We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful start to 2014”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked a two night package starting 30th December. Arrived at about 2.30. 1st impressions were good, friendly greeting at reception and booking in very efficient. Lovely room, warm, clean and very comfortable. Everything in it you could ask for.Hit the bar, reasonably priced drinks. Had a snack lunch, then our package kicked in with scones and tea. Also included in our package was a 3 course meal,2 breakfasts, soup and sandwich lunch on New Years eve and a gala buffet and party. We had a great time, the party was great, lovely atmosphere, wonderful food all weekend. I have only one gripe, the soup and sandwich lunch, supposed to be available between 12 and 2, we went in at 1.10 and the sandwiches had run out. The staff seemed unconcerned and made no effort to produce any more. They did offer more soup, but without a roll or a bit of bread, it was not that attractive. I know other people arrived after us so they were probably disappointed as well. That was our only problem and we were very well looked after for the rest of our stay, but I believe if
you offer something then it should be available. Apart from that as I have already said our stay was perfect and we had a very enjoyable start to 2014. Would recommend this hotel and their new year package to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room it was very warm and only a tiny window to let air in. (ROOM106)If you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Only booked in for one night (B and B). Everything about this hotel was absolutely spot on. Accommodation, staff, cleanliness, comfort, and facilities.

I've spent a lot more for hotels and got a lot less in the past.

Anyone spending time in the location and surrounding area, should do themselves a favour and check this hotel out.

Room Tip: We didn't have a sea view, which wasn't a problem but I would guess this would add even more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at The Cliff for B. & B, the 23rd Dec 2013, and then the 3day Xmas package till Friday 27th Dec. The food was very good, enjoyed the carvery for Xmas day very much, although we too thought that 12.00, was a bit on the early side.
The room was very warm and spacious, the bathroom up to date and nice toiletries.
The staff were all without exception excellant, helpful and friendly.
The Cliff is situated in a lovely position, so close to beach & prom, althouggh not exactly beach weather at this time of year.
We went to the Boxing day panto at the theatre, which all of us enjoyed very much.
All in all very good value for money, would stay there again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanePowys_MidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

By far the best hotel I have stayed in, I booked the bridal suite for my partners 21st, it was perfect, the staff were really nice and the service they gave was top notch, I would definitely class this as a 5 star. Thankyou for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaileyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel fab, overlooking the sea, went for a walk along the beach and was lucky enough to watch the charity swim on new years day. Well done to all the swimmers.
Now to the hotel,, on arrival receptionist didn't tell us what was happening that night and she didn't know what time breakfast was. This we had to find out ourselves later.. was a bit fed up to find out we couldn't attend the buffet meal as apparently they tried to phone me but b'cos I didn't answer they didn't try again, we got some food from the local Chinese which was lovely. Breakfast was good, filling and served quickly, with great views of the sea.
Deluxe room nice on the eye, tho needed attention in parts, such as hole in the wall, bulb missing, scuff marks on skirting, extraction fan disgusting, a few random hairs in the bathroom and a broken loose tile. Areas around the hotel still need updating, part of the carpet had tape holding it together near reception. Bar lovely with a fantastic decking area overlooking the cliffs. Most staff nice and attentive apart from a barman who was obviously supervising in the main bar, couldn't even crack a smile when we thanked him. Disco in the evening was good, drinks reasonable, all in all was a good stay as the location you can't fault. As good as a premier inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmericaHolidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went here on a deal & paid a bit extra for the sea view which overlooked the patio area but in the winter this was not a problem - may have been noisy in the summer though.We didn't like the main bar as we found part of it very dark & the other part like a canteen but the other bar was not open. The room was very hot even with no heating & the TV reception was poor. Having said that, the location was great with a short walk to the sandy beach & again in the summer would be fabulous. We have stayed in better hotels than this one.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very nice...Staff excellent...Bit disappointed that we had to queue for carvery on Christmas Day when we thought 5 course meal would be served at table as we were staying for the 3 nights...Also after having breakfast about 8.30 we thought 12 midday was a bit early to have Christmas Lunch...Lots of people thought the same...Christine and Anthony

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine_B_12186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing