We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel That Is GREAT For Foreigners!”
Review of Stayto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stayto
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was a great hotel located in a nice location in Tokyo! I was so glad I stayed here as the service was great and the room was just perfect. I loved that it was a hotel that catered to foreigners so there were people from all over the world staying there and the staff had lots of knowledge on what to do in Tokyo and how to get around. The price was also fantastic. No complaints here! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

My stay was several years ago, so hopefully things have improved since then. The location was very good, as was the price. The room was larger than expected. Free internet in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. The elevator was old and the doors didn't sense when you weren't fully in yet, so you could get closed in them. Maybe we had an older room, but its cleanliness was questionable. The bathroom had a strong, unpleasant, unidentifiable odor. The wallpaper had brown stains all over. The blankets had burn marks and were threadbare. It was probably clean enough, but it just looked dirty. I slept in my clothes and was happy when it was time to go to the next hotel. Sakura Hotel Hatagaya was smaller, but a lot cleaner, and I was much more comfortable there. We should have just stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Oak Hotel in May. It really is a brilliant little hotel. We had the Japanese room which was tiny but had everything we needed - and was cleaned every day. The reception staff were brilliant - super helpful and friendly. And the hotel lobby has everything you need to know about the local area. If you are on a budget - i recommend buying food from the local convenience stores and eating in the reception of the hotel - great value and best convenient store food i have ever eaten. We also went to the sushi bowl place nearby which was great. The local area Ueno has a lovely community feel and Ueno park - including the national museum was great. Would/will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Oak Hotel is a gem in Tokyo. It is very near Inaricho Station which runs along the Ginza line. It is also a comfortable walk to Ueno Station (Yamanote line) which has a local train straight to Narita airport for only ¥1000.

Oak hotel has great service, clean bedrooms everyday, change of towels and re supply of shampoo, toothpaste, toothbrush, soap and tea service. It also has a refrigerator and an electric water pot. Great service, english-speaking staff! Vendo machine inside hotel.

There are also 24-hours eating places in the area like McDonalds (¥100 breakfasts!) and japanese ¥300 bowls.

Very happy with stay. For single and couples.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boolateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

For a place that was cheap and right smack in town, next to one of the most convenient train stations, my expectation was not high. it was only for 2 nights and i will be out most of the times. recommended by a friend, i printed out the directions and walked through its step-by-step instructions from Ueno station to the hotel. that was EASY.
Hotel room was small but felt so cozy; especially with the tatami style bedding. it felt like home even more when you see folks on their laptops in the lobby, having a drink and chatting in the wee of times... (even when there was free wifi in the rooms)
Surrounding was pretty alright with 24hr supermarts along the stretch of Inaricho street and some small japanese eating places in the lanes. most importantly, it was couples of steps away from the train station of Inaricho or if you felt like walking about 5-10 min, Ueno station was nearby. it was so convenient and fast to reach to other places such as Asakusa or Harajuku and so on.
The folks were always so friendly in giving great advices on how to move around in the city and kept my luggage during the day while i go trotting in Tokyo...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinoalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

In Tokyo you have to expect that the room is going to be small. This hotel was small...bathroom even smaller, however it was clean and in a decent location. Its about a 10min walk to Ueno station (a large station) and about 2 mins to the metro. If you explore the area a little its got some great markets and places to eat.

All in all it had everything we needed at a good price. If your tight on cash its a good choice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We were in Japan last February. Booked this hotel due to its good rating it gets around here. For the price it was so so. Staff are helpful, they even let you leave you're stuff w/ them & it's near the subway but beware.. If you're carrying a luggage, be ready to carry it down or up the stairs coz I don't think they have any lifts availbale except if you walk all the way to Ueno subway w/c is 3-4 blocks away & its freezing cold. If you'll be staying for a shortwhile, you might wanna consider this but for 3-4days? Better look for some place more comfortable. The room was small and the bed was not that comfortable. The sheets are not that clean too. But the good thing is that they have a wifi in the lobby & some PC for you to use for free. We got a cheaper rate w/ better room in Osaka than this but I think that's bec. Osaka is cheaper than Tokyo :) But overall, the experience is good. If ever I visit Tokyo again, I won't hesitate to pay a little more & maybe a little closer to the major subway stations.

Hope my review has help some of you guys ;)

Room Tip: The Japanese room look better and more spacious. Better book a tatami room if you plan on booking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvel_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 123 in Taito
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#36 of 123 in Taito
68 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#40 of 123 in Taito
214 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#47 of 75 in Chiyoda
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayto

Address: 6-1-2 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Oak Hotel)
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £19 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayto 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stayto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Taito
Stayto Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing