We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

As soon as we arrived we were told there would be a slight wait for our room, so we went into the lounge area and waited around 20 minutes. Then we were told it was ready, so we went upstairs and the rooms was pretty standard, but very nice, and very clean, and although the view was the other side of the building, we didn't specify a sea view so we didn't expect one. We ordered breakfast up to our room each morning, and each day it was delicious, we didn't get around to eating in the restaurant though. I tend to rate a hotel by how much the little extras are, and room service was free. So happy stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpetslippers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    365
    122
    36
    23
See reviews for
208
475
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in the Bath Suite which was a fabulous room with stunning sea views and literally a massive bath in the bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and had a lovely large shower with steaming hot water. The food and service was excellent and all of the staff were very accommodating. I would recommend staying at this hotel which has recently undergone a massive refurbishment. The terrace is lovely in the sun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch on Thames, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The inland side of the hotel is being refurbished, so there is scaffolding all round the inland side. Once past the scaffolding you step back in time to a world when service was service. The ladies on reception had me booked in in very quick order and within two minutes I was in my sea view room. On the way to the room was one of my few negative comments, the time was about three in the afternoon but the detritus from the rooms make-up was still all along the corridor, old sheets, towels, last night room service trays and garbage bags. (the opposite happens at eight in the morning, all clean but still there) Now the room - superb - beautifully furnished, a huge comfortable bed, huge flat screen TV and some of the best furniture I have ever seen in a hotel - the bathroom is the same - A1. The public areas are also very good, a bar with some good real ales, plenty of seating areas including a large deck area with a sea view. I did not eat at the hotel, but from what I saw others eating, it looked good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My oldest daughter had her wedding and the reception in the Cliff Hotel and the bridal suite for two nights. Totally excellent. A couple of weeks later my wife and I decided to have a Sunday lunch and settled on the carver. Again totally excellent. All in all an excellent place, price not bad either. Would recommend the Cliff Hotel for all occasions.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the beach and sea are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tednorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel improves every time we visit. We had a beautiful upgraded room and a good nights sleep.All the staff are professional and courteous. The food is well cooked and presented, although a little pricey. The management are spending a lot of money upgrading the property and a lot of thought has gone into the improvements.From the new veranda you can sit and watch the ships go by or go for a lovely stroll along the promenade with its beautiful fine sandy beach, or walk along the cliff tops with even better views. If you have never been it is well worth a visit. The beach is very safe for the children.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searcher_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

It seems to be catering more for throughput now, we had Sunday lunch. Staff nice, we moved tables twice, once as we initially had table right next to piano and couldn't talk, then again when a young child alongside sadly had a really extended crying and yelling tantrum, it happens...
The food was quite ok. The outside deck here is nice and maybe we will go for bar food next time which is about the level now.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel itself is brilliant, our room was clean and had a great view of the sea! However from the minute we arrived there was music playing (we got there at 3:30pm). Not sure where it was coming from but it was very loud, you could hear it over the television! There were 2 functions on which obviously you have to expect some noise but the music started again at 7:00am! Dissapointed as otherwise the hotel would have been perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyforrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel

Property: Cliff Hotel
Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing