We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay... Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is in a great location near the Ginza line... Just a ten minute stroll from the asakusa area. The staff are friendly and y and help you out- good English. The room smelt a bit strange however it is the mats put down in the Japanese style rooms- we gone on to find the same smell in several places we've stayed, kind of a green tea smell. Not as bad as another reviewer said, you do get used to it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed there at very cheap price in such an expensive Tokyo. Staff were very helpful, fluently speaking English. The bathrooms and common room were clean & home-like atmosphere. We could access the internet free of charge by the PC in common room.
It locates just a few minutes walk from Asakusa station, Sensoji and a flea market in which we could buy a lot of Japanese souvenirs. The location is good with a lot of small good restaurants around including Japanese and international food.
Minus:
- Rooms were super-small & dark, they looked old even though the common room was great.
- There were no places to enjoy after 9pm around there except for Don Quixote Supermarket which opens 24hrs. No bars, no coffee shops. You need to take trains to Shibuya or Ginza if you want some interesting places to play at night.
*** Note: if you shop in Don Quixote, remember to show your passport at check-out to enjoy tax-free prices. We didn't know so we didn't show but my friend living in Japan said so after that (sad T_T). I share here just in case.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've already stayed in this place 3 times before this and I've always returned to spent at least few nights in there. Rates are good for Tokyo and staff is friendly and speaks also English. Location is quiet, and there are many convenient stores and one 24 h supermarket nearby. Rooms are clean and basic, each has air conditioning. During summer time some rooms might have a bit of humid odour, but I haven't find it too much disturbing.

The only "problem" might be, that ryokan is located in Asakusa which is quite faraway from most popular shopping and nightlife areas (like Shinjuku, Shibuya, Takadanobaba...), but Yamanote loop-line is located in Ueno just 2 stops from Tawaramachi station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lmi555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Room reaked of mold, the smell was unbearable. Not worth the price, even though its a good location. It's been two days since my stay and my throat still hurts from the mold. The bathroom is small and had a strong odor as well. I have stayed in many budget hostels across the world, and this was easily the worst.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, the location proved to be the hotel's best feature. Our room was coated in mold and smelled horrible. We could not sleep due to odor and allergic reactions to mild. We had to sleep in surgical masks. Not worth it, stay elsewhere

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff speak English and are helpful, the rooms are basic but clean, and most importantly, for me anyway, it is nice and quiet. The location is excellent, in a traditional residential area that stays open till 1am or later with restaurants and bars and so on (guess not so traditional). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Happy-Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This cute/small ryokan was perfect for my 3 night stay, off-season - polite staff (English speaking staff was hit-or-miss), but I had a clean private Japanese-style room (with a comfy futon), reasonable rate, free wifi and a GREAT location. It is just a few blocks away from a maze of incredible food places (behind the multi-level Rox department store), 7/11 and ither convenience stores, Sensoji (Asakusa Kannon Temple)/Nakamise area and a 40 minute leisurely stroll to Ueno Park. Plan for longer if you wish to stop along Kappabashi Street - you will find everything for your kitchen and some of the best knives and cleavers...
The Tawaramachi station is strongly recommended (easy to navigate to and from - bring and follow the clear instructions on the online map). Please keep in mind that the area is old and elevators and escalators are scarce, prepare yourself for a lengthy stair climb to street level from the subway platform.

Room Tip: Email Toukaisou directly and tell them your preferences. They responded ro my questions promptly, pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
浅草旅館東海荘, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and wonderful review.

We hope to see you again near future.

Toukaisou staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 125 in Taito
606 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#34 of 125 in Taito
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 125 in Taito
331 reviews
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
#9 of 33 in Koto
235 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Komatsu Ryokan
Komatsu Ryokan
#60 of 125 in Taito
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso

Address: 2-16-12 Nishiasakusa, Taito 111-0035, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £28 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel offers affordable and accessible accommodation in Asakusa Tokyo. In the heart of Tokyo you will enjoy an inexpensive, cozy, and convenient stay at the Toukaisou Ryokan. We are located in Asakusa, the heart of the old downtown (Shitamachi) Tokyo, an area reminiscent of traditional Japan, which is quite rare in modern-day Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso Hotel Taito
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing