We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Stayto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stayto
Ranked #27 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Great location (central tokyo) with lots of Japanese restaurants nearby. Eazy access to the subway, trains and shinkansen. The staff was really really friendly and helped out with every request how silly they might have been. Renting a bike for 500 Yen was also possible, you can cycle to the Ueno zoo and Park.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Niels M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    296
    78
    23
    9
See reviews for
61
217
110
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I spent a week in a single room here. I loved it. The staff was so friendly. It's a bit dated but it's in a great location (although there are stairs at the station.) It's small but I just wanted somewhere to lay my head and the price was perfect.
I will def stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creativemishmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family of four stayed here during our trip to Japan. As with most hotels in this part of the world you are limited to two people per room but that is not a problem given the reasonable price of the Oak Hotel. The hotel is within walking distance from the Ueno station but if you are not fond of walking you can always transfer to the Ginza line and exit the Inaricho station for a shorter walk. The staff is friendly and engaging. It is great to see the pictures of the parties thrown for the guests. I wish our trip would have coincided with one of the parties. As a indication of the helpfulness of the staff, they found and mailed my odometer that I dropped in the lobby. Thanks again!
The rooms is small for western standards but served our purposes. There is no food service in the hotel but you can find many shops and convenience stores nearby. Over all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Still a really clean place for very little. I recommend it highly still. Free internet. Close to everything. Laundry service expanded. I woulld stay again. It is a good area to stay...easy access to Tokyo Sky Tree

Room Tip: Book early...rooms fill up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenHenmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great neighborhood, friendly staff and great facilities. Nice places to eat around the corner and the magnificent senso-ji temple really near. Also close to train station ueno which makes traveling around Tokyo very easy. Tip: rent electric bikes at the hotel and explore Tokyo in a different way!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Daansuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It is infamously hard to find good and cheap accommodation in Tokyo, but this place wins hands down!

Location:
It is a good 15 minute walk from straight down the street from Ueno station, but after a while you get used to it. You pass by a few convenience stores along the way which are helpful for getting breakfast/snacks. If you are using a JR pass, Ueno station is perfect as it's a big JR interchange.

Service:
The staff are friendly and helpful. We had check out and leave our luggage there for a short trip to Kyoto and they were very happy to accommodate us!

Decor:
Elevators and stairs are tiny (but what isn't in Tokyo!) Room was small and had no closet, but if you position your bags right, you'll live. Toilet was ensuite and clean but very small. about as squeezey as an airplane toilet (but again this is Tokyo, that's normal)

Overall very value for money considering location and cleanliness. Am coming back here again in October!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tawny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place was perfect for my wife and I in Tokyo. The lobby was hostel like with lots of information at hand and a small common area to sit. There was a small kitchen as well and a beer vending machine! The staff spoke ok english and tried to help with every question.
The room was small but functional. Beds were a bit hard (like the rest of Japan) but there was just enough space in the room to move around and store bags. The metro and Ueno park were close enough to walk and Asakusa gives you access to the rest of the city. The area is a bit quiet and out of the way but nice after a long, loud day in the city.
All in all, a nice combo of hostel and hotel at a decent price.

Room Tip: Pick a single room if you are with family. Make sure you ask for enough space if you have more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#38 of 120 in Taito
214 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#43 of 74 in Chiyoda
227 reviews
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
#5 of 33 in Koto
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
#68 of 120 in Taito
9 reviews
Akabane / Itabashi
Hotel Tetora Akabane
Hotel Tetora Akabane
#2 of 14 in Kita
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayto

Property: Stayto
Address: 6-1-2 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Oak Hotel)
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayto 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stayto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Taito
Stayto Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing