We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel.”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We arrived on 22nd Feb 2014 for 2 nights b&b, , we booked through wowcher and there was no extra costs for the week-end. The room was one of the smallest delux rooms but we were very satisfied for the money that we paid. If i returned i would upgrade to a sea view room. The breakfast were lovely (slow waitresses on the first morning), but very enjoyable and a wide selection including fresh kippers, salmon and scrambled eggs all cooked to perfection. there is a beach right on the door step, and only a short drive into Great Yarmouth. We went on a pub crawl and managed to find 7 pubs in the area (some distance apart). We would return to this hotel but in the warmer weather, excellent staff, Thank you for an enjoyable stay..

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolharbon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Carolharbon30
Hopefully we WILL see you again when the weather is warmer! that's when the Cliff really comes into its own!

Thank you so much for your kind comments! The team love it when we get positive feedback like this , we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here one night only (Saturday) Sea view Room was ok. Bathroom ok lounge areas ok
That's my point about this hotel , things were nearly so good but ended up just ok. There was a function on and until after 9 there were lots of kids running around making lots of noise. Guess that's what kids do but not sure I want to pay good money to listen to it.
Went into a lovely quite lounge with nice armchairs and lots of lovely table lamps to sit by and read"...............except none worked , all the bulbs faulty. Frustrating. The bar areas were busy and a lively atmosphere but again noisy , maybe poor acoustics .
There has obviously been a great deal of money spent here to bring the hotel into the 21st century and most of it has been done well. The problem for me really is that compared to years ago it's now very corporate and impersonal. No warmth from staff. Polite yes but no feeling of knowing who u are or interest from the staff towards you.
If you like nice fixtures and fittings and a great location it's perfect for you.
For me it was a little "cold"

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Tombanellie

Thank you for your review all feedback is greatly appreciated and acted upon. apologies for the lamps this was not actually faulty bulbs but a circuit breaker that had tripped- a flick of a switch and problem sorted. Again apologies that you found the children that were with us that day annoying... we are a family hotel and in as such we have even installed a children's play area to the hotel , but as you say kids will be kids. I do find your comments regarding the staff surprising though.. The Cliff is regularly praised for its staff - on this very site you will find many , many comments with praise for the team at the Cliff!

we look forward to seeing you again at the Cliff and hopefully next time you will find your stay Great instead of ok...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Large hotel, I would think Victorian and has been re-furbished to a very high standard.Staff all very friendly and polite. We had a room with sea view which was very clean,and nice modern decor. The shower room spotless with lovely large clean white towels ! Tea making facilities. Very warm throughout the hotel. Went for a look around in the morning after they had a large party and it was spotless, the whole place.
The beach was sandy and huge, no litter, It went on for miles. The prom too has had a face lift; more than I can say about the town centre! I can recommend having a look at Gorlestons' sea front and stay at The Cliff Hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of room have a Sea views and balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments! The team love it when we get positive feedback like this , we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

stayed overnight for a family party. Good ambiance and facilities, room comfortable and well appointed. Lovely view out to see from the front and stunning nearby beach. Breakfast was really good and cooked to order. See later comments re rooms

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms 127 and 128. We arrived after dark and left after breakfast so the fact that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D0c61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had lunch with a friend in the new bar area. Table had just been wiped but was still sticky. Only wanted a snack so ordered salmon sandwiches. The bread was dry and the salmon was tasteless.
Carpet in foyer area is grubby and frayed and the ladies toilets are in real need of a spruce up.
This hotel was transformed when the present owner bought it and had the vision to invest in a new bar and terrace. It is such a shame to see the rest of the hotel look so tired.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank srw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear srw59
Thank you for your review and taking the time to list the positives of your visit as well as the all important constructive feedback!

We have invested a great deal in the company/hotel since we took ownership of what was a rather tired old seaside hotel... all the bedrooms have been refurbished and the hallways , the new bar, the new terrace including electric roof , an outside kitchen and a kiddies play area ! we have just transformed the front of the hotel and are now moving on to the next phase of a quite extensive improvement plan. This includes a whole new reception and lobby - yes they are tired (but clean!) ... and this will bring these areas kicking and screaming in to the 21st century! we are also revamping the new bar with new tables and a spruce up of the décor.. this is an extremely busy area of the hotel and is in use constantly so there is a lot of wear and tear! ladies toilet spruce up has actually just started so will be finished within the next week! We also start work on an update to our Function room early march so exciting times are ahead! very soon the whole hotel will have been refurbished ..just in time to start again!

With regards to your food ...we only use the best suppliers in the area ..you will have noticed the bread is high quality bloomer not pre sliced "supermarket" loaf ...if you have any problems please speak to us at the time we ALWAYS strive for 100% customer satisfaction and will address any problems immediately!
we look forward to seeing you again in the future and reading about your noticed improvements on the ever wonderful Trip Advisor site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited here 2 weeks ago for my uncles wedding. The view from the modern bar area was fantastic - sea views with a lovely new terrace. The food was very tasty and the staff were welcoming. A lovely venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TreBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear TreBec

thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked for two night break with a computer offer and were pleased to find that we had been a located a well decorated and very clean doubleroom with ensuite.The room was well equipped with good large tv and some tea and coffee facilities.Bed was comfortable but would confirm as another review that pillows are soft and felt like sleeping with my head in a marshmallow.As this was a budget break we found restaurant prices a little high but some good menu choices and prices if we ate in the bar[£10 pp).All meals we experience were excellent and in particular the breakfast which was served by polite and helpful staff.We will be going back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

dear Roberty F
thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
we are currently sourcing an alternative pillow choice to keep ALL our valued guests happy!

keep your eyes open for our new food offering and pending improvements to The Cliff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
389 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
600 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £62 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing