We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little room,little money,but all you wanted is perfect locations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
Ranked #7 of 75 Speciality lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

After do my Tokyo- Osaka-Hiroshima- Kyoto- Tokyo JR train trip Asakusa,Tokyo is my last stayed in Japan. I got to tell you guys everywhere in Japan is awesome and fun! But for western backpacker unfortunately about accommodation a bit small for you guys. Apart from that about Japan cultural is like clean and neat so even I'd had stayed in this backpacker hostel it is small and very cheap as well. Hey guys! I've got to say this hostel close to everything you need! Skytree, asakusa temple,asakusa market street especially Asakusa market street,only 5 min walk from there to your sakura hostel. About 8 min walk to main train station,free internet( my favorite) and food everywhere and grocery heaps of fun.if you don't want spend to much money and want have fun as well I'm definitely recommended sakura hostel.don't forget if you having a meal in shop if the owner ask you how is the food? Just say," oshi" with your tumb up~ "kapei"( cheer)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review!
Everything in Japan is a little smaller than in western countries hm? That's true.
It sounds like you explored Asakusa pretty well! We are more than happy to hear that you had fun here.
We really hope to be able to welcome you again sometime!

Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great place to stay ... Very clean and comfortable ... The staff was very friendly and helpful ... In the old part of Tokyo, near the main (Sensoji) temple ... all the staff speaks good English - was helped a lot!


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 February 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review!
We do our best to help our guests to have as much fun in Tokyo as you could possibly have!
Thank you for appreciating the help. The old part of Tokyo is great, isn't it?
Thank you so much for staying with us!
Come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

If u have extra money and travel with a friend, I would suggest to get the private room (twin room) at Sakura hostel, it was a tiny room with a superb view of the sensoji temple, Tokyo skytree and the asakusa hanaya amusement park, it's a very basic hostel, with kitchen and common area at the ground floor, shared toilet on every floor. I think the private room which on the 6th floor, has the cleanest toilet and shower area, except that the corridor towards the toilet is an open air corridor, it's cold during the winter. Overall the gem of this hostel is their friendly and helpful staff who is comfortable in speaking English. It's a great choice if u like to explore asakusa and especially to stay during the japanese new year.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ser_chng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 February 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this nice review!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear that you appreciated the view over the old but beautiful Asakusa.
We can only agree with you, the open air corridor is a little cold, which is why we put canvas covers on the sides, but it is still cold of course. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Nevertheless do we hope to see you again sometime here in Tokyo.
Thank you again for your nice words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in a dorm room for 6 nights. Dorm was clean & bunk beds were comfortable with privacy curtains, lights & individual power sockets. There were lockers in room which you could store valuables you just had to have own padlock. Bathrooms are split into male & female with shower cubicles in each. These too were kept clean. There was a large common area by reception where there was several computers & seating areas. There is no wifi in dorm rooms however so you have to go to common area for this. There was a little kitchen here also. In mornings they served a small breakfast for a cost but it was all you can eat of toast & vegetable broth which was a good way to save on breakfast.
Staff here were so friendly & helpful. We used them to book several things & asked their advice on many things which never seemed to be too much trouble. They are definately the biggest bonus of this place.
The location is also excellent in Asakusa. Really close to subway(although I found their online directions a bit hard to follow) & right around the corner from Sensoji temple.
Would definately recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review!
Your description sounds pretty accurate to us. But we just installed WIFI in the whole building. So from now on our guests are able to use WIFI everywhere in our hostel. We hope you can make use of that when you visit us next time!
Yes it can be really hard to find our hostel, since Asakusa has a lot of small streets which might look more or less the same.. We tried to write the directions as easy as possible, but we are open to suggestions for improvement of course!
We are sorry that it did not help you that much.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We travelled in group of 6 during peak period for Tokyo during 8-17 Oct 13, we stayed at Sakura Hostel Asakusa as it's best for all of us to stay in one room, price around 17000-18000 Yen per night in private room for 6 with 3 bunk beds, cupboards, each bed has reading light and socket to charge your phone and battery. Shared bath room seperate for Male and Female which is clean. Please pack items when you plan to stay at hostel - Slipper, hanger, towel and bathroom items. Washing and drying machine as well as shared kitchen, computers, TV located at lobby area. Shampoo/ Conditioner and Detergent can buy at front desk for 50-100Yen. The hostel has a lot of travel brochures and information around the hostel area including Restuarants and supermarket, convenience stores etc. nearby. Sakura hostel located behind Sensoji Temple and the areas full of shopping for Japanese Souvenirs, foods etc will make your walking to and from train station which take 10-15 min are very enjoyable. On the way from airport to the hostel with our late arrived at night plus our first time to the hostel we decided to use airport transfer which is door to door service and we find it's convenience than train this time. So please enjoy your trip!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Navara68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2014

We thank you very much for your amazingly accurate review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our hostel. If you plan to come to Japan again please let us know!
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was one of the best hostels I stood.

The stuff is soooooooooo friendly and nice.

The facilatis are very new.

In total I love this hostel. I had a great time over here. I would come the next time for sure.
And you met a lot of nice backpackers and travelers too from over the world.

Exelllent Hostel nr. 1.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review!
We are happy to hear that you liked your stay here and we hope to see you again sometime soon!
Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I spent my last night in Japan in this hostel. The worst one so far.
First of all the directions to the place where completely messed up. I suggest you take the lift to exit 1, forget exit 4...and you're already on the main road.
The building itself is a soulless concrete box... zero character! How sad. We stayed in a 8 people dorm. The room was ok, clean with comfy beds and sockets. The showers were appalling. ... absolutely filthy, I showered with my slippers on for the first time in Japan! !! There's only one hook in the shower and a small basket where to leave your stuff. ...not much.
No complimentary shampoo and shower gel... First hostel in Japan where you have to pay for a cup of tea. Internet is free but it works only in the reception floor. Really. .. you real?! Breakfast was 315 but it was only toast and soup so I went without it.
You have to leave 1000 yen deposit for the key. Didn't see that written anywhere when I booked it... and when you get to the end of your holiday. ...it's a lot!
On the other hand I noticed that they organise loads of activities.
Last thing, you can leave your luggage there. . In a corridor in the basement! Didn't feel very safe.
I wouldn't go back or recommend.
One night was enough.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for your honest review.
Although we are sad to hear that you could not enjoy your stay in our hostel.
We know that it can be hard to find our hostel here in Asaksa with all the small streets, but if you stick to our directions, you should get here without problems.
The showers on each floor are cleaner every day, but since all our guests share the showers on each floor, some of them may get dirty again fast. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Yes, the Wifi situation was really not satisfying, which is why we just recently improved Wifi in our lobby and installed Wifi for the whole building.
Since our storage area is meant to be used freely by our guests it is not locked, but it is kept under surveillance by cameras.
We apologize again for the inconvenience and hope that you enjoyed your trip in Japan anyway.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 75 in Taito
230 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Juyoh Hotel
Juyoh Hotel
#18 of 75 in Taito
161 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Nui. Hostel & Bar Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Tokyo Hostel
Tokyo Hostel
#40 of 75 in Taito
80 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Backpacker's Hotel New Koyo
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 75 in Taito
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hostel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hostel Asakusa

Address: 2-24-2 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range: £14 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakura Hostel Asakusa 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open an inexpensive priceed guest house with beautiful views of Hida Takayama and the Northern Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sakura Hostel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Hotel Taito
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing