We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking for comfort with excellent service clanville manor as it all”
Review of Clanville Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Cary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clanville Manor
Ranked #4 of 8 Castle Cary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My wife and I had two wonderful nights at Clanville this is a lovely unspoilt Georgian manor house full of furnishings and antiques that fits well with the period . We had the super on-suite kingsize room fantastic .Sally the host greeted us at the car park with the umbrella ,we soon forgot about the rain we were made so welcome.

Breakfast go hungry! the menu is huge, hens in the garden provided us with two fresh eggs bacon sausage tomatoes all local produce from Castle Cary .

During our long marriage together we have stayed in hundreds of 4 & 5 star hotels , Clanville will take allot of beating that is down to a wonderful home and host .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Clanville Manor is delightful with a long windy drive past the herd of cows to a stylish Manor House. We were welcomed into Sally's home and felt instantly part of the family. Sally could not have been more helpful as well in guiding us as to where to eat and what to see locally.

The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable, the breakfast mouthwatering, the sitting room luxurious, the pool is secluded and heated (alas the weather didnt give us a chance to try it in the end) and little touches such as the maps where visitors can put a pin to say where they come from made us feel special and want to retujrn - which we shall absolutely be doing at the first opportunity.

The highlight for me was the freshly picked plums at breakfast whilst my son was grateful for the free wifi access as he was able to update his iphone. The information on local events and restaurants was a life saver for a dad with a thirteen year old in tow and I confess to reading two Dick Francis books in my room that I hadnt picked up for many years as I sat back on the sofa and looked out of the window. I even had a brief conversation with one of the cows in the early hours when she decided it was milking time which added to the unique joy of our brief stay

There are so many things we could say about this treasure in the heart of Somerset ... it is definitely worth a stay and if you have a good-sized family, then try and book out all the rooms and the cottages as well as its an ideal jumping off point for a family holiday in Somerset and the Cotswalds

Some specifics:

As to choice of rooms, both my son's and mine were spacious with sitting areas and I believe all the rooms are equally well-equipped - you have a choice of views over the farm, fields or the front gardens and each aspect therefore offers something of interest. Both our rooms had excellent and well-appointed bathrooms, complete with towels and a selection of toiletries.

There is guest car parking so cars are secure and out of mind during the stay.

Breakfast was a selection of fruits and cereals then a full English breakfast, almost entirely fresh and local produce, and enough to keep a ravenous beast (my son that is) going until tea time

There is a play area for young children besides the pool (swings and a slide and playhouse) and the pool is fenced off which gives security of mind

The front garden is beautiful and has a number of seated areas/arbours for quiet reflection for those of us who go on holiday to chill out. I even saw some garden bowls in the hall

Plenty of places to visit: from Castle Cary itself for a couple of pubs and restaurants, its art shops; to Wells Glastonbury or Bath which are slightly further afield

The web site is very informative and the Manor is actually very easy to find if you avoid going into the centre of Castle Cary (by mistake!)

All I can say is ENJOY ... we did!

Room Tip: Ask Sally but all rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebeetleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanville_Manor, Owner at Clanville Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thank you very much-it was a pleasure to meet you, and I hope we shall see you again.

Do follow Clanville Manor on Twitter for up to the minute vacancies, especially for weekends. Our new website will be launched in the next couple of weeks and will be even more informative and easy to navigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Clanville Manor is more like a country house hotel with the personal service and friendliness of a small b&b. We had the four poster room with a very comfy bed and so peaceful. We were met with tea and cake. There is a wonderful choice for breakfast from the full English to lighter options and everything in between! Lovely home made bread too.

We only had one night on our way to Cornwall so didn't see too much of the local area but Clanville is in a lovely quiet area. Castle Cary a small attractive town.

A bonus for us was the gorgeous cats - some of them very friendly and demanding fuss. Calves in the field and the chickens wandering around just make this place a haven for relaxation.

We must return for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanville_Manor, Owner at Clanville Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Thank you so much for your review-I hope you enjoyed your time in Cornwall and, hopefully, you may decide to explore Somerset in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have stayed at quite a few highly rated UK B&Bs over the years and Clanville Manor was as good as, and possibly better than, any. We had a large bedroom with a very comfortable king-size bed and wi-fi access in the room (as well as downstairs in the guest lounge). Breakfasts were first rate. Sally was an excellent host and very helpful in providing local knowledge. We arrived with a computer problem and Sally went out of her way in organizing for it to be fixed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanville_Manor, Owner at Clanville Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review-I am glad you have returned home safely, and hope we may see you or your friends in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

When you take the turn off the road into Clanville Farm you pass by the fileds with cows munching away. Pull up at the big gate and inside there is a parking area for guests. At the farm you can feed the chickens that lay your eggs for breakfast! Warm welcome from a very friendly farmer's wife, called Sally. Once in the farm house there are all sorts of ornaments and antiquities, all telling a story. We had the four poster bedroom with en suite and had the most peaceful nights sleep. Peace, tranquility, with a warming farmhouse breakfast, warm home made bread, what more can you ask for. Got to add that in summer they have an outdoor swimming pool! We shall be retruning, and will make it a favourite place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedderbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanville_Manor, Owner at Clanville Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you very much for your detailed review! I hope we shall see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This was the second time that we have stayed at Clanville Manor and two years on the farm and rooms are just as delightful as ever and Sally is still the perfect host and most amazing cook!

Her English breakfasts are delicious!! She uses all local produce including eggs from the farm's very own very happy chickens - lighter options are available too with a wide range of cereals, fruit compotes, jams and local honey.

Every request that you make is dealt with promptly and with a smile - we're not quite sure how she always manages it especially when she's been up the night before helping to round up a rather "enthusiastic" bull!

We'll definately be back - probably self catering next time as we'll have a new addition to the family... until we do, we've got a couple of their delicious looking steaks and some sausages to try!

Thank you Sally!

(If you're going to the Glastonbury Festival and need accommodation other than a tent then Clanville Manor is only about 15 minutes away from the festival site)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djwhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanville_Manor, Owner at Clanville Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Thank you so much for your review-it was good to see you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Sally our hostess provided a level of friendly and helpful hospitality that others could do well to emulate. When we had to leave at 5:45 AM for our balloon flight she prepared some sandwiches for us to take in lieu of breakfast. Most of her foods and juices are locally source and it shows in the taste! The apple juice was delicious. She helped with lists of local restaurants and even phoned to make bookings on our behalf. It was very pleasant just to sit in the garden and listen to the birdsong whilst reading. The farm is a little isolated being some 2 miles by car to the nearest village, Castle Cary. It does have a swimming pool which guests can use at their own risk but we didn't despite the hot weather.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good including the single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _jeff_warlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanville_Manor, Owner at Clanville Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

April 28th 2011. Thank you very much indeed for your review-it was a pleasure to have you to stay. As you say, the outdoor swimming pool is now open, the earliest it has been, but not as warm yet as it is in the summer months as the nights are still quite cold and bring the temperature down. We update the pool temperature on our Twitter page.
I hope you will come to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Cary hotels
1.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
190 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pilgrims at Lovington
The Pilgrims at Lovington
#1 of 8 in Castle Cary
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ellesmere House
Ellesmere House
#2 of 2 in Castle Cary
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Avalon House
Avalon House
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clanville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanville Manor

Address: Clanville | Castle Cary, Castle Cary BA7 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Cary
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian farmhouse with 'self-service' B&B and outdoor heated pool in summer (June, July and August). Sorry, the WiFi isn't high speed (we are two miles from the nearest high speed box) but it's perfectly adequate, and in compensation you get dark skies at night and birdsong in the mornings! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clanville Manor Castle Cary, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing