We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tremblay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Haute Manceliere
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed, with 2 other families, in les chouettes the largest of the gites a week ago and it was great, having everything you could need for a stay with small children. Before we even arrived Susan (the lovely owner) was just brilliant - being 3 families with 4 children (3 toddlers & an 8 month old) we had lots of requirements for different sleeping arrangements and Susan fulfilled them all with both wooden & travel cots and a bed with a bed guard. Every room was set up just as we'd asked and Susan even bought a large travel cot for our daughter as I was worried she would be too big for a normal sized one- fantastic! The gite has stair gates, highchairs, baby seats, playmats and so many toys and books, it really was brilliant for the children.

The gite itself is lovely and was roomy enough for all of us with a private terrace area with large dining table and a barbecue. From here you can see the lovely grounds with swimming pool, large trampoline and swings and slide. In addition Susan also catered for us on 2 evenings with a 4 course meal which was very tasty and great for us with small kids as we could relax & enjoy a lovely meal when the children were asleep.

The gite is also in a very good location - we visited Dinan, Dinard, Saint Malo, Mont St Michel and Fougeres during our week stay and also had a fantastic meal at the nearby La Maison Neuve, recommended by Susan where not only was the food delicious but the children could see rabbits, pigs & chickens.

A great place to stay, we all highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for La Haute Manceliere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

All the ingredients for a great family break. The gite was equipped with everything we needed for a peaceful, relaxing family holiday. A lot of thought must have gone in to providing family-friendly items. The very large garden is filled with things to keep little ones (and big ones) happy and entertained. We particularly enjoyed the pool with retractable roof, and our four year old loved the boules. There is plenty to explore nearby, made easier to achieve thanks to the comprehensive file provided in the gite with all the information you need to plan activities, and Susan is always willing to make reservations. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knackersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A fabulous set-up - a home away from home with all the children's kit we could need, fantastic garden, covered swimming pool, Sky, broadband and most importantly, comfortable beds! We had a wonderful stay despite the weather and will definitely be back again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our party consisted of my wife and I along with our daughter and her husband and their 3 year old daughter. Booking was simple and payment easy and the journey from the tunnel at Calais was no problem at all. Susan is as charming as she is efficient and she has thought of everything so that the accommodation rivals our own back home. The heated swimming pool was a joy and young children are spoilt for choice with the array of swings, slides and of course the very popular trampoline. There are bikes of all sizes provided for the guests. The weather by and large was fine and one evening we made use the barbi, sitting out until10.00pm when it was still light and warm. For my part I enjoyed the evenings watching the Euro 2012 football matches as the cottages are able to get UK TV channels - bonus.

There are plenty of places to visit and the coast at St Malo about 60 minutes away boasts of some long excellent beaches.

This is the place to visit if you have young children or are just a couple with a grown up family. Our grandaughter was never bored and the adults had a wonderful relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was our second visit to the cottages and we stayed in the smaller 4 bed gite. Even though the weather was dull for much of the week we had a fabulous time. Susan was as accommodating as ever and the surrounding area has loads to do. The cottages are well equipped and the pool this year was up to 28 degrees thanks to the cover. All in all another excellent weeks stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAS73Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Another brilliant week at La Haute Manceliere.
Weather pretty disappointing although it did nothing to dampen our fun or spoil the holiday.
We are a large family group who get together once a year and La Haute Manceliere fulfils everyone's individual requirements.
It's always notable each year the number of newly redecorated rooms there are, maintaining an extremely high standard throughout.
Sue, the owner, was fantastically helpful before we even arrived, organising a great car hire deal from SuperU (yes, the supermarket!!) for one of our group.
Only 51 weeks to go till we're back!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank GinetteMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We,( my wife and two older sisters) spent nearly a week in La Haute Manceliere.
We enjoyed the very warm welcome of Susan, and were very happy with the cake and the bottle of wine, as everything was closed the day of our arrival.
Never had such a complete equipped house, with firm furniture.(excellent beds)
The place is very quiet, and a few miles away from the nearest village.
The most interesting places are in a reach of max. 1/2 hour by car, while you can enjoy the beautiful landscape.
We certainly will come back.
Thanks Susan for the nice stay at your place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miscontentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Haute Manceliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Manceliere

Address: 35460 Tremblay, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Tremblay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tremblay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the countryside, in the peaceful hamlet of La Haute Mancelière, the three cottages are part of a 17th century Breton longhouse which has been tastefully converted, retaining many of the traditional features. Sleeping 4, 6 and 12 people, the houses also benefit from a large heated pool and magnificent garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing