We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch Treat - Well done!”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had not visited for a while and had certainly not seen the significant update of the facilities, especially the new verandah overlooking the beach. The lunch was fresh, meat cooked excellently and the attention to detail was second to none. And it was £6.95 (yes no typo!). We got a free bottle of wine as part of their Facebook campaign - no cheap plonk either, a decent Merlot. The service was excellent too - friendly and professional. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel but the rooms look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodiedrinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Foodiedrinkie,

your username for the trip advisor page leads me to believe that we have just received high praise indeed! we look forward to seeing you again soon!.. glad you enjoyed the wine (it is an exceptional merlot ;) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here on a Wowcher deal. Whilst Gorleston itself isn't anything to write home about, the hotel, which has recently been refurbished, was very good. The staff were helpful, the hotel had been decorated to a high standard, as had the rooms, the bar was spacious and the verandah...! It is huge, built out on legs over the slope that leads down to the beach road. It is covered, with glass panels as walls which shelter you from the worst of any wind. And you look out over what I think is one of the best beaches I have seen in this country. A vast expanse of fine, golden sand probably 200 yards wide and stretching virtually to Lowestoft down the coast. The sea doesn't come in all that far so the sand is there come low or high tide.
The only slight moan I would have is that the deal included 'Afternoon tea' on the first day which sounds lovely: a nice pot of tea and a cake or two. However we only got the tea (admittedly it was in the afternoon). A little disappointing but not enough to spoil what is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Holties

thank you for your glowing review.. we are lucky enough to command some of the best views in the area which adds great value to what we believe to be the premier hotel in the area!

apologies about the afternoon tea -( if you could let the hotel know what actually happened I would appreciate it) . next time you stay your afternoon tea is on me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After our first experience at the Cliff, we decided to give it another try this week, we booked a table for 9 , age range was 80 -2 years old, therefore we need a table. For 4.oo - 4.30 we were advised we wouldn't,t be able to order burgers or steaks , no problem we thought, drinks were ordered. And we sat ready to enjoy our evening. On the reading the menu we then find we could not order , starters, mains or anything off the grill menu. Which left us with very little scope. Two of our party had panini , two had spaghetti bolognaise and two had Ham,egg and chips, the eggs were obviously quite old and not at all fresh, the children also had pasta. Very disappointing. The staff in the bar were quite attentive and again slightly embarrassed at the wait and the variety available. Needless to say, unless the management reconsider this rather strange offering at a time when young children are able to attend family gatherings we will not be giving The Cliff a third chance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Caistergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Caistergirl1

thank you for your review,
we value all feedback positive or not .. this gives us the opportunity to address any short falls in our offer.
So sorry for the confusion with your meal with us, and I am glad you have fed back on trip advisor your thoughts and concerns. I took off my managers hat and put on a customers one.. the menu we had in place was not clear enough to guests and staff alike as to our offering , so with this in mind I have had new menus printed , clearly stating which dishes are not available all day. I am pleased to say that out of 61 items only 10 are not available all day , these are now clearly highlighted on the new menu, the children's offering is available all day , we also have daily specials and within the next two weeks our outside kitchen re-opens for the summer which will add freshly made pizza and extra grill dishes to an already extensive menu. Any guest can enjoy a three course meal, if they wish , all the way through service time!
With regards to the "old eggs" , we have deliveries 6 days a week (sometimes 7!) , we are luckily busy enough that NO food is with us for any length of time.. it's all fresh -freshly cooked and freshly delivered so please rest assured you will never be served any "old" food at the Cliff!
I hope this re-assures you that we DO listen and at the end of the day ...it makes us happy.... to make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times on business. Nice rooms, probably a bit hot in the summer. Food is sensibly priced and more than ample. Car parking can be a challenge. The first floor rooms are better. Liane, the bar supervisor is excellent, GSOH.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank riggorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Riggorz

thank you for your review , it is always nice for the team to see praise from the guests for the hard work they do! (and they do work very hard!)
Lianne was very excited by her mention in your review and the good news is you earnt her a drink!!
we look forward to seeing you again soon at the cliff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Would just like to say thankyou to the cliff hotel and daryn for letting me use the hotel to show my garments in a photoshoot for my ucs university course... I will definatly recommend this hotel to other students.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Tina F

our pleasure .. we always like to help out the local community where we can and are glad we have been of service to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed there as a couple 2/3 May 2013, and had a very enjoyable stay. Nice location, friendly staff, comfortable room if a bit small, but adequate for the length of stay.

There seems to be shows most weekend, Friday was a Pink tribute act and Saturday night was a hypnotist. Didn't go to either as was out but the shows seems well supported and good and was held in a separate function room with a bar and no disturbance at all, though then the car park gets quite full.

Overall a nice hotel, excellent value, breakfast good choice, didn't have dinners there but looked nice on the menu, and the bar was busy and well served. good outside terrace that in summer will be excellent, good views of the beaches just down the stairs.

wil go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear OzT

Thank you for your great review , I am glad you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon ( maybe you will get a chance to attend one of our great shows!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

By accident we arrived here to our daughter being taken desperately ill on holiday and in hospital, 170 miles from our homes. We were on the second floor , with a good view of sea and harbour. Very comfortable room, enormous bed and everything to keep us happy. We had dinner one night there, which was very good and reasonably priced and the breakfasts were equally excellent, though service was a little slow because each meal was individually cooked. This is the first hotel I have been in for sometime which did not do a buffet breakfast. The bar and lounge were unique in as much they were on the cliff edge and had a huge outdoor semi conservatory, not completely enclosed ,but with a roof. The beach down below, and to the south contains pure golden sand and goes for miles. This is the North Sea ,so I cannot speak for water temperature. All in all a very nice place to stay, if you are on the Norfolk Coast

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank simonbjofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Simonbjofsurrey

thank you for your great review , I am glad we were of service to you at a very traumatic time , I hope your daughter is well now and look forward to seeing you again under more pleasurable circumstances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
374 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
370 reviews
3.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £61 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing