We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pilgrims still progressing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pilgrims at Lovington
Ranked #1 of 8 Castle Cary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pilgrims still progressing”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I last reviewed Pilgrims way back in September 2009. I waxed lyrical about it then...nothing has changed.

It is still a delight to stay here. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed with clever use of Farrow & ball paint. The bathrooms are extremely well appointed with roll top baths and walk in monsoon showers...then when you think life can't get any better, Jools the chef patron cooks you sublime food to die for. All locally sourced...beautifully cooked and presented...this is a chef at the top of his game. Breakfast is equally good....He even makes his own bread.
Sally, the other half of this exceptional couple handles front of house, serves the food and handles all the other many things that make this establishment such a joy to stay in. This is hotel keeping at it's very best...Worth a long detour.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
92
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

we stayed at the Pilgrims for three nights in November with two other couples.

From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after by Sally and Jules, the bedrooms were great big comfy beds, great showers and spotlessly clean.

We ate in the restaurant on the Friday and Saturday and the food was fantastic all freshly cooked by Jules, the breakfast was lovely too.

Would definitely recommend you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Having done the same old thing for New Years Eve for the last decade we decided to return to The Pilgrims at Lovington having spent a night there in 2010.

Once again Sally and Jules succeeded in making our one night stay one to remember.

The food was superb, the service exemplary and the accommodation as before did not disappoint.

Jules talent in the kitchen has to be experienced. His enthusiasm for food shines through in the dishes that are served.

We had Pilgrims on Horseback (Scallops on blackpudding) and tempura prawns to start, then we both went for the fillet steak for our mains. There really is nothing negative I can say about the food at all. I went for a 'Little pot of chocolate with stem ginger' for desert which really was a taste sensation, whilst my better half decided on a selection of local cheeses.

Having jokingly suggested to Jules that she would like her breakfast in tempura batter as it was that good, Jules presented her with a tempura poached egg at breakfast which was a lovely touch, and also delicious !! This is the sort of personal service you can expect if you visit The Pilgrims at Lovington.

Will we return ? Without doubt.

A big THANKYOU to Sally and Jules for making this New Year one we will remember.

Room Tip: All the 5 rooms are similarly decorated to a very high standard with lovely wet room style bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVRpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormskirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Just stayed four nights at The Pilgrims we were looked after and feed to a very high standard nothing was any problem can reccommend as a perfect bolt hole to unwind

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed one night (Room 2) in October to visit family and had the most enjoyable stay. Sally and Jools are wonderful hosts and you can tell they take pride in their business. The hotel rooms are fabulous, stylish, comfty bed, every amenity thought of, excellent bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower. The restaurant food is amazing (all cooked by Jools himself) and sourced locally - do try the Lovington ice creams. Plenty of choice at breakfast (cooked or continental, or both if you are still hungry). This hotel is well worth the detour off the A371 and I will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: All five rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed overnight at this lovely Inn and had a marvelous night.
Sally and Jools were gracious hosts and we had a brilliant dinner with good wine, followed by a good sleep and fabulous shower.
Breakfast the next morning was again superb. I can highly recommend this Inn for sighseeing around the local area of Castle Cary and Glastonbury.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are of excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We recently stayed here for two nights and were very impressed, particularly by the food which was of an incredibly high standard. These days so many places claim to source their produce locally but not many places can substantiate those claims to the same extent as the Pilgrims with virtually everything coming from within a few miles of the restaurant (and make no mistake, this is a restaurant not a pub) and all the suppliers named on the menu. The only (small) criticism I would have is that it was pretty quiet in the restaurant on both nights we were there (Friday and Saturday) resulting in a fairly muted atmosphere but this was more than compensated for by the wonderful food.

The rooms are modern, comfortable and furnisehd to a high standard. I would thoroughly recommend the Pilgrims for a relaxing gastronomic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Cary
3.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
3.5 mi away
Catash Inn
Catash Inn
#1 of 1 in North Cadbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims at Lovington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims at Lovington

Property: The Pilgrims at Lovington
Address: Pilgrims Way | Lovington, Castle Cary BA7 7PT, England (Formerly The Pilgrims Rest)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pilgrims at Lovington 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pilgrims is a 4 star Restaurant with Rooms and holds 2 AA Rosettes. It's as relaxed as a country pub but the food is better than many a city restaurant - not least because all the ingredients come from 'just over the brow of the hill.' And the rooms are simply stunning, Egyptian cotton, king size beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers. The Pilgrims - the best of Somerset on a plate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pilgrims at Lovington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pilgrims At Lovington Hotel Castle Cary
The Pilgrims At Lovington Castle Cary, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing