We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
97
111
31
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
111
31
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstawaramachi stationsensoji templetea setseparate toilet and showersingle roomfridge and microwaveryokan feelsmall tvginza lineyen shopprivate roomfew minutes walkdon quijotespoke very good englishbefore check in timetourist spotssushi
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

For the price of $50 CAD a night, we stayed here on our first night in Tokyo. It was a little difficult to find but once we did, we were glad that the staff at this hostel spoke English. They were very friendly and was able to provide information to nearby attractions as well as telling us how to get to Hakone (our next destination in Japan). The rooms were clean, but rather old..which is fine since this was a hostel and many travelers go in and out of the place. The washrooms are shared (1 for men and 1 for women) and the nice thing is that it includes shampoo, toothpaste, and body wash. There is free wi-fi which is great because wi-fi is hard to come by in Tokyo, and we were able to plan for the next day. There is a shared living room with a TV that you can rest in. For a short stop (1 night), I would recommend staying here if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
浅草旅館東海荘, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review
We hope to see you again.

Arigato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a nice place to stay. Love the cozy living area and the rooms are clean. The bathrooms are common bathrooms but whatever you need is found in there though its small but usable. The location is near to convenient store like 7 eleven and a few other food outlet where it's so easy to find something to eat or need to buy some daily necessities. Laundry facilities is also available.
Very close to Tokyo Skytree and there's a lot of other shops and places to visit just a walking distance away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelGoh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
浅草旅館東海荘, Manager at Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again soon. Mata ne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was a nice mix of a ryokan with a hostel price. The staff were helpful and allowed everyone to drop bags before check-in time. It was located in a quiet part of town less than a 10 minute walk from the train station. The staff also speak English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alannatess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I like this hostel a lot. It was cheap and it was close to Asakusa and Tawaramachi metro stations. Sensoji Temple is within walking distance. You can also walk to Sumida River which offers a very good view of the Tokyo Sky Tree. There's a lot of shops and places to eat around the area as well. You can do your laundry, free wifi is available, a microwave and a fridge is also available. The room is a bit small for 2 people but it is clean. Staff are friendly and very helpful. This hostel is highly recommended for budget travelers like me. I would stay at this place again when I go back to Japan

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friday17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hostel is definitely in a good location, only 5 minutes walk from the Tawaramachi subway stop and 10 minutes walk from the Asakusa temples. 2 blocks away from the hostel there's a big shopping center with a 100yen shop and a 24 hours supermarket. All very handy!

The hostel is cheap and I think that's what you need to keep in mind. My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights in a twin room, which wasn't much bigger than a shoe box and felt like a bunker. Once the mattresses are rolled out, there's no space in the room: but again, this is Tokyo, and it's what you should expect. The toilet is very small and dated. Both the toilet and the shower room weren't particularly clean. In the 5 days stay the room was cleaned only once. But the staff is friendly and helpful, there's free wifi, plus the free use of a computer. A fridge, microwave are available free of charge, and on the rooftop there's also a coin-operated washing machine for ¥200, a dryer for ¥100 (for 30 minutes), and washing powder for ¥50/pack.

Overall it has been a good experience, and if you're on a tight budget, I'd definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: The walls are very thin, so if you have a light sleep, bring some hearplugs! Rooms on the ground floor have only a very small window and have a bunker-like feeling: if you can, try to get a room on the first floor!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudietta_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews