We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good value for accomodation”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and good value for accomodation”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We booked for two night break with a computer offer and were pleased to find that we had been a located a well decorated and very clean doubleroom with ensuite.The room was well equipped with good large tv and some tea and coffee facilities.Bed was comfortable but would confirm as another review that pillows are soft and felt like sleeping with my head in a marshmallow.As this was a budget break we found restaurant prices a little high but some good menu choices and prices if we ate in the bar[£10 pp).All meals we experience were excellent and in particular the breakfast which was served by polite and helpful staff.We will be going back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
dear Roberty F
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
we are currently sourcing an alternative pillow choice to keep ALL our valued guests happy!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    379
    126
    37
    23
See reviews for
217
491
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Called in on Sunday for a drink and light lunch after a very windy walk along the beach. Very welcoming staff. Light lunch available as well as Sunday Carvery. All reasonably priced. The view from the bar is fantastic. Plenty of seating outside for enjoying the sunshine in better weather. Even a children's play area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
dear Jane L
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

we LOVE getting positive feedback from our guest who mostly love the Cliff offering!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights for business. I have mixed feelings re this hotel. The breakfasts were really nice and fresh - no complaints for this at all.we had dinner here for two nights and the second one was a bit of a disaster. The night before we were told that the cod had been replaced by salmon but on the second night we asked if the cod was back on and we were assures it was. Twenty minutes after placing the order we were informed that there was no cod. They didn't even take anything off the bill and our wait for the meal was just over an hour as our colleague had to reorder. The rooms were ok and clean. Must admit I was disappointed as the reviews were on the whole very positive

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Denise M

Thank you for your review and taking the time to list the positives to your stay as well as the negatives..

My apologies for the Cod.. our delivery that day was not deemed good enough to be used .... we have very exacting standards with our offering and will not pass on an inferior product to our guests...this was unfortunately the same on the next day... obviously the salmon is a more expensive replacement for the cod but we would rather this than serve you a less than perfect meal.... it all to easy to offer discounts when there is an issue and unfortunately now live in a culture where it is becoming expected to offer money off at the drop of a hat , we believe it better to upgrade the offer where possible
we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

£57.00 sunday night room deal. Excellent value including breakfast. Stayed in room 110 first floor with sea view. Very large room with high ceilings and good sea view. The shower over the bath quite dangerous to use(to get in and out of the bath - high sides, need long arms to reach over to get hold of shower attachment. All was OK until the room above became occupied. It was just like being in the same room. TV, voices, foot steps awful!
Having check with reception staff there seems to be few rooms without some kind of noise.
Second/top floor rooms seem to be the only ones(two flights of stairs,no lift). Second flight quite steep. Rooms over the function room are OK if no functions on. No guarantee.
Had the cheese board in the bar as we had already eaten elsewhere in the day. When busy the bar is very noisy and quite deafening the l'acoustics are really bad! There is a smaller bar but this was closed when we were there.
The breakfast was off a very good standard and good serving/attentive serving staff.
This is a nice hotel looking over the beach and if you are OK about noise a good place to stay.
I have rated this room as average due to shower and noise. The standard of the room decor is very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing from start to finish. We stayed in room 115 bath suite. We walked in and we were speechless . The super king size bed, the roll top bath in the bedroom, the amazing views of the sea it was just perfect. Staff including the chamber maids were polite, friendly and everything you could ask for. We dined on Saturday night and had the steak which was one of the best I had tasted . It was out of season and I would love to see this hotel on the new terrace on a summer evening. I would advise booking the bath suite. Only down side is the pillows ! They were far to soft for my liking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alexhanson225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
dear alexhanson225

Heaven - great praise indeed and much appreciated!

thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

we are currently sourcing an alternative pillow stock to cater for all our guests tastes!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Gorleston is a fascinating little place and this hotel is perched on a small 'cliff' overlooking a beautifully sandy beach and also a shipping lane into Gorleston harbour, which makes the frequent shipping movements very interesting to watch. The hotel undoubtedly offers great value for money and the B&B element was super. The rooms are generally well appointed and modern. Breakfast was superb - anything you could want, all freshly cooked. We ate in the hotel on a Friday night - the restaurant was all but deserted which meant it lacked some atmosphere, but Ben our waiter really looked after us well. The food was good and great value - starters and main 'by popular demand' but the desserts were exceptional in presentation and taste. We could not understand why it wasn't busier. The bar, however, was heaving with locals there until 1am before they head to the local night club - so worth avoiding rooms near the bar if you want a quieter night. The bar area itself is well appointed and I can imagine in summer quite a special place to be with super views. The remaining communal areas of the hotel lacked a certain finesse but I have to say all the staff were really service oriented and very nice. A great bolt hole for those exploring the area. The bed was amazingly comfortable - with super duvets and pillows - all you want for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view if possible. If you want a quiet night at the weekend avoid those rooms ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
dear Amanda C
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

the bar does get busy but we take this as a compliment to the service we provide ! if its busy its normally busy because its good!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited for my Daughters 18th Birthday, service was outstanding, receptionist were very helpful and couldn't do enough to assist.
Bar team were great, with excellent speedy service and were really friendly. Would definitely recommend this venue to any visitors to the Norfolk coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
dear wendy k
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

the cliff IS lovely in the summer! so pop in ,say hello on a warm summers day ,enjoy a nice bottle of wine and enjoy!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
340 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Property: The Cliff Hotel
Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing