We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end away”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harbour
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at the Harbour Hotel on a get away week end & what a lovely stay. The owner & his wife such friendly hosts nothing is to much trouble, spotless room over looking the harbour entrance wonderfully ironed bed sheets. Very good breakfast menu, close to the beach etc etc.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: Room no 5 it over looks the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour_Gorleston, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thanks for the nice review. By the way - it's room 4 that overlooks the harbour ! We hope you'll come back again when next you visit the area. Many thanks and we enjoyed the conversation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This has been our third stay at The Harbour Hotel Gorleston on Sea.

In an ideal position, just a short walk away from Gorlestons beautiful Sandy Beach,
Harbour Hotel is the perfect place to stay.

Within easy reach of many attractions, including Oulton Broad and Somerleyton House
The Harbour is a brilliant choice to make your base.

You can start your day with a hearty Breakfast (from a fantastic selection on offer)

When it comes to making you welcome, nobody does it better than Vince and Aurelia
You could not wish to meet two nicer people.

Over three stays nothing's been too much trouble, it really is that good.

I wish them all the best and look forward to staying with them again.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour_Gorleston, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! It really gave us such a boost!
If we rated guests, you'd be 5 out of 5 !! :-)
We hope you know that you are always welcome at The Harbour.
Our best wishes to you all, and we hope that those who couldn't make it this year are fully recovered, and we look forward to seeing you here again.
Vince & Aura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great service, so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Clean rooms and a great choice at breakfast. Super location only a minute from a super beach. Great value for money. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour_Gorleston, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Can't believe we didn't respond to your excellent review sooner !
Anyway, we're trying to catch up and let all of our guests know how much we value them.
Thank you for your continuing support..
It's really great to have guests come back, and it's really great when they are such nice people !
(you get 5 out of 5 on our trip advisor guest rating) !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

three of us went for a long weekend,at short notice at the harbour hotel, and we are pleased we did, as vince and aura made us very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful.the bedrooms and facilities were clean and comfortable ,there was a good choice for breakfast and a evening meal on request.the hotel has great views and is a good base for sightseeing.we'll be coming back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilnor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vini007, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We do hope to see you again when you next visit Gorleston. We're glad you stayed with us! All the best to you, Vince & Aura!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Going to the Harbour Hotel was like a home from home; we had 2 rooms and both were large rooms which were very clean with all the equipment you'd expect to have. The owners, Vin and Aura were both very welcoming and friendly and they made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The quality of the food was amazing, the smoked herring for breakfast is a MUST. Vin and Aura couldn't do enough and always checked if we wanted evening meals and if so giving us options on times. This hotel is real value for money. It is a very short walk to the beautiful beach at Gorleston and Gorleston itself is a beautiful, clean, english seaside town. We will definitely visit again and would recommend this to anyone whether you're travelling alone, as a couple or a family. Thank you so much Vin and Aura!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have a beautiful view and are lovely and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vini007, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you back in September!! Vince & Aura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed three nights at the Harbour and we would have stayed longer but our trip had to continue,Vince and Aura will really look after you and make you feel very welcome ,We stayed B&B ,but you can make arrangements for an evening meal on request.
Once again I would have no reservations about reviewing this hotel for a short break or maybe longer I do not think you will be dissappointed.

Room Tip: when booking do as I did and ask what rooms are available , then make your mind up as to your own re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Amazing place, clean and tidy. The owners have offered great service and value for money. The view and the beach is within walking distance of this place! Great value for money. Would definitely come back again with my family.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smuzzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gorleston-on-Sea
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Address: 20 Pavilion Road, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £54 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour in Gorleston-on-Sea near Great Yarmouth is just a short level walk from the beautiful Gorleston beach. Our bar looks out over boats coming in and out of the harbour and rooms to the front have a waterfront harbour view. Superbly situated for the Broads, Norfolk and Suffolk coastline, with all the attractions of Great Yarmouth nearby, Gorleston-on-Sea is an unspoilt hidden gem, ideal for families, couples, and those wanting a beautiful beach on your doorstep, plenty to do nearby but just that bit quieter and more relaxed. The Harbour has the added interest of boats chugging past the window.Under new management, we have ten rooms consisting of doubles and family rooms, all with tea/coffee making facilities with a large family bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing