We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation, but remember - you're in Japan!”
Review of Stayto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stayto
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for a week last month while my girlfriend and I were in town for my friends' wedding.

Oak Hotel was an awesome place to stay; it was cheap, it's located about equidistant between Ueno and Asakusa (both good touristy areas), and safe and quiet. However, the rooms are absolutely, almost novelty-size small. For one person it wouldn't be that bad, and it was manageable with two, but if you're the type of person who really needs space you might want to think twice about the Oak.

That said, I can't think of any other downsides; Inaricho station is about a 5 minute walk away, the place has all sorts of great touristy info and facilities like laundry and vending machines and stuff, and the staff is just incredible - they do a great job of having a small hotel have a really communal, hostel-style atmosphere. Definitely a place I'll consider staying again when I'm in Tokyo!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riptor3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a semi-double room with the typical Japanese business hotel setup. Room and bath was somewhat smaller than other rooms we stayed in. It and included TV, refrigerator, desk, clock, yukata, bath supplies and tea set. Room was very clean and all facilities worked well. The Wifi worked well.

Location is very good - 2 minutes from the Ginza subway or 10 minutes from the JR Ueno Station. Staff was very helpful and quite capable in English. They helped greatly when we needed to find a drugstore and some medicine. We arrived just as they were having a sushi party! This property was one of the best in catering to and helping foreign tourists.

Room Tip: Learn the Japanese Hotel Descriptions: Ensuite: Included bathroom Double Room: Small Semi-Double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w1sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The rooms and bathroom are really small but clean. The staff are very friendly.
Excelent location, walking distance of Ueno station and Asakusa, lots of restaurants and convenience stores near the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Due to a late night arrival at international Narita Airport; a location near Ueno Station was the initial criteria for our accommodation selection; additionally we wanted a direct, no change, connection from Narita Airport to Ueno Keisei Station. The larger JR Ueno Station nearby is also a convenient departure point for onward JR rail connections to Northern Japan.
Our Standard Room on the 4th floor had two single beds, and compact ensuite bathroom. The room was small, though roomy enough for two to move about without falling over luggage. The compact bathroom cubicle contained toilet, hand basin, and short deep tub/shower recess with plentiful, very hot water.
A large window, with sliding shutters let in natural light (able to be opened if you like fresh air); though with a view onto an adjacent apartment block. Under a desk unit along one wall, a small refrigerator and stool, on top, a small flat screen TV, phone, instant electric water pot for in room hot beverages, green tea only supplied. ( carry your own small supply of instant coffee, tea, sugar.)
On the ground floor adjacent to Reception, Oak Hotel has a small self-catering kitchen with microwave, sink, cutlery, cockery. Washing machine and dryer also on the ground floor, as are lockers if required. With a definite preference for Non smoking properties, we encountered no cigarette odour in the hotel during our three night stay.
Front desk staff were friendly and cheerful; a key deposit is requested on check-in and refunded on departure; bed linen and towels were of good quality and changed daily.
The neighbourhood of Ueno lacks highrise structures or fancy shopping malls, instead a distinctly local residents, downmarket, safe area, and small interesting shops where, eating and drinking is affordable.
For a light breakfast walk from the hotel to Ueno Station, the Douton chain of coffee/snack cafes have egg/ham/toast combinations and a selection of good coffees.
The Oak hotel website directions from Ueno Kaisei Station were very helpful , ensure you take a copy of the detailed directions with you to avoid confusion particularly for night time arrival.
Ueno Keisei Train Station and JR Ueno Station are close together. There are two choices for the rail connection from Narita Airport to Keisei Ueno. The Yen2400 reserved seat Skyliner , (faster option) or the Yen1200, no reservation train which takes around 90 minutes. (The hyperdia website has details of train times throughout Japan including the Narita Airport connections.)
When walking around Japanese cities you will come across vendors handing out little packets of tissues with advertising leaflets, don’t reject these handouts, they may well come in handy as many public toilets do not supply toilet paper.
The area south of Ueno Station, behind the OIOI Department store area has many pedestrian friendly narrow streets with market style stalls, shops, and eating places. East of the hotel, past Inaricho Metro along Asakusa Dori Street,(midway between Ueno and Asakusa) is the Kappabashi Kitchen area. You will know you have arrived when looking up you see large coloured tea cups, and the figurehead of a white hatted chef mounted on opposite sides of buildings, this is an entrance to the kitchen area street. Here is every conceivable restaurant or home cooking equipment imaginable, Japanese, or Western tableware, fake plastic food samples, at 800metres in length with over 170 shops, this is Japans largest shopping street of kitchen implements . This is also cookie cutter heaven, all shapes and sizes imaginable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The staff were very friendly and the location is great. The rooms are tiny, but clean. I would have put excellent, but there was a bit of confusion about the room. I booked my room through Hostel World and I had a choice between a basic room or a standard room. It does not say openly and obviously that a basic room means a Japanese style room where you will be sleeping on the floor. This really upset me because I have some injuries that make sleeping on the floor very difficult. When we spoke to the man at the reception desk, instead of apologizing for the inconvenience or acknowledging the problem in any way, he immediately sought to prove me wrong and tried to show me the small print and explain that it was on the website and that it was my fault for missing it. As I have just been on Hostel World again to double check my mistake, I still find no place in the "info", "rates", or "facilities" pages that would tell me that a basic room involves sleeping on the floor. As basic usually means no hot water, no TV, no internet or something like that I fail to see how I should have known that it would mean no bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Room is very small (I mean very small), but otherwise this hotel is very nice, staff is really helpful. More of a hostel style with shared kitchen, coin laundry-mat and dryer. Good location near Ueno station.

Wifi not always working (but you can guess the password for one floor below or above if yours is not working).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is great. Very close to Inaricho station and just a few minutes from busy Ueno. The staff makes this hotel, they cant do enough for you. They always great you with a smile and try and help you as best they can.
Rooms are standard with western beds. There is a small on-suite with clean towels every day. There is also a fridge, tv and tea facilities.
There is free Wifi and computers in the reception with printing opportunities. There is also a small kitchen available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 123 in Taito
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#36 of 123 in Taito
68 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#40 of 123 in Taito
214 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#47 of 75 in Chiyoda
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayto

Address: 6-1-2 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Oak Hotel)
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £19 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayto 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stayto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Taito
Stayto Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing