We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great welcome from the staff, then shown to a great comfortable room.
Burgers from the menu were fantastic and the service was very quick and polite.
I have stayed here a couple of times and the rooms are of a high quality. Bar staff very friendly and helpful especially Laura, Charlotte,Albert and Bob the night porter. I would recommend anyone visiting the area to come and experience the warm welcome themselves. #Fantastic

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for just a night passing through, on spec, in late July. We would have stayed 2 if we could but the room we liked was booked.

First , service was excellent. We emailed whilst on the road to ask about rooms, price etc, and the Pier was the only hotel to respond within 12 hours (!!). In fact they got back so quickly (6 mins) that we'd basically done the deal on a room before we drove up. But they still let us see the room as work out if it worked for us. All the staff seemed really responsive, but a special word for Karen who was super.

We had the suite on the first floor, which was a really modern refurbed 2 room job, with a large bathroom, and (thank god in the weather) aircon. The bonus was the balcony which overlooked the beach - it was really nice (I will try to put up a pic). There was an adjoining double too, which we would've had but it was booked, but the staff immediately set about installing 3 folding kids beds, which fitted in easily given the room size. And all before normal check in time. None of that having to wait nonsense.

Location won't be for everyone. It suited us on a quick pass through for a couple of nights, near the beach which our kids loved. And an amusement arcade not far away too where our daughter spent an hour playing games for tickets! The beach is surprisingly good and you can access it, road free, direct from the back of the hotel which is great with small children.

Food was decent enough, though nothing special. There was a car park, and we always had a spot, though whether we would at peak times (we were the week before state school hols) I don't know.

We'd come here again, for the right room, because of the service.

Room Tip: The Suite was fab, and not too pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawyerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wanted to rake wife and daughter to the beach for a few days and using tripadviser booked this.

Very happy with choice.

Situated right on the beech which was great. Hotel is fine, we only ate for breakfast and that was good.

We had the family room which was ok and most of the rooms have been refurbished and look good.

Room Tip: Any that overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Cannot review the hotel but the restaurant was terrible. Food was poor, service was average.
I had lasgne which tasted like a frozen value pack from a cheap supermarket.
The 'bread basket' consisted of 2 slices of plain white bread

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here on a Friday & Saturday to celebrate my husband's birthday in early June. The Hotel is in an excellent position overlooking the wonderful Gorleston Beach on one side and the River Yare on the other. It's quite a small hotel with an even smaller car park, I think there is 1 space per room but this doesn't allow for other diners and visitors to the pub.
Fortunately there is free on-street parking outside.
The Hotel is being refurbished and if our room is anything to go by they are doing a brilliant job, it was decorated with an art deco feel and the doors/wardrobes were walnut-faced. The bathroom was totally 21st century though with a great walk-in shower (no bath). The only complaint I have is that the seaview was rather obstructed by the artificial hedge just outside the (lovely) bay windows.
Being so small and given its age there is no lift and all rooms are on upper floors so if you can't cope with stairs this isn't the place for you.
All the staff were really helpful & friendly especially the ladies on reception who had to keep reprgramming our door cards.
The restaurant dinner menu is excellent and our dining experience on the Friday was wonderful, fast service, lovely food and a nice relaxed atmosphere. It seemed that many local people eat in the restaurant on special occasions due to the menu.
Breakfast was a bit of a let down, rather old-school seaside hotel, small packs of cereal and tinned grapefruit. However the cooked food was okay, my husband enjoyed the smoked haddock.
Dinner on the Saturday night wasn't so enjoyable. The restaurant shares the same space as the bar, it's only separated by tall screens so if the bar is noisy so is the restaurant. So much so that it was impossible to enjoy a quiet meal for 2. The bar and the restaurant also share a kitchen and on this busiy Saturday they were obviously struggling, we had to wait an unacceptable length of time for our food which didn't seem to have been as well cooked as the previous night. Part of my main course was also forgotten and brought out separately.
Our room was on the 1st floor immediately above the bar so we suffered a lot of noise from the bar coming up through the floor as well as from the room above due to the very creaky floorboards. If you're a light sleeper you may have problems, I'd suggest asking for a room at the top of the building.
We left the Pier Hotel feeling a bit disappointed, potentially we should have had a lovely time but it didn't quite work. Although it calls itself an Hotel it seems more like a pub with rooms.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview, some on the 2nd floor have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ladytraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Top stuff. Excellent reception, fantastic rooms and restaurant. The food is top quality and your'e right on the beach. The locals are friendly if a little mad, but the whole experience is fantastic. Plus if you book direct with the hotel you save dollar.

Room Tip: book direct and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an 18 bedroom hotel overlooking both river and sea. My father has been coming here almost twice weekly for years and I get why.

I was on a business trip in ipswich and decided to visit The pier hotel, booked a room at late notice, arrived 9.30pm, friendly, helpful staff, check in service.

I arrived on a Saturday night, there was a function on but generally the area outside the hotel was nicely active and busy. No trouble.

Single rooms have rooms have river views, is a busy freight type harbour but I liked this. Room was well furnished, nice work desk.

Other restaurants nearby if you want something different. Gorleston beach is very sandy, very nice and there are decent flat wide pathways to walk along the front.

Breakfast was really good value, fruit could have been in better shape but overall, quality of smoked haddock for breakfast was excellent.

After check in in was permitted to leave my luggage and collect later that day. Overall very impressed, good value and will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,113 reviews
2 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
376 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
3 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Address: South Pier, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing