We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Surprise.”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked two rooms for one night through the Groupon scheme in order to take my elderly mother-in-law to the Norfolk Broads. Our first pleasant surprise was that we were allowed to book these at the start of the Easter weekend, leaving on Good Friday. Second surprise was how nice the hotel was considering the price we paid. Both of the rooms had been recently refurbished and were really nicely finished, despite having the "internal" outlook of brick walls and ducting mentioned by others. However, unlike some other hotels where this has happened to us, there was no fan noise or coooking smells wafting through the window for us to contend with.

Our only moan about the rooms was that they contained lovely new phones but, at the time of our visit, they were not connected making communication with my M-I-L very difficult. Also no lift but we did know this before booking and the staircase was a very grand one with wide, shallow treads. The handrail is also generally fine but it really needs an extra hand grip at the base to allow an elderly person to get themselves onto it. I pointed this out to the receptionist so it may have been addressed by now.

We arrived on the opening night of the new bar and outside patio area and have to say that these are very impressive and modern. In contrast the dining room is much more traditional and the dinner was very reasonably priced and the food extremely good. The staff here and throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful - with absolutely no exceptions.

Finally I note that another reviewer has mentioned the breakfast and I have to say that this was by far the most attractive "Full English" that I have ever been served. The very tasty food items were beautifully arranged on the plate around a sprig of tomatoes cooked on the vine. So different to the ubiquitous buffet you seem to get these days and a really lasting memory as we left after an all too brief stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with views not refurbished at time of visit. This will probably be resolved soon but I imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Visited Cliff Hotel for family party, food was good. Had great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

After booking a room through the Groupon deal, I was a little concerned that many of the reviews were quite negative mainly due to the refurbishment work taking place in the hotel (or rather the lack of it). As a result when making the booking I confirmed with the receptionist that my room would be one that had been refurbished. The 'Deluxe' room, (109) was quite nicely updated but as a previous reviewer stated, fairly small and overlooking the air conditioning units.The room size wasn't a problem as I was on my own, however the bed (only a standard double) and the room would have been cramped had there been two of us. Had better views from my hotel room window but I wasn't particularly bothered about the view it afforded as it was only a one night stay. I have to say it could be tidied up out there as there are cables and other rubbish strewn about and also plenty of pigeons flying around obviously nesting close by. Slight moan aside the rest of the hotel was very impressive. It does still have some character including a pleasant reception area and a cosy lounge. The dining room is superb and the new extension which houses the Cliff bar with it's outside decked area overlooking the beach and harbour is an excellent addition. All the staff I met were very friendly and attentive and greeted you warmly; they are definately an asset to the hotel. I didn't eat in the restaurant but my breakfast was one of the best I've had. The starters are help yourself but the cooked breakfast was taken on order and came out freshly cooked and piping hot, much better that from a buffet where usually many of the items have been hanging around too long! All in all a pleasant stay and nowhere near as bad as I had feared. I would recommend it but apart from the suite which is quite expensive, all double rooms have only a standard sized bed which would be a drawback for a return visit with my better half.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfe217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here under the groupon offer
The room allocated was so newly refurbished you could still smell the paint - excellent modern light and airy - with a balcony overlooking the beach and sea
There are only a few updated rooms so it's all work in progress and the main public areas and stairwells need an overhaul
The bar and the brand new decking area are very chic modern and IMHO the decking area is one if the best in terms if finish fit and furnishings and gives a real modern quality feel - well dine to the owner for vision and making such investment
The bar food was of generous proportion and good quality but it's not going to win any Michelin stars
The Restuarant is olde worlde classic style without being grand and needs sime TLC but was a nice venue for breakfast
The groupon offer made it very good value at just £39 for two adults b&b

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoupaman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The hotel was better than expected due to reading some comments on trip advisor.
Our room was excellent and decorated to a very high standard. We had an attic room which was a decent size and had a lovely roof top view; we could also see the sea!
The quality of the housekeeping was to a very high standard and the restaurant breakfast had a very varied selection of items to chose and the staff were always friendly and efficient.
Our only complaint is that there were functions on both nights we stayed and we felt as if we were intruding, so we didn't use the bar at all and went out both evenings to eat and have a drink.
I understand from the receptionist that the owners are promoting the Hotel as a function venue, however we would advise them not forget the other guests that are staying with them.
All in all though a very enjoyable stay and we would stay again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cledale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a groupon deal and so didn't fork out too much for our stay. I don't know what we should have paid but the £40 we spent for B&B was excellent value! We were shown to our "Deluxe" newly updated room (107) and were very disapointed.It was tiny and the little window overlooked the airconditioning unit. We asked to be moved and were given 108 instead although we were warned it hadn't been updated and there was no shower in the bath. It was a lovely big, sunny room with a big bathroom (no shower) and a sea view, overlooking the lovely decking patio, so we took it instead. It was a little noisy late at night but it soon quietened down after the bar shut. The noise from the bathroom light went on far too long after being switched off and was very loud. The bed was uncomfortable and was tightly made with sheets and blankets which was novel, but these were only minor issues and some people like a hard bed! We went for a lovely walk along the prom before dinner and decided to splash out and eat in the restaurant as we didn't fancy the bar as it was big and noisy. We were told that we could have restaurant food in the bar but we prefered the quiet of the restaurant. Our very expensive meal - £50 for the 2 of us, without wine - was good and the service was friendly and prompt. HOWEVER we were not told that bar food could be eaten in the restaurant and our lovely quiet meal overlooking the beach was ruined by 2 large hen parties coming in and being placed either side of us with their jacket potatoes and ham egg and chip meals. This was a big disapointment and we hurriedly ate up and left. The Groupon voucher also included a glass of "Bubbly" each. We took our token to the bar before our meal and the barmaid took an open bottle from the chiller cabinet and after discssion with another barmaid decided it was Ok to give to us. I questioned this and was told that lots of Grouppon vouchers were used every day so the bottle was fine and wouldn't have been open long. It was awful! Not just flat but sweet and undrinkable and probably not even alcohlic. I couldn't drink mine and took it back after we had eaten and told the barmaid it was horrid. Without batting an eyelid or drawing breath she asked me if I wanted another one!! breakfast the next morning was fantastic. The food was freshly cooked and generous portions and the staff were wonderful. If we hadn't eaten in the restaurant the night before I would have given a higher rating but we were really disapointed that our quiet meal was ruined by the noisy hen parties. When finished, this will be a lovely place for a weekend break but at the moment it is trying to be all things to all people and just not quite getting it right.

Room Tip: Ask to see another room if you don't like yours and ask if there are any big parties in the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

we were going to the toby carvery just up the road, however they had an electrical fault so they were closed, someone suggested the cliff hotel, which also has a sunday carvery, i am really glad they did....... we sat down early (they start serving at 12) and nothing was too much trouble, there were a lot of us 4 adults, 4 kids and a baby, ... the seating arrangements were great plenty of room and when we got the menu it was great value.... the food was even better,,,, delicious meats (i had all 4) and the vegetables were superb, the best thing was the roast potatoes.... everything was fresh and cooked to perfection..... WELL DONE THE CHEF...
the serving staff were kind and attentive, although they were busy...
Afterwards you could take coffee on their superb new cliff top decking, with a view over the whole of gorleston, although we didnt because we run out of time and needed to head home (120 miles away).
All in all really great and will definitely be going back very shortly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank superjas9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
381 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
375 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
18.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £63 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing