We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pier Hotel - A hotel with a WOW factor of 10”
Review of The Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
dp0833dp
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Pier Hotel - A hotel with a WOW factor of 10”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

This Hotel has everything one could ask for, clean rooms, uniquely decorated, great service, on site parking and family owned. The hotel is within a 2 hour train ride of London, since we traveled during the off season the beach was not really our 1st choice, but the hotel offered a quiet haven from our travels of the English country side.
The pub has great food and a wonderful atmosphere. If you are up late at night you can have a nightcap in the pub and the proprietor may even join you and regale you with stories regarding his exploits and travels of the 5 continents he has lived and worked on.

You know when you think of a warm sunny awesome vacations you usually don't think of England as a hot spot, but you may have to rethink this idea. This Hotel over looks the water and has a wonderful veranda area, public room for large gatherings (Weddings, social events etc) as well as beautiful views from some of the rooms. All this hotel will need is warm weather and this hotel will be unstoppable book early cause it will be sold out FAST in the warm months.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tusr437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    85
    28
    17
    12
See reviews for
73
157
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Arrived to friendly happy staff, the room had an amazing view of Gorleston Beach, very clean everything that we needed. Have stayed here before but the new owners have now made it a pleasure to stay. Food was fantastic, a great choice, well presented and served with a smile. Nothing to much trouble just how you want to be treated whilst away from home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maci13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Hotel in an excellent position, spoiled by lack of attention to details. Asked when I booked if I wanted a bath or shower, I opted for bath - got a shower. It looked smart but it was impossible to get more than a deluge of cold water- perhaps it was the stiff and complicated controls as there was tap hot water? No tooth mugs or towel rails- the lovely thick towels had been put on the comfortable bed, but then what? 6 lights, 3 worked, bedside lamp too dim to read by, great beach view obscured by thick cream net curtains and a dirty window. There is no lift and the stairs are steep. Really good English breakfast, but oddly coffee was served at the table then you had to go down some stairs to add milk to the cup from a jug there- toast was served, but again down the stairs to fetch your butter: the waitress seemed to think it odd that this was not obvious.

Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

A bit of confusion as we had booked through another party and the new owners had cancelled the contract. But they managed to provide us with a room. Great place away from the crowds and they cook a good meal and provide a good breakfast.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We wanted a mid-week break to chill and explore the area of Norfolk, we chose this hotel on the strength of various reviews. We cannot understand the negative comments! we certainly found the hotel very clean, warm, friendly and shared good banter with the family at the bar.
We will definetly recommend The Pier Hotel for holiday and buisiness trips.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, refurbished to a high standard, excellant food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spirepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

we have just had a short break at this hotel for the second time. We returned because of the great location, right on the beach and although there was snow when we arrived we still loved to walk along it. If the weather is hot and you like to lay on the beach, could not be better. Have read a few reviews with regards to the 'rude staff'. Yes the guy on reception could be a litle tidier in apperance and wasn't the best I have come accross, but all we wanted to do was book in and that's what we did. The young girl serving breakfast could not be more polite and helpful, the breakfast is great again with a lovely view of the beach. The first time we stayed the room was quite small but this time we had a bigger room and bigger bed. The room could be a little cold but heaters are provided should you want extra. The room is clean and the bathroom is new and very clean. We will certainly be going back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — check in staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiffy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

This hotel gave us the worst customer service I have EVER recieved. When we arrived, the owners son sat at reception explaining to a female customer that she wouldn't be allowed to drink a pint at the bar, as the hotel will only serve women lager in halves!

When he finally got roung to greeting us, he was the rudest man I have EVER met in my life: cocky, arrogant and downright offensive. He challenged my mother-in-laws booking and when my sister-in-law stepped in to help he was so rude and confrontational that he made her cry. He then went on to tell us 'It's my hotel, I don't have to let you stay here.'

Unfortunately as we were there for a wedding, we really didn't have any other option and he only got ruder as the night when on.

I could say a lot more about this hotel, but all I will say is DON'T STAY HERE. I certainly wouldn't pay again to be offended and upset.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything, but mainly the very rude man who thought he was great!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LucyRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,045 reviews
2.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Property: The Pier Hotel
Address: South Pier, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing