We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good night”
Review of Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a good night”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Easy to park and booking in was one of the swiftest I have ever encountered. My room 208 was very well appointed and very comfortable. the only issue was the shower which had a life of its own and was hard to stop the shower head from moving. the bar was popular and a happy place to eat and drink. There is a very large professionally deck area which was covered but could be uncovered. This is a gem for smokers. The food was good and well presented. If you wanted there are many bars and restaurants within 200 yards. Breakfast was nicely cooked to order. The only grip with breakfast was a large pressurized flask which you used to get tea from, I feel that a pot would be far superior. Overall a good stay and would return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear brianwNorthants

thank you for the lovely review! The team love it when customers take time to review us (especially when they contain so much praise!) .

I've looked at the breakfast coffee issue you highlighted and ....... I agree! nice coffee pots on order as we speak so thank you for the feedback , we do listen and it's the little details that our guests point out to us that help us constantly improve.

(the maintenance man is sorting the shower head as well !)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    375
    124
    37
    23
See reviews for
213
487
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great service and good food. I spent two weeks here on business and enjoyed my stay. The staff are very attentive, professional and friendly without being obtrusive. The food is good although not particularly varied (probably because I was here for 2 weeks and tried most things more than once) The quality is good and the portion sizes plenty. Breakfast was consistently excellent and the breakfast staff were very good indeed. I would stay here again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Tim_Moore

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at the Cliff Hotel!
It's not often that business men have the time to review so we really do appreciate it! I am glad the team kept you happy during your stay and we are introducing more specials to keep our long stay customers happy! your feedback really does matter to us so thank you once again!

We look forward to seeing you again soon ( maybe for pleasure instead of business!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time we'd been to The Cliff. We decided to visit after seeing pics of the outside terrace area on Facebook, which looked very nice. We arrived just before noon. We sat in the bar area (which was v pleasant and comfortable). Within half an hour the place was very busy (you could tell just by the noise level) which for a Monday which is usually a quiet day was pretty good. I ordered scampi and chips with a mixed leaf side salad, my sister ordered the sausage and mash. It did not take long for the food to arrive, the presentation was excellent, really enjoyed it. Desert was just as good - creme brulee for me and panna cotta for my sister, finished off with coffee.

All very impressive. We went outside on the terrace so I could smoke after the meal, and it would have been lovely to sit there had it have been warmer. The roof had been put on the terrace (the FB pic shows it without). All in all a really nice establishment and we will definitely go back. I would recommend it to my friends :-) Staff were really nice and friendly too.

Room Tip: Did not stay so can't write about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Joanne B
Thank you for your review!

I am glad you enjoyed your visit enough to take time to give us such a glowing review!

We are lucky that we are so popular with residents and locals alike , we are very proud of our food offering and it is high praise to the chef team that we have so many repeat customers!

The terrace is the jewel in our crown , the electronic roof is a fantastic addition to the terrace and means that the terrace is great even when the weather isn't!( although I have to hide the remote control as the team like playing with it!)

we look forward to seeing you again very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This has to be a first for me!! I cannot fault this hotel in any way! An absolutely fab stay! We had a stunning room. We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food was lovely and the service was excellent. The breakfast was faultless! I can't find enough words actually...!

Room Tip: A sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoatsElgin_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear GoatsElgin_Scotland

WOW what a stunning review , thank you so much for your high praise! I looked at your other reviews and it is great that we rate so highly with you (im actually looking at the Hotel in Hurgahda you stayed at for a family holiday so thanks for the tip :) ).
It is important that we get it right for every guest and the team love it when we find out that their hard work is so appreciated!

we genuinely look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My sister and i decided to take my dad for a high tea afternoon lunch, my sister had 2 young ones which were happy to play in the fun area that was safe and not too far away from wher we were sitting, the service was amazing they were so friendly and professional and food came very quickly!! It was gorgeous food and a beautiful sunny day!! All i can say is thanku cliff hotel!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gemzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear gemzie8

Thank you for your lovely review , I am so glad you had a nice time and that you enjoyed your high tea, this is a popular choice at the Cliff Hotel so it is nice to know you (and the little ones) enjoyed it!

we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What can I say other than perfect !!
The staff the food the value was second to none !!!
Most enjoyable weekend home from home the bar was well priced the food was the best I've had in a long time and the manager Darren made us feel like part of the great family of staff they have. Thanks to all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear PaulShoe

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so glad you had a great time. You made quite an impression with the team here who enjoyed your company very much!

we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had our wedding reception at the cliff hotel and can not recommend it enough! The service was excellent, all staff were helpful, polite & professional. The food was fantastic, and all in all they helped to make our special day perfect :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sjtp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Sjtp1

Thank you for your lovely review.

It was an absolute privilege to be a part of your special day. A lovely couple with a lovely family!

I look forward to seeing you again soon , don't be strangers and give us a call when you celebrate your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel

Property: Cliff Hotel
Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing