We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend this small hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pilgrims at Lovington
Ranked #1 of 8 Castle Cary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this small hotel and restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Couldn't believe that one chef working on hgis own can produce this great food. Husband and wife team have been in the place for 13 years and have transformed it from what woiuld have been a small out of the way village pub to give high grade accommodation and fine quality local food.

I presume it is intentional that there is no music but thios makes it rasther like talking in the dining room at home. But other than this can't fault it.

The rooms and design were a real surprise. Really much better than expected. Bear in mind breakfast doesn't start until 8am. Give the chef a break!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centrifugeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
90
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been more. Two great hosts nothing too much trouble, great room and bathroom comfortable bed lovely decor. The food goodness I could eulogise on and on, all home cooked and fresh to order by a passionate chef homemade bread too. Give The Pilgrims a try you will be pleased you did

Room Tip: We had room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bladefire929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jslandd, Owner at The Pilgrims at Lovington, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
You are very kind! Thanks for taking the time. Jools & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Wow what a concept, 1 chef with 8 or so tables, fixed dining times to help the chef worried me at first however the food was exceptional, the ingredients freshness shone off the plate, simply wonderful, the menu was a delight and we are defiantly doing back for more!

However, there was no music and often the dining room fell silent and was very easy to ear drop between tables.

Having been to some of the best restaurants in the world its certainly one I will remember in the top 3. Food was unfussy, filling and full of flavor!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterbear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jslandd, Owner at The Pilgrims at Lovington, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Wow what a review! Really pleased you enjoyed yourself here (and that our timing arrangements weren’t too onerous) and that our food made such an impression. We are working on the lack of music – but it’s easier to get it wrong than to get right so we’re being careful. Sally & Jools
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

After reading a piece on the restaurant in Conde Nast traveller I was hoping I'd be able to try the restaurant one day. When that chance finally came I was only too eager to vist and have to say none of us were left disappointed!
We all tried several different things, ranging from soups, to desserts and everything was prepared with expert hands. The Pheasant was out of this world, as was the Goat Cheese and pesto tart, the Confit of duck was as good as I've had anywhere, the study of Beef was both mouthwatering and comforting. The cheese selection was fantastic and the desserts were the icing on the cake.
The restaurant specializes in locally sourced and sustainable food and the quality was outstanding. Service is very relaxed and extremely unpretentious. Next time I visit I will certainly try one of the rooms for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We visited The Pilgrims during a 2 week excursion to England from the US. This was my first trip to England, so I had no idea what to expect. I have to say that we could not have been more delighted with our experience at The Pilgrims, this is the real deal. I concur that there is plenty of parking for those traveling via car. Sally and Jools are kind and gracious hosts. The rooms are ample and comfortable, and the baths are worth their weight in gold to the road weary traveler. The rain bath shower, the gigantic tub, and the heated towel rack are what you'd expect to find at the Ritz! My partner is 6'2" tall, and delighted in the Victoria and Albert tub. Outside of the rooms, we also thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. The full West Country Breakfast with sausages, eggs, ham, mushrooms, baked tomatoes, country toast, and local jams and jellies cannot be beat. The Wine menu is broad and impressive. The dinner menu with local game is devine. But do NOT leave this establishment without having a taste of Jools' Sticky Toffee Pudding!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libra10574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We visited The Pilgrims on a 2 day pre-Christmas getaway. There is ample off-road parking here both for customers and residents. On arrival we were greeted by Sally who showed us to our well appointed room. The bed was very comfortable and large enough to accommodate my 6'2" frame. The en suite bathroom was beautiful, with an exquisite roll top bath plus a walk in shower. All the usual hotel facilities are provided with a range of teas and coffees, even a torch and an umbrella are included. Waffle dressing gowns plus slippers are provided too.
After dropping off our luggage we were treated to tea in the lounge in front of the log fire. There was a teachers works party in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival but we were able to dine in the lounge. All food is freshly prepared to order by a team of 2 people and so it is important to be punctual for any reservation as seating times are properly staggered to avoid long waits at table. Vegetarians can ask for a separate menu and whatever food selection you make you can be sure that it will be of excellent quality. In common with many places, there is a slant towards local products, but this will not leave you disappointed. Even the local beer is good.

We had breakfast here on two mornings, and they were just amazing. Cereals and croissants and fruit is available, followed by a choice of cooked to order breakfasts plus toasted home made bread.

A fantastic stay, very relaxing and we felt welcome all the time we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny-glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We travelled to Dorset with 6 friends for a weekend of walking and eating. The Pilgrim is a real find and the whole experience was outstanding. Each room is exquisite; completely fit for purpose with very good attention to detail, cleanliness, and overall finish. The rooms are all calm and comfortable with excellent bathrooms. The dining and breakfast experiences were superb. The food is locally sourced and cooked and presented to the highest standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Cary
3.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
3.5 mi away
Catash Inn
Catash Inn
#1 of 1 in North Cadbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims at Lovington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims at Lovington

Property: The Pilgrims at Lovington
Address: Pilgrims Way | Lovington, Castle Cary BA7 7PT, England (Formerly The Pilgrims Rest)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pilgrims at Lovington 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pilgrims is a 4 star Restaurant with Rooms and holds 2 AA Rosettes. It's as relaxed as a country pub but the food is better than many a city restaurant - not least because all the ingredients come from 'just over the brow of the hill.' And the rooms are simply stunning, Egyptian cotton, king size beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers. The Pilgrims - the best of Somerset on a plate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pilgrims at Lovington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pilgrims At Lovington Hotel Castle Cary
The Pilgrims At Lovington Castle Cary, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing