We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of The Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a long weekend. Lovely room and food. Terrace very busy Friday/Saturday night,good company. Quiet bar for residents if required. Staff brilliant,very friendly. Good beer,Adnams and a good choice of ciders. Had steak two night in a row,both cooked to perfection.Recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Sea view a bit extra,go on treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank turnleftatthedoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear turnleftatthedoor

thank you for the glowing review , I am especially glad you enjoyed the Fri/sat on the terrace! The terrace is beautiful , the jewel in our crown! It does get busy and we are lucky enough to have very nice customers ,as you experienced ,which makes for a great vibrant atmosphere!
I will pass your comments on to the chefs who work very hard to provide probably the area's best offering!

Introduce your self when you are next here and maybe we can have an Adnams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and both bar and restaurant food with a spacious heated terrace overlooking the harbour entrance. Good range of local beers.
Everything is up to the highest standard and The Cliff would put many a more famous and multi-starred hotel in much more glamorous places to shame. A credit to the staff and management.

Room Tip: If you can get a room looking out to sea you can watch vessels sailing in and out of Yarmouth harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Trevor G

Thank you so much for the review!

I love the fact you think we rate so highly against famous and higher AA star rated hotels!
Sometimes independent hotels get "overlooked" against the branded hotels which is a shame , because as you saw for yourself we work just as hard to ensure our guests are happy!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My family members had their wedding reception here and it was amazing! I never stayed in the hotel overnight but my time there was outstanding! Very reasonable prices and extremely nice food! I would recommend to everyone! The views are amazing and lovely terrace area especially in the sun :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jcw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jcw01

Thank you for the lovely review!
We enjoyed hosting your family's wedding almost as much as you enjoyed attending it!

You were all , without exception , lovely guests and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The wedding organizer was superb, catered for us and made our day surreal, worked with and around everyone and gave us the most amazing experience. Manager was extremely helpful, very good communication between us all and gave us a service never shown at other venues. The staff are extremely tidy and helpful and the food was cooked to perfection by an also very polite and well organized chef. I have no negatives about this beautifully set hotel which has a bar or setting to suit every guest that attended. We can only thank you for an amazing day.
Rob and Jessica Thomson

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rj07072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Rob and Jessica,

it was an honour to host your wedding , we are glad that your day was extra special , you have a lovely family and we hope you that you remember the Cliff hotel for your first Anniversary!

Best of luck for the future from all of us at the Cliff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having stayed at the Cliff Hotel on many occasions, we are always guaranteed a perfect stay where the room is modern, very clean and spacious. The staff are always very friendly and more than helpful. Food is excellent every time. The hotel is very well managed by Daryn Ferguson who is always on hand should you ever need him.
With our experience at the Cliff Hotel we had no doubt that holding a wedding ceremony, the wedding reception and the evening there was going to make the day extra special. Absolutely superb on the whole day. Food was fantastic, decoration was perfect so all in all will be recommending to everyone!
An absolute must for if your nearby for a stay, dinner or cocktails on the terrace!

Well done The Cliff Hotel, very pleased!

Room Tip: Sea view if your lucky enough to get one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear AnthonyC,

Thank you for the glowing review , and it is nice that so many of your party have aken time to review their experience at the Cliff.

It is great praise indeed that a regular hotel guest has chosen our venue to host such a special occasion.

We look forward to seeing you all again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Only staying for one night ( sadly ), food was absolutely fabulous. Had the lamb and it was cooked to perfection and served very professionally. Wheel done all involved !

Staff were very polite and looked after us very well.

Room Tip: Second floor sea view rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Peter W

Thank you for the great review!

I am so glad that you had a great stay and thank you for the kind words about our food offering.
Our chefs work incredibly hard (and long hours!) to ensure that all of our dishes are stunning and love to receive positive feedback such as yours!

It is a shame that you could only stay for one night and hope that now you have discovered the Cliff you can find time to visit us again (maybe for a bit longer !?)

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came to The Cliff Hotel to celebrate my grandparents 60th Anniversary. The service was amazing - I made enquires prior to our visit and they were very accommodating with this special event. The service on the day and food was excellent and we would highly recommend this hotel. Sharon was our waitress on the day and she could not do more than enough to ensure we had a great time. My grandparents loved it and we will be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wintick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHotelManager, General Manager at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Wintick,

Thank you for the great review !
It is great for us to be able to help guests enjoy such special occasions and very nice when you take time to review us afterwards!

Sharon is a great member of the team , and ,although we may be a little biased , one of the nicest young ladies you could meet! A real asset for us and thank you for mentioning her personally I know she will appreciate it a lot!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
389 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
600 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel

Address: Cliff Hill, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £62 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Cliff Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing