We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
All Seasons Lodge Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pier Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria(Great Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Corner House Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Carlton Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nelson Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Potters Resort(Hopton on Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
546
415
135
39
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
546
415
135
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaterrace barcream teasea viewbridal suitewowcher dealsunday carverylovely hotelhuge bedsewing kitno liftgorleston beachweekend breaklovely roombottled waterfull englishfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,159 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Have stayed here before but this time the room was very noisy, no light bulbs in lights above bed, carpet very stained, windows couldn't be opened, torn net curtains, no telephone in room, no soap or tissues in dispensers in the bathroom, extractor fan didn't work in bathroom, no toilet roll holder, flooring very poor and loose tiles round bath, leaking radiator. The worse thing was that the bedroom door wouldn't lock but we did get a free bottle of wine and we put one of the bedside tables against the door at night!!!!!! I know this hotel is being renovated but surely if rooms are not up to standard then they shouldn't be used. Hotel staff and food excellent. Excellent new bar.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at sea front rooms as most of these have been re-furbished
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we were generally pleased with the reception area and we were warmly greeted. We were a group of 6 friends, 3 couples staying overnight as were were moving onto a leisure resort on Sunday rather than driving up in the morning. After we checked in we went into the bar, which had been renovated to high standards and there was also a terrace bar, again which was very tastefully furnished and had beach/sea views. We had lunch in the Cliff bar and the food was excellent and value for money. The waiters were very polite, friendly and helpful and we were impressed.

All our rooms are in need of a makeover, which the hotel is currently in the process of doing and once its had a revamp they will probably be more up to standard. The shower was bizarre as there was no push button to turn it off so I had to physically get out of the bath to turn off the bathtaps, otherwise I would have either scolded myself from the hot water or froze from the cold water. Also the shower curtain was only halfway across as the ceiling over the bath came down at an angle which made the curtain stand about a foot from the wall and the water ended up on the floor! We managed though but it was a strange set-up. The rooms were OK but definitely not worth £85 per night in their current state.

We dined in Michell's Restaurant on Saturday evening and the food was dismal. It was only tepid and definintely not up to Al la Carte standard, unlike the Cliff Bar food. My husband sent back his soup as it was cold and just tasted of salt. The prawn cocktail he had instead was obviously frozen prawns as the ice water was mixing with the cocktail sauce and really wasn't very nice. The food for both the restaurant and the bar came from the same kitchen, so we can't understand why it wasn't as good as the bar food. We had to send the cheese board back twice as the mice looked liked they'd nibbled it and then discarded it in disgust.

The night of our stay there was a function and even though it had ended before we went to bed the whole night no-one in the hotel slept because of rowdy noise of people running riot around the hotel. One of our couple's room was on the 1st floor and ours and our other friends were on the 2nd floor and these 'guests' were literally running up and down the stairs, with the girls screaming their heads off and banging on doors. Our friends had 4 phone calls during the night thinking that they were calling reception. A drunk girl told them that her boyfriend was throwing up blood but then realised that it was probably red wine, but could my friend organise an ambulance! Unfortunately, the night porter was unable to control the youngsters and there was no-one to help him and neither the manager nor the under-manager were available to get the situation under control. Even on Sunday morning there was no-one to speak to about the events of the previous evening as all the management were off-duty. This has made a big impact on whether we'd return to the hotel.

We complained, obviously, and they offered us a 10% discount on our rooms only, which we refused. Our total bill came to over £500 and £27 discount was not good enough. They suggested we left the bill and the manager would call us to discuss when she was in the office later on the Sunday afternoon. I rang back about 6hrs later and she still wasn't about. I evenutally received a call late on Monday morning with many apologies and we agreed to a discount for our stay.

Would we go back again - No, not in the very near future but while all the staff were very nice and we have no complaints about the waiters, bar staff or reception staff, even the management, maybe once they get the management side in a better place, we may think about it as it could be quite a nice hotel, especially when the renovations are complete.

The upside are the fat chips in the Cliffs Bar - they were to die for and maybe worth going back for a visit just to get a bowl!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wontstoptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed many times amazed at improvements new terrace stunning views now worth having

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sem dúvida um quarto com vista para o mar...
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews