We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a funeral. On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were very helpful. We were not sure of the way to the crematorium and the reception staff member, instantly printed off an excellent map for us. They were very busy at the time as well.
We had a seaview room with an excellent view of the fabulous beach and sea. Couldn't fault the room at all.
The wake was held here and the staff were yet again excellent. Everything was perfect.
The breakfast in the morning was probably the best we had ever had in an hotel. Perfect!.
All in all, our stay was very, very good. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had room 205. Excellent seaview and we didn't experience any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyupminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in room 304, it was fantastic, the bathroom was great.
Staff so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast, everything you could want, cooked to perfection.
Will stay again,
Sea view.
Food was a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie804428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were travelling from Yorkshire to Suffolk and booked the Pier Hotel to break the trip. Well how clever were we??? Situated right on a sandy beach as well as the harbour entrance, plenty of location here!
The room was on the first floor and quiet away from the patrons down stairs. While not large it was adequate and the bathroom was modern and all very clean.
The hotel is very well patronised by locals as well the recently renovated rooms are in demand. There is a restaurant as well as bar area for dinning. If the hotel does not suit there are other restaurant choices nearby. The breakfast was basic and cooked to order.
Not sure what else there might be to attract one to Gorleston or Yarmouth but the Pier Hotel has to be considered as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theredman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great hotel, fantastic location, super attentive staff and good food. Adjacent beach is excellent. Have recommended to many friends & family and will definitely return at the earliest opportunity. Can only assume any negative reviews on here are posted by folk with ulterior motives?! Really is very good - recently refurbed rooms would compare favourably with many 5 star hotels. Well done to the friendly owners and staff - a credit to the hotel - keep up the good work, we're looking forward to seeing you all again soon. The Pier hotel Gorleston, in my opinion, 'peerless'. Go on, book it, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Sunrise Suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Pier is outstanding by virtue of being the main building on the pier! But regarding the quality of the experience, we also found that outstanding. We have eaten there before, but needed accommodation for a couple of nights to have a family function. The rates were better than another estblishment. Our sea view room was excellent; the staff were very helpful; breakfasts well organised (including genuinely vegetarian yoghurts). They were also quite happy for us to leave our car in their car park while we caught the bus into Yarmouth to do some sightseeing. The one dinner we had was well prepared and served, although more than one vegetarian option would have been nice. Overall a good hotel, we think.

Room Tip: We picked a sea-view room. Not a big premium, but well worth it. From the third floor we were on we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumbersideSmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has the best location in the Norfolk area. Right on the beach and the sea is clear for swimming and the sand is golden. The view from the premier room on the second floor was amazing. Breakfast on the baclony was excellent and the little extra touches the hotel did made it all worthwhile. The food in the bar is great and the staff are realy friendly and service is quick. Could not fault anything and will be going back as soon as we can. Don't choose any other hotel.... this is the one, I pondered for over a year before booking but am so glad I did.

Room Tip: The premier room on the second floor is the only one with a balcony and is well worth the extra few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in a few hotels in Norfolk with my partner we thought the pier would be an excellent choice due to the location and great views, but we were let down. It seemed quite unclean with sand over the seats which wasnt something we wanted to sit on and it did take a while for us to be served even though it wasnt even busy. When it got busier in the evenings we found the bar area to be very cramped to stand in and walk through due to how small the width is. It would help if there wasnt tables in the middle... In the outside area the chairs were pretty all over the place with parasols fallen over which wasnt a good look, that could have been due to the weather though. It was also quite dark sitting in the bar area which wasnt good when it was so sunny and bright outside. On the upside the food was good and we definately weren't disappointed with that. Unsure whether it would be somewhere we would return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lolacheese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,088 reviews
2.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
574 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
422 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Address: South Pier, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing