We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location, super overall experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ueno Terminal Hotel
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our stay at the Ueno Terminal Hotel was a great experience. Amazing service can make an regular hotel seems superb, and that's what this hotel does. The facilities are pretty typical of small central Tokyo hotel. The rooms are small, clean, and we were very satisfied. Our first night we stayed in a tiny room, but the next night a larger room opened up and the cleaning attendant went out of her way to let us know and help us switch rooms. The new room was much larger with lots of space for our family of four. The front desk staff were great and there was always at least one person around whose English was fluent. In fact, other staff spoke other foreign languages as well. The manager even gave our children several small Christmas gifts. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Ueno is one of the best parts of Tokyo for xploring and is a great central location for Tokyo and exploring the rest of Japan. There is easy access to the Metro, JR trains, and the airport express. I highly recommend the Ueno Terminal Hotel for it's excellent service and great location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrfish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in Ueno Terminal Hotel, Tokyo for four nights. This hotel is in good location, exactly opposite to JR Ueno station. It is five minutes’ walk from JR Ueno station. You can go anywhere within Tokyo through JR station. Two subway lines i.e. Ginza line and Hibiya lines are also linked with this station. One of the exits of subway lines are few meters from this hotel or two minutes from this hotel. Two minutes from JR Ueno station, there is Ueno Park. Adjacent to Ueno Park, there is Skyliner train or Limited Rapid Express train is available directly to Narita International Airport. All in all, this Ueno station is directly connected with Narita, JR line and subway lines. That is why the location of this hotel is superb. You can go anywhere within Tokyo from here.

I booked in this hotel private single ensuite bathroom. The room is very small. There is hardly any place to keep luggages. No complimentary breakfast. They should have included breakfast in the price. In this modern world most of the hotels provide breakfast and that is included in the price. Adjacent to this hotel, breakfast is available with 380 JPY. There is Indian restaurant next to this hotel. Rooms are clean. Though bathroom is small, but everything is inside. TV, fridge, heater, AC, telephone are inside the room. It was difficult to communicate with reception desk in English. They should have at least one English speaking staff for 24 hours in reception desk for international travelers for better communication. One day weather was bad and there was incessant rain, they provided umbrella for going out. There are restaurants and shopping stores (Seven Eleven and Family Mart) are available around this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArghyaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The staff are helpful. Spoken English is very little...BUT! If you're traveling to another country you should learn some of the language there anyway! ^^ The only draw back is the lack of room temperature. You can control the fan but for cool air / heat it is controlled per floor not per room. You must request a new wifi password daily. Which is really no problem since you'll need to leave your room eventually. The restaurants attached the building are not too pricey and yummy but if you want to beat the rush be there early! ^^ Overall a good experience! I would recommend a stay here. Very close to Ueno Station and currency exchange office!

Room Tip: Two person rooms have a kettle, single rooms do not. The best room is 603! Enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room which had ample space to walk around without kicking the luggage accidentally. The room was clean and the electric kettle was easy to operate. The windows were indeed facing some walls but it didn't matter much as we were out the whole day. The cafe sells cheap breakfast sets and many locals frequent it. Need to climb up the stairs to reach the lobby. The staff voluntarily helped to carry our luggage down the stairs after checking out. Easy to locate hotel as per its website instructions. The nearest train station is Tokyo Metro Ueno Ginza line. The other lines are nearby but with a slightly longer walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qooqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

stayed 5days in this hotel 22nd January - 26th january , 5-7min from Ueno Skyliner ( straight train from narita airport) and nearly the same from JR Ueno Train Station ( one of the important stations to travel everywhere in tokyo) . This hotel is clean but very small room, its like living in the box. WiFi is free and the service is very good too. Just remeber to carry the address all the time till you know the area ( all the buildings look the same) , finding address in Japan is not easy. there is a street market near Ueno station and alot of restaurants in this area so walk 5min and its a happening area. Just rememer Yamanote Line ( train line) this train takes nearly to all the important stations.

Room Tip: Take double bed maybe the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosesrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed here for four nights and overall was very happy. It is a basic hotel, but everything is kept clean and the staff are helpful. While the rooms are indeed small, don't forget we are in Japan! The kettle, small fridge, free wi-fi, ample toiletries, traditional bathrobe and slippers more than compensate for the lack of space.
The location is great, very close to the airport train as well as several metro lines. Use exit 3, and if you can see a big HEIWA sign on a tall building in front of you, you are in the right street. There are lots of shops and eateries in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Be aware that one wing of the hotel is a bit noisy, at least my room was very close to what appeared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kisagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Old-fashioned, dirty and small room. The door was really damaged inside. Some doors in some other rooms were difficult to open, and that caused neighbours to produce lots of noise at the time they wanted to come into the room.
Staff mood was depending on who was there, but nobody could speak a word in english. You could find people who did not care about who you are and people who were really aggressive when they wanted you to pay.
The room they gave us was beside a wall, and that's what we saw through the window. No reallocation was possible (so they said) and we had to stay there 7 days with no sunlight. It was a cave.
Wifi is in all the hotel, but I had to spend some minutes in the corridors because the signal was not powerful enough to pass the door. Besides, it works with passwords that expire every 24 hours, and it's different for each device you want to connect. So, I had to ask for 3 passwords every night. The number of connections of their service is limited, so if many people in the hotel is simultaenously connected, you have to wait for a slot to be free.
It's located 15 minutes away from the Ueno main station. The fact is that it's only 5 minutes away, but the streets have no name and it's really complicated to go there if you get no help from some local people. Stairs and pedestrian overpasses will make it complicated to get to the door the first time. Worse if you carry luggage.
Cleaning was not daily, since the last day I found a watermelon seed that had to fall the second day we were there. Bathroom was big enough for you to put your shampoo, but you had to take it out if you wanted to have a shower. It's EXTREMELY small. I've been in several hotels in Japan and this is definetly the worst.
The room stank to tobacco, and we requested it to be non-smoking. The bed cover (bedspread) had cigarrette burns.
The laundry service was expensive. No closet in the room, so our stuff had to remain in the cases, and they had to be in a corner bothering our movements. Not a hotel for more than 2 days.
I'll never NEVER repeat.

Room Tip: Yes, choose any room in any other hotel. You'll win.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Park
Hotel New Park
#99 of 123 in Taito
33 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
#31 of 123 in Taito
90 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Suntargas
Hotel Suntargas
#71 of 123 in Taito
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno New Izu Hotel
Ueno New Izu Hotel
#37 of 123 in Taito
216 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#57 of 123 in Taito
78 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Business Hotel Yamayuri
Business Hotel Yamayuri
#112 of 123 in Taito
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ueno Terminal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ueno Terminal Hotel

Address: 2-21-11 Higashi-Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: £53 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ueno Terminal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a long journey, sometimes all you want to do is go straight to your hotel and relax. If what you desire is a hotel that is in the city but yet is easily accessible from Tokyo's inconvenient Narita Airport, look no further. Ueno Terminal Hotel is only a three minute walk from JR Ueno Station. Its ideal location makes it perfect for pursuing business or serious sightseeing. In the vicinity is a host of famous historical sites. For those seeking some excellent after-dinner drinks in a Tokyo Metropolitan atmosphere, this is indeed a welcoming area. You can dine inside the hotel, at the Japanese Restaurant Suisha Honten, or enjoy light snacks, coffee and drinks Beer and Pizza and past at Pronto. Meeting room and Party room is also available. Wifi for whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ueno Terminal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ueno Terminal Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing