We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - comfortable room and great breakfast”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here recently even though we live in the area, we were attending a show (Bruno Mars and Olly Murrs tribute) and we could have a drink without worrying about driving home. The show itself was excellent - so well organised and couldn't have been a better night if it was the real thing. We had a bar snack before the show which was very nice and some very nice wine throughout the evening. We retired to bed shortly after midnight to a very comfortable room on the top floor with a very nice sea view, the bed was huge and we both slept well, a very nice breakfast with excellent service in the morning - 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear TrishBlack

thank you so much for your review - the team really appreciate good feedback , there is nothing we enjoy more than being recognised for a job well done ,it keeps us motivated!

I am so glad that you had such a great stay!

Keep your eye on our facebook/website page for info on all our upcoming events ...there's lots happening ...and maybe you can coincide another great stay at the Cliff with a future event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
There are newer reviews for The Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent a lovely Sunday afternoon here in April, the carvery was exceptional value at £6.95 per adult. The food was delicious. We found all the staff to be very friendly and the balloon man was great with the kids showing them how to make their own balloon models and all for free. This hotel is in a lovely position with great views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank louroo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Louroo 13

thank you for your kind words

we love Sundays at the Cliff and always strive to provide the best quality offer at the best possible price for our guests (and we love the free balloons as well!)

Sundays are just about to get even better as we have free live music on the terrace every Sunday afternoon during the summer and this kicks off next Sunday

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Cliff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a lovely hotel,very clean and welcoming to all.
We stayed in the Bath Suite, how relaxing to sit in a huge roll top bath in the middle of the room, watching TV, sea views too!
We will be booking to go back later this year and will always book this room now!
Breakfast was top quality, salmon and scrambled eggs, a real treat for us!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Gillian2008

Thank you for your fantastic review!

We love it at the Cliff when our guests take time to let us know when we have got it right !

we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We go back to norfolk a couple of times a year and have stayed at the cliff hotel previously. Must say the rooms have improved , the food is very good excellent breakfast choice and the location fab for that early morning walk or run along the cliff top.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Phillip W

I am glad that you have enjoyed the improvements we have made to this lovely hotel , thank you for your positive review , knowing we are moving in the right direction makes all the hard work worthwhile... and we totally agree with you about location , we never tire of the views along the beach and coast from our terrace

look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently had a very pleasant stay in the Cliff Hotel. The bedroom was large, clean and comfortable and the bed was huge, with big soft pillows. The room and en-suite bathroom looked as if they had recently been refurbished. There was a broken tile on the (newly-tiled?) bathroom floor but this didn't affect us particularly. There was a slight issue with privacy because the bedroom window overlooked the car park and the window didn't have a net curtain. This meant that anyone in the car park could see straight into the room unless we drew the main curtains.

The public areas of the hotel, such as the lobby and dining room are very pleasant and the large outside terrace was a real asset on a warm day.

As regards meals, the hot breakfast is cooked to order and was nicely-presented and tasty, though it did involve a bit of a wait. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening because the menu for the main restaurant was a little pricey. There is a cheaper bar menu but on the evening we were there, the bar was very busy and noisy, with a lot of (presumably non-resident) visitors so we decided to go elsewhere. There is a smaller residents' bar but it wasn't open.

We enjoyed our stay at the Cliff Hotel and would be happy to go again.

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar area are apparently noisy in the evening. Probably best to avoid them.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Queenie 1948

thank you for your great review!

for future stays please be aware that you are more than welcome to eat from any of our extensive menus in any of the dining areas at the Cliff.. so if you would like the bar menu in the restaurant that is no problem whatsoever!

we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Why did we go back again, was it the sea views from a comfortable bedroom, was it the excellent food, the chef's chocolate nemesis was devine, was it the brilliant service, perhaps it was just all of these making a good relaxing stay again. Thanks to Daryn Ferguson the General Manager for telling us about the exciting developments which are happening in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Beverly G

Thank you for your great review ... there is nothing better than a guest that visits us regularly!

it gives us a great chance to build a proper relationship (many of our guests are more like friends than guests now) and most importantly if you are returning to us we know you like what we are doing in the first place!

we genuinely look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel, about 2 years ago, It was being updated.
The food was really good.
The Terrace area is fantastic, we went last summer and will make a
point of going back there to eat in the summer months

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie804428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Jackie804428

thank you for your lovely review!

we love the terrace too! you must pop back during the summer as this is when the terrace comes in to its own! im glad you enjoyed your food and had such a nice time

see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
355 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing