We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, affordable, clean, good location”
Review of Aizuya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aizuya Inn
Ranked #7 of 63 Speciality lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Awesome staff, affordable, clean, good location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Tokyo. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are small but were a good price and a good location. The people I met staying in the Hostel were also very down to earth and friendly. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    211
    50
    22
    21
See reviews for
39
138
192
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

2nd trip to Japan and 2nd time I stay at Aizuya Inn : I like the place, quiet and calm, the rooms & shared showers/ toilets are very clean. Above all the staff is definitely nice and helpful with tourists "lost in translation" and for some reason, most of the people I saw there are cool. I a word = j'aime!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in a private double with girlfriend.

Once the mattresses and backpacks go down there's not a lot of room left but it was cozy. Shared wash area and toilets that are relatively clean. The toilets stunk a bit at the end of the day.

Location is northeast a bit far out for me and there was around a 15 min walk to the subway station so it was a bit of a faff navigating back late at night.

You have to pay a deposit for the key and there is a small charge to shower, it is also coin operated so make sure you keep some 100 yen coins handy.

Definitely better for the solo traveller looking to meet people.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Aizuya Inn for 5 nights in May. The place is well run, the rooms small but spotless.
and well stocked with every kind of tourist attraction literature. The staff were very helpful and willing. Breakfast is available at a small charge and the neighbourhood has several convenience
stores and places to eat. Minami-Senju is easy to reach from Ueno by either JR and subway line.The Inn has computer and wifi connection. I enjoyed my stay and was quiet happy with
the quality of service and would visit again.

Room Tip: When coming out of either the train or subway stations, use the elevator around the corner if carryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

They ask more money again after im leaving this guesthouse and yet i already told the staff and im checking in for 2 that day. And the owner like ask not right amount of money what the email s mention. So dissapointed. I think in japan after the the drill then they cant ask money again. That is the culture. But they dont. Im very sorry this what i can rate for. And the breakfast is also so basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chanelwoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spotlessly clean but small rooms with tatami mats, A/C, TV, shared toilets and showers (100 yen for five minutes). Manga comics and old Tokyo pics adorn the toilet and hallway walls, lightening up the decor. Friendly staff, cozy common area, good tourist information, free wifi and PC access. Make sure you have a good map and directions to find this hostel. About 15 minutes from minamisenju station, there is not much to visit nearby. Good budget option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff was generally very friendly and helpful, especially the French-speaking man (I am not French-speaking, by the way). The place is clean. The location is great for whoever wants to see less affluent Tokyo neighborhoods as well, instead of just buying the Tokyo stereotype. On the not-so-good side, the internet connection was very unstable, and I needed it for work (I was on a conference). Also, I got a bunker bed room for one night, despite having reserved the tatami one. The combination of bunk bed (with a metal rod in the center) + tatami did not work all right for my back. It must be said that when I reported both problems, the staff moved me to another room, where the connection was much better and the tatamis rested directly on the floor (providing me what I judge my favorite sleeping experience). Overall I recommend the place, and would make sure not to get a bunk bed, unless you are ok with it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 120 in Taito
605 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 63 in Taito
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 63 in Taito
209 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Juyoh Hotel
Juyoh Hotel
#14 of 63 in Taito
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aizuya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aizuya Inn

Property: Aizuya Inn
Address: 2-17-2 Kiyokawa, Taito 111-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aizuya Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aizuya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aizuya Hotel Taito
Aizuya Inn Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing