We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jennis Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorleston-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jennis Lodge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Jennis Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

A good welcome, very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast served with a happy face and chatter. Bed was hard and the pillows hard as nails, couldn't sleep as they actually hurt my ears. Bathroom towels were like sandpaper. Room was very clean and so was the bathroom. However, we were 8 adults and 5 children, and Jennis Lodge did everything they could to be helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennis-Lodge, Owner at Jennis Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad that you found us welcoming and friendly. We are also very pleased, that you thought the breakfast was excellent and the en-suite room very clean. The problem with any one night booking, is that if a guest has a problem with anything in the room during the night, we do not get the opportunity to correct it before they leave. However in this instance, because of the size of your family and the fact that you were occupying four rooms, we had provided you with 19 towels and 22 pillows in total. We offer a variety of pillows, thick, thin, firm and soft, so it was a shame that you didn't have the foresight to check to see if any of the others would of been more to your liking. That way you may have had a more restful night. I think you will agree, that the firmness of a mattress is a personal preference and people always compare it to their old faithful of years back home. Had you been staying longer and mentioned any of these problems to us, it would of been our pleasure to offer you another room if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
57
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powys Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Jennis Lodge and nothing has changed from last year everything was really good we were made extremely welcome and the breakfast was really good. Clean and comfortable room. We will be coming back again and hope it is not to long before we do.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyPowysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Jennis Lodge B and B - We had a lovely weekend -the b and b was lovely and clean, had a good breakfast and the hosts were very welcoming and gave us a good knowledge of how to get about - the bus stopped right near the b ad b and we could get to Lowestoft or Gt Yarmouth quite easily - would definitely use it again - Dawn and Ray

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was just a 2 night stop over, Vicci made us extremely welcome and gave a full explanation of entry, exit and general orientation of the B&B. Breakfast was full English and all the trimmings. Or you could just have a continental breakfast if you wanted. The rooms were very clean and comfortable beds. Although dated, this was the charm of Jennis Lodge. Just 100 yards down the road were the steps to the lovely sandy beach. When it was time to settle the bill, Vicci & Paul sat down with us in the reception room and had a chat before we left. It was a combination of the little touches, and the attention to making every guest feel valued, as if they were the only guest they ever had. Five Star people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My Brother and I stayed at the other day, to attend a wedding near by and found a very warm welcome from Vicci. The room was well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi internet and TV. The room was clean and comfortable and well decorated. The beds were comfy also. Vicci was very helpful with directions to the nearest curry house and local taxi firms which was a big help. Paul did a great job of breakfast which was a pleasure to eat in the cosy dining room. I would defiantly stay again if I was in the area and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at Vicci & Paul's B&B on several occasions over the summer for work purposes and on each occasion had a pleasant and comfortable stay. I was always made to feel welcome and at home, enjoying good facilities and a delicious, generous breakfast. Excellent value for money in a quiet location and just a couple of minutes walk to the beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Jennis Lodge and found it to be in a good location, very close to the beach, close to a couple of 'corner' shops and pubs, a 1/4 hour walk to the town with bus stops and parking in that road. The buses go to Great Yarmouth, also Lowestoft.

On arrival I was welcomed with a smile and given an introduction to the area. I was shown to my room with help carrying my luggage. The room was prettily furnished, clean and aired. I was shown how to operate the shower and which key was for the bedroom door and which for the outside door. The room had a wardrobe, drawers, bedside unit and kettle.

I went down for breakfast every morning and was always cheerfully greeted by both Vicci and Paul and promptly served. The food is freshly cooked as ordered and they cater for dietary requirements.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annonymous_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jennis Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jennis Lodge Guest House

Property: Jennis Lodge Guest House
Address: 63 Avondale Road, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, family run guest house open all year, situated just off the beautiful sandy beach of Gorleston-on-Sea 3 miles south of Great Yarmouth.All of our rooms are En-Suite. Your room will be comfortably furnished and have facilities for making tea and coffee, a radio alarm clock, flat screen TV / DVD, toiletries, towels, plus free Wi-Fi.Our freshly cooked breakfast is made from quality produce and a vegetarian choice is available. Evening meals on request. Children and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jennis Lodge Guest House Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing