We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From a wedding to a carvey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From a wedding to a carvey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My oldest daughter had her wedding and the reception in the Cliff Hotel and the bridal suite for two nights. Totally excellent. A couple of weeks later my wife and I decided to have a Sunday lunch and settled on the carver. Again totally excellent. All in all an excellent place, price not bad either. Would recommend the Cliff Hotel for all occasions.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the beach and sea are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tednorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    365
    122
    36
    23
See reviews for
208
475
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel improves every time we visit. We had a beautiful upgraded room and a good nights sleep.All the staff are professional and courteous. The food is well cooked and presented, although a little pricey. The management are spending a lot of money upgrading the property and a lot of thought has gone into the improvements.From the new veranda you can sit and watch the ships go by or go for a lovely stroll along the promenade with its beautiful fine sandy beach, or walk along the cliff tops with even better views. If you have never been it is well worth a visit. The beach is very safe for the children.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searcher_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

It seems to be catering more for throughput now, we had Sunday lunch. Staff nice, we moved tables twice, once as we initially had table right next to piano and couldn't talk, then again when a young child alongside sadly had a really extended crying and yelling tantrum, it happens...
The food was quite ok. The outside deck here is nice and maybe we will go for bar food next time which is about the level now.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel itself is brilliant, our room was clean and had a great view of the sea! However from the minute we arrived there was music playing (we got there at 3:30pm). Not sure where it was coming from but it was very loud, you could hear it over the television! There were 2 functions on which obviously you have to expect some noise but the music started again at 7:00am! Dissapointed as otherwise the hotel would have been perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyforrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Came here for a retirement 'do' with minimal expectations - it was great, good food and attentive service . Very busy with 2 functions and a full bar but meal on time and all tables served at the same time .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank franodriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We came on the Wowcher deal.
To out delight found this to be a lovely hotel. with well trained, pleasant staff.
We had nice rooms on floor 1 ( 119 and 101)
Food is available with a sea view in the bar/terrace area.
Only drawback is there is no lift . Very nice will be comming back

Room Tip: We had room 119 and 101 - both were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I met friends in the new bar area to have a meal and drinks and a catch up one early evening after work, 2 off us haven't been to the Cliff since their refurbishment of the bar and wow when we walked in what a surprise it was lovely, very modern and very different from before. We ordered our meals and when they came out how disappointed we were, my meal was not what it said on the menu, I thought I was getting bacon and I got strips/pieces and for the price they need to do a lot better, at the end of the day it was a bar meal not a posh restaurant, the prices are to high for the quality and quantity of the food. Speaking to others since it seems we weren't the only one's disappointed?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dencuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Dencuz

Thank you for your review and also thank you for listing the positives of your visit as well as the negatives.

We cater for a large amount of diners each week and as you can see from the reviews on this very site the vast majority love our offer! We are primarily a hotel at the end of the day , but welcome the visits of many local , business and leisure guests as well. We are not the cheapest venue in the area but do strive to consistently offer a quality product with great service.

With regards to the meal you had , I am assuming this was a jacket potato. I have checked prices with our nearest competitors and the Cheapest I can find is £5.50 for a plain cheese jacket. Our Jacket with bacon is £6.50. I also googled Jacket potato with cheese and Bacon and I cannot find a single image of a jacket with whole slices of bacon. All of our food is prepared fresh to order and if a guest asks for whole slices of bacon as opposed to slices/strips we will happily accommodate that request.
I do hope you will use the Cliff again because as you rightly state it is a lovely building with unrivalled views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel

Property: Cliff Hotel
Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing