We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant Hotel”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Large hotel, I would think Victorian and has been re-furbished to a very high standard.Staff all very friendly and polite. We had a room with sea view which was very clean,and nice modern decor. The shower room spotless with lovely large clean white towels ! Tea making facilities. Very warm throughout the hotel. Went for a look around in the morning after they had a large party and it was spotless, the whole place.
The beach was sandy and huge, no litter, It went on for miles. The prom too has had a face lift; more than I can say about the town centre! I can recommend having a look at Gorlestons' sea front and stay at The Cliff Hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of room have a Sea views and balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments! The team love it when we get positive feedback like this , we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

stayed overnight for a family party. Good ambiance and facilities, room comfortable and well appointed. Lovely view out to see from the front and stunning nearby beach. Breakfast was really good and cooked to order. See later comments re rooms

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms 127 and 128. We arrived after dark and left after breakfast so the fact that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D0c61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had lunch with a friend in the new bar area. Table had just been wiped but was still sticky. Only wanted a snack so ordered salmon sandwiches. The bread was dry and the salmon was tasteless.
Carpet in foyer area is grubby and frayed and the ladies toilets are in real need of a spruce up.
This hotel was transformed when the present owner bought it and had the vision to invest in a new bar and terrace. It is such a shame to see the rest of the hotel look so tired.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank srw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear srw59
Thank you for your review and taking the time to list the positives of your visit as well as the all important constructive feedback!

We have invested a great deal in the company/hotel since we took ownership of what was a rather tired old seaside hotel... all the bedrooms have been refurbished and the hallways , the new bar, the new terrace including electric roof , an outside kitchen and a kiddies play area ! we have just transformed the front of the hotel and are now moving on to the next phase of a quite extensive improvement plan. This includes a whole new reception and lobby - yes they are tired (but clean!) ... and this will bring these areas kicking and screaming in to the 21st century! we are also revamping the new bar with new tables and a spruce up of the décor.. this is an extremely busy area of the hotel and is in use constantly so there is a lot of wear and tear! ladies toilet spruce up has actually just started so will be finished within the next week! We also start work on an update to our Function room early march so exciting times are ahead! very soon the whole hotel will have been refurbished ..just in time to start again!

With regards to your food ...we only use the best suppliers in the area ..you will have noticed the bread is high quality bloomer not pre sliced "supermarket" loaf ...if you have any problems please speak to us at the time we ALWAYS strive for 100% customer satisfaction and will address any problems immediately!
we look forward to seeing you again in the future and reading about your noticed improvements on the ever wonderful Trip Advisor site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited here 2 weeks ago for my uncles wedding. The view from the modern bar area was fantastic - sea views with a lovely new terrace. The food was very tasty and the staff were welcoming. A lovely venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TreBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear TreBec

thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked for two night break with a computer offer and were pleased to find that we had been a located a well decorated and very clean doubleroom with ensuite.The room was well equipped with good large tv and some tea and coffee facilities.Bed was comfortable but would confirm as another review that pillows are soft and felt like sleeping with my head in a marshmallow.As this was a budget break we found restaurant prices a little high but some good menu choices and prices if we ate in the bar[£10 pp).All meals we experience were excellent and in particular the breakfast which was served by polite and helpful staff.We will be going back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear Roberty F
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
we are currently sourcing an alternative pillow choice to keep ALL our valued guests happy!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Called in on Sunday for a drink and light lunch after a very windy walk along the beach. Very welcoming staff. Light lunch available as well as Sunday Carvery. All reasonably priced. The view from the bar is fantastic. Plenty of seating outside for enjoying the sunshine in better weather. Even a children's play area.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear Jane L
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

we LOVE getting positive feedback from our guest who mostly love the Cliff offering!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights for business. I have mixed feelings re this hotel. The breakfasts were really nice and fresh - no complaints for this at all.we had dinner here for two nights and the second one was a bit of a disaster. The night before we were told that the cod had been replaced by salmon but on the second night we asked if the cod was back on and we were assures it was. Twenty minutes after placing the order we were informed that there was no cod. They didn't even take anything off the bill and our wait for the meal was just over an hour as our colleague had to reorder. The rooms were ok and clean. Must admit I was disappointed as the reviews were on the whole very positive

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Denise M

Thank you for your review and taking the time to list the positives to your stay as well as the negatives..

My apologies for the Cod.. our delivery that day was not deemed good enough to be used .... we have very exacting standards with our offering and will not pass on an inferior product to our guests...this was unfortunately the same on the next day... obviously the salmon is a more expensive replacement for the cod but we would rather this than serve you a less than perfect meal.... it all to easy to offer discounts when there is an issue and unfortunately now live in a culture where it is becoming expected to offer money off at the drop of a hat , we believe it better to upgrade the offer where possible
we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing