We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spoiling experience!”
Review of Greystones House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystones House
Ranked #5 of 8 Castle Cary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Staying at Greystons was the best!
A beautiful, huge, wonderfully comfortable room with everything we needed ... gorgeous crisp white bed linen; we slept like logs.
Then a delicious breakfast in the dining room, fire blazing, was, we felt, Somerset's answer to Downton Abbey!
A wonderful experience. Thank you for looking after us so beautifully. We will return!

Room Tip: I believe Greystones only offer one room for B & B - and I don't think it can be bettered so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Diana, Owner at Greystones House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and found it a spoiling experience! We were pleased that you managed to use the tennis court too and do hope you will come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

This lovely house, although not in Hampshire, reminded me more than anything of the home of Jane Austen's heroine Elizabeth Bennett. My mother and I could have been sitting in Mrs Bennet's dining room as we had our DELICIOUS breakfast of grapefruit and rhubarb and scrummy bacon, marmalade and honey. The beds were lovely and the linen luxurious. The roses were trying to climb in the window, the lovely arranged wild flowers in the room were typical of the care and attention and understated warm welcome given by Mrs Hoare. This B&B comes highly recommended - you will feel you have had a trip to the past as well as to lovely countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed at Greystones house for 2 nights whilst visiting my sister and without doubt this was the most comfortable and friendly B & B I can remember. Greystones house is situated in Lovington just opposite the Lovington Ice-cream head office. My bedroom was large with the most comfortable kingsize bed with soft pillows and wonderful linen. The bathroom was ensuite with big bath and proper shower overhead. Lovely big bath towels and good products for the bath with copious amounts of hot water. The views from the enormous windows are lovely overlooking the garden and it makes for a peaceful stay.
The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - I had porridge both days which was the best ever and it was served with cream and brown sugar - great for the waistline! Diana Hoare makes her own fruit compote and really good marmalade and everything is served beautifully on bone china and tea in a silver teapot but with no fuss! There is also a very good restaurant called Pilgrims within walking distance where we had dinner so on Summer nights you don't have to take the car out! I can't wait for my next visit to the West Country so I can stay at Greystones!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Diana, Owner at Greystones House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Greystones House B&B. It was a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to meeting you again when you next visit your sister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here for the night before my wedding (which was in Shepton Mallet), and it provided me with the most comfortable and peaceful place to relax before a very busy day. The house is beautiful, with equally lovely gardens. The room was a great size, with a very comfortable king size bed you could get lost in!
It had a TV and tea and coffee making facilities (with fresh milk and biscuits!). The ensuite bathroom was modern and clean, with a great shower, heated towel rail, and with shower gel, bubble bath, shampoo and conditioner provided, and large, soft towels.

Mr and Mrs Hoare were lovely, very welcoming and happy to accommodate the Bridal Party in the sitting room when I was running late. We were spoilt for choice for breakfast; fruit juice, tea and coffee, cereals, grapefruit, fresh strawberries, yoghurt, toast and a cooked breakfast.

All in all, I would highly recommend Greystones.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Diana, Owner at Greystones House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Greystones House. We really enjoyed having you on your pre-wedding evening and it was fun seeing you all dressed up and looking beautiful for the big day. I do hope you had a happy day and hope that you will return sometime with your new husband!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Greystones House is an absolute must for anyone seeking a B & B in the Wincanton, Bruton and Castle Carey area. It is a beautiful 18th century property set in several acres of attractively maintained grounds.

The owners, Mr & Mrs Hoare, were attentive without being intrusive; the accommodation with en suite bathroom to an excellent standard and the breakfasts were superb!

First class value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAG190544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Situated just off the main village road, Greystones House is a quiet and secluded B&B set within a pleasant garden with countryside views.These views are apparent from the first floor guest bedroom which is of a generous size and includes a modern en-suite. The quality of the facilities was excellent; the bed was ample and blissful!
Breakfast was delicious and the attention to detail, superb.
We were made to feel "at home". A lovely house and thoughtful hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjan089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Beautiful house, great ensuite most comfortable heated king size bed and wonderful hospitality. Delicious cooked breakfast. We would be delighted to stop again. Thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clcln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Cary hotels
3.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pilgrims at Lovington
The Pilgrims at Lovington
#1 of 8 in Castle Cary
154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ellesmere House
Ellesmere House
#2 of 2 in Castle Cary
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Horse Pond Inn
Horse Pond Inn
#2 of 2 in Castle Cary
11 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avalon House
Avalon House
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones House

Address: Lovington | Greystones House, Castle Cary BA7 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Cary
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely old house surrounded by fields is only 10 minutes away from the Bath and West Showground. Relax in a spacious en suite bedroom with crisp white sheets and comfortable kingsize or twin beds. The room has double aspect windows overlooking the attractive garden which has some beautiful trees a rather bumpy croquet lawn and a hard tennis court. Breakfast using all the wonderful local produce including fruit, yoghurt and muesli is a leisurely and flexible affair in the dining room. So come and enjoy the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Tea and cake on arrival too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greystones House Castle Cary, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing