We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a romantic candle dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pilgrims at Lovington
Ranked #1 of 8 Castle Cary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had booked for 1 night in this place; upon arrival they told us they had already all day a power failure, no problem for us (there was warm water), the lady of the house was more concerned as she told us (several times).. the looks outside give you a wrong image, as once inside you enter a different place.

The rooms are all located next to eachother in a row behind the main building, nice modern rooms, good bathroom, although when wet very very slippery ! The restaurant, due to the continued power failure, was full of candles (very romantic and maybe something to continue ?); the chef managed to cook all the dishes we wanted to eat, and food was really great !

Friendly people, good service (even if we find it strange to get the bottle of wine just on the table, without tasting ?) anyway, suppose this is part of the relaxed atmosphere over here. Breakfast was also outstanding, we didn't regret having stayed here ..the restaurant is a 'must do' !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

The food and service is excellent, most places that we visit are OK at best because I compare the quality and taste of the food with 'home' cooking and most places are just second rate and not as good as what I get at home. The Pilgrims is different, our starters were all really excellent, our main courses were as good as you can get and the sweets 'to die for'. My only complaint, I was not allowed a 'little' bit of everything!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BandT44and43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for my wife's birthday and had a wonderful time. We received a warm welcome and were shown to room 1 which was very comfortable and tastefully decorated and had a wonderful bathroom/ wet room. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was a great start to the day.

We would definitely stay here again; the only comment I would have is don't be put off by the outside appearance as it does not do justice to the experience you will have there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DonCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We were amazed when we stayed at The Pilgrims at Lovington. Though it looks like a traditional country pub from the road, they have 5 really beautiful designer bedrooms with comfortable beds and fabulous bathrooms. The restaurant has great food - all locally sourced and deliciously cooked by Julian, a really friendly, creative chef. We could see why he's won loads of awards. His wife Sally runs the front of house in a very efficient, friendly way. We'll definitely be back as soon as we can.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Divine - bedrooms with facilities are first class & food of a high standard. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank english_audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I last reviewed Pilgrims way back in September 2009. I waxed lyrical about it then...nothing has changed.

It is still a delight to stay here. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed with clever use of Farrow & ball paint. The bathrooms are extremely well appointed with roll top baths and walk in monsoon showers...then when you think life can't get any better, Jools the chef patron cooks you sublime food to die for. All locally sourced...beautifully cooked and presented...this is a chef at the top of his game. Breakfast is equally good....He even makes his own bread.
Sally, the other half of this exceptional couple handles front of house, serves the food and handles all the other many things that make this establishment such a joy to stay in. This is hotel keeping at it's very best...Worth a long detour.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

we stayed at the Pilgrims for three nights in November with two other couples.

From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after by Sally and Jules, the bedrooms were great big comfy beds, great showers and spotlessly clean.

We ate in the restaurant on the Friday and Saturday and the food was fantastic all freshly cooked by Jules, the breakfast was lovely too.

Would definitely recommend you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Cary hotels
3.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Horse Pond Inn
Horse Pond Inn
#2 of 2 in Castle Cary
11 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ellesmere House
Ellesmere House
#2 of 2 in Castle Cary
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Avalon House
Avalon House
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greystones House
Greystones House
#5 of 8 in Castle Cary
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims at Lovington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims at Lovington

Address: Pilgrims Way | Lovington, Castle Cary BA7 7PT, England (Formerly The Pilgrims Rest)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Cary
Price Range: £124 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pilgrims at Lovington 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pilgrims is a 4 star Restaurant with Rooms and holds 2 AA Rosettes. It's as relaxed as a country pub but the food is better than many a city restaurant - not least because all the ingredients come from 'just over the brow of the hill.' And the rooms are simply stunning, Egyptian cotton, king size beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers. The Pilgrims - the best of Somerset on a plate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pilgrims at Lovington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pilgrims At Lovington Hotel Castle Cary
The Pilgrims At Lovington Castle Cary, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing