said our service was good.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    206
    40
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
199
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a family of 5 as I read about it in trip advisor. The family room was nice and spacious by Tokyo standards and the double was squeezy but comfortable. All rooms had a mini tub which was a luxury compared to other similar range hotels.

The place seemed complicated to find but it is actually super convenient. Just down the escalator of the overhead walkway bridge (which connects all parts of Ueno - can't cross the streets to the JR station.) and go straight, first right before Lawson and you'll see the hotel clearly.

Being near the JR was an advantage and there is elevator near the escalator and also at the JR Ueno station, so moving luggages/ stroller was easy for us. The area also has a good large shopping at Oioi where you can get burberry blue label, lowrys and eat nana green tea ice cream parfait (and ameyoko is just next to oioi!)

Walk through the entire ameyoko and you'll end up at JR okachimacho , where there is a huge 7 storey Uniqlo.

Service at the hotel was wonderful. We had grilled breakfast for one morning and it was tasty and lovingly prepared for us on time by the two senior ladies bustling in the kitchen.

We stayed a night, left for Hakone next night and came back for another two nights. The staff picked up what we forgot in the rooms and attached them to our luggage (which we left there in their care), wrote us an email, and moved the luggages in our new rooms just before we came back. Very good service! They also helped call a cab, ensure one of big size for all of us to go together - saving us money and stress!

I would definitely recommend a stay at this place again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank by_lish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and the descript feedback.
We are happy to hear that you found the hotel in a convenient location and you enjoyed shopping in Ueno.
Thank you for having Japanese breakfast.
We shared your comment with kitchen staff.
We were also glad that we could provide a big size of cab at that time.
Our staff sincerely appreciates that you would recommend our hotel to others again.
We wish you all the best and looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in March. Although the rooms are small for western standards, we booked a room with a bunk bed and had enough room for both of our large suitcases. The location is amazing, right next to Ueno station, which allows for easy transport all around Tokyo; also very convenient if you're coming from the airport via Skyliner. What we loved most about the hotel was the breakfast, which was included in our reservation: traditional delicious Japanese food served by the sweetest lady. The front desk staff was also always helpful when we had questions. Overall a great stay--if I'm ever back in Tokyo I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you liked Japanese breakfast and you had a good impression for restaurant staff.
We are also glad that you felt our service was helpful.
Ueno touganeya staff will try to always offer helpful service.
We sincerely appreciate that you are thinking of coming back to our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stay there only for one night as an emergency and thou it took me a while find it I got surprised with the good service, clean rooms, and beautiful building all for a really low price. I defiantly will stay here again some day, the staff as in almost all japan was gentil and spook good english.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel from among many other hotels.
We are pleased to hear that you felt our service was good and our rooms were clean.
We sincerely appreciate that you thought of coming back to our hotel.
Thank you very much for taking your time to write the review.
Our staff looks forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Perfect position very close to Ueno Station.
The room was quite small but this is quite common in Japan.
It was nice clean and comfortable too.
The hotel is small and with few comfort but it has wi-fi in the rooms and this is something not so obvious in Japan.
Perfect as a place to go to sleep when staying in Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking time to write your review.
Although our rooms are Japanese standard ,we are glad to hear that you felt our rooms were clean and comfortable.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We used this hotel as our home base for a two-week trip in March. The location is great, close to Ueno station, Ueno park, museums and it was easy to get around Tokyo.

We got a family room which was spacious by Japanese standards and very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English well. Our son's toothbrush was accidentally thrown away by the housekeeping staff and the hotel insisted on replacing the toothbrush and giving him a toy car as well. That was really kind of them.

One small thing - the room lacked cupboards for storage so we had to literally live out of our suitcases. But overall, a great hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmcwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking your time to write the review.
Our staff is very happy to hear that you felt your room was clean and comfortable.
We remember that it was trouble for him and we should have been more careful to clean the rooms.
Our staff will take note of your comment on the space of storage and we will try to make improvements to our rooms as much as possible.
Thank you very much for thinking about staying at our hotel next time.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent location of this hotel , near to JR, subway metro and Keisei line to and from airport ... we got extra time for shopping and take the express Keisei line to airport in 43mins. Although we felt the rooms were a little small, it was sufficient for the 2 of us. Service staff were friendly and courteous. the room is clean everyday .. and hotel allows to leave your bags for the day when you check out... we leave our luggages when we went to osaka ,kyoto and hakone and back to tokyo to stay here again ... we will stay back here , when we visit japan again ,in term of the reasonable rate , location and service .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review and staying at our hotel for part of your travel.
We are happy that you felt our rooms were clean and staff was friendly.
We are delighted to hear that you will consider staying at our hotel again.
Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#29 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#39 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno Touganeya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Property: Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Address: 3-17-5 Higashi-Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#3 Family Hotel in Taito
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ueno Touganeya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ueno Touganeya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touganeya Hotel Taito
Ueno Touganeya Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing