We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant Hotel, Friendly Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pier Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Pier Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant Hotel, Friendly Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

We wanted a mid-week break to chill and explore the area of Norfolk, we chose this hotel on the strength of various reviews. We cannot understand the negative comments! we certainly found the hotel very clean, warm, friendly and shared good banter with the family at the bar.
We will definetly recommend The Pier Hotel for holiday and buisiness trips.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, refurbished to a high standard, excellant food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spirepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    79
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
68
147
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

we have just had a short break at this hotel for the second time. We returned because of the great location, right on the beach and although there was snow when we arrived we still loved to walk along it. If the weather is hot and you like to lay on the beach, could not be better. Have read a few reviews with regards to the 'rude staff'. Yes the guy on reception could be a litle tidier in apperance and wasn't the best I have come accross, but all we wanted to do was book in and that's what we did. The young girl serving breakfast could not be more polite and helpful, the breakfast is great again with a lovely view of the beach. The first time we stayed the room was quite small but this time we had a bigger room and bigger bed. The room could be a little cold but heaters are provided should you want extra. The room is clean and the bathroom is new and very clean. We will certainly be going back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — check in staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiffy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

This hotel gave us the worst customer service I have EVER recieved. When we arrived, the owners son sat at reception explaining to a female customer that she wouldn't be allowed to drink a pint at the bar, as the hotel will only serve women lager in halves!

When he finally got roung to greeting us, he was the rudest man I have EVER met in my life: cocky, arrogant and downright offensive. He challenged my mother-in-laws booking and when my sister-in-law stepped in to help he was so rude and confrontational that he made her cry. He then went on to tell us 'It's my hotel, I don't have to let you stay here.'

Unfortunately as we were there for a wedding, we really didn't have any other option and he only got ruder as the night when on.

I could say a lot more about this hotel, but all I will say is DON'T STAY HERE. I certainly wouldn't pay again to be offended and upset.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything, but mainly the very rude man who thought he was great!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LucyRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

I frequently stay at The Pier on business, most recently having stayed for 2 months. The best thing about this hotel is that the owners and staff make you feel like family. They are warm and friendly people and interesting characters all. Many a good laugh had in the bar chatting and telling stories. It's what makes this place so special.

The rooms are cozy and very clean. If you are needing anything extra don't hesitate to ask. If they can do something for you, they will if at all possible. They really take personal care of you at this hotel.

Free internet is nice, especially since other hotels charge an arm and a leg for it. The food is awesome! They don't skimp on the portions, that's for sure! And you can stroll on the beach right outside to walk off your meal. It's a nice area, safe, quiet and relaxing.

I certainly miss everyone back at the Pier. Can't wait for my next visit!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and owners
  • Disliked — I gained weight...they don't skimp on the meal portions!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

I had an excellent experience in the Pier hotel over the period of about 7 months where I worked locally in the area. I had previously stayed in a couple of other local hotels, which frankly, didn’t have a patch on The Pier. When spending so much time away from home, feeling welcome with good food and friendly people is essential. The owners and staff always greet you with a smile and treat you like part of the family, and when dining in the same place most nights due to being tired the food was always perfect.

The rooms are tidy and well decorated and when you require something a little extra someone was always willing to assist. Carrying out business across the country requires little extras and they are provided here, FREE wireless Internet access and sky TV when you cant be bothered doing much else is great.

A stay well worth the money and location is perfect for the beach and various other activities; my only regret is I will not be here in the summer to sit out on the esplanade with a cold beer!!

  • Liked — Staff and food
  • Disliked — working in the area
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank widgetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2006

On the plus side location is very good and breakfast was great.

Down side... Owners were intimidating and made us feel very uncomfortable, bed was small

Think very carefully before booking - I do not belive all the 5* ratings, this is the worst 'hotel' I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Jodykensalrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2005

We visit many hotels in race towns. Just returned from The Pier. Our Room 15 was delightful. The breakfasts were the best we have enjoyed for a long time. (including some 5 star!) Very attentive staff.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Racegoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Property: The Pier Hotel
Address: South Pier, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing