We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day, amazing tour with Miwa”

The Backstreet Guides
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in Shinagawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want to see the real Tokyo and Kyoto? Then hire one of our private tour guides or join one of our group tours. Friendly, personable and passionate local guides and custom designed itineraries from local experts who really care. Be a part of Tokyo or Kyoto, not just a tourist.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I had booked a week long vacation in Tokyo - we decided that for one day, we would enlist the help of the Backstreet Guides to show us around.
We arranged a private tour, really focused around food, a little culture, and some shopping.

It was the best day of our vacation. Our guide, Miwa was absolutely wonderful. She was so helpful and truly made our tour so enjoyable.

Our only regret was not having booked a second tour with Miwa but we already had confirmed plans for the remainder of our week.

When we come back to Tokyo we will visit more of Tokyo with Miwa... thank you for our day.

2  Thank Sgratts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello Tokyo explorers! Thank you so much for joining us in Tokyo and it pleases all of us to hear you enjoyed your day with Miwa and even more that it was the best day of your vacation. It is actually one of the most common things people say to us, I wish I had booked another day! If you ever make it back here then you can have another day with us, we would love to meet you again! Kind regards from all in Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private tour"
in 45 reviews
"tokyo tour"
in 38 reviews
"day tour"
in 39 reviews
"maki"
in 18 reviews
"fish market"
in 33 reviews
"walking tour"
in 25 reviews
"group tour"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 20 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 10 reviews
"great company"
in 6 reviews
"tokyo life"
in 5 reviews
"great introduction"
in 9 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 5 reviews
"personal tour"
in 4 reviews
"noodles"
in 8 reviews
"tokyo metro system"
in 4 reviews
Filter

232 - 236 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

we had an amazing day spent with mikiko. i highly recommend backstreet guides for a first day in tokyo, to get the lay of the land and see some of the highlighted areas of this fantastic city. and owen was great to work with online, to organize the day for us. thank you!

Thank mqsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Konnichiwa Japan explorers! A big thank you to you for writing your comments here, we really appreciate hearing from our customers. I am glad you all enjoyed your day with Mikiko and hopefully you got a little taster of Japan and will be back for more some time! Hope everything is going well with your move back to the U.S.A. Arigatou gozaimasu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Our decision in selecting Backstreet Guides was the best made in visiting Tokyo. Owen was very prompt in replying our emails and he tailor made our itinerary based on our interest. We had young boys with us and thus, had to mix the places to suit their energy as well. Owen even booked the Robot Restaurant for us. We really appreciate it!!

Miwa, was our guide for 3 days and she was very flexible and the timing to Hakone and Tsukiji Fish Market was superbly managed. The sushi restaurant near the fish market was a heaven...i became a fan of sushi. It was truly nice and delicious. She recommended chicken dumplings as well which was awesome. She was friendly to both my boys and patient with our slow pace touring with my elderly mom. She also sketched trains number and direction for us since we stayed at Ambassador Disney Hotel on our first day of tour. Her assistance was much appreciated. She also brought us to see the Honda robot show and the Nature Science Museum to see the dinosaurs exhibition on time. Thank you Miwa.

Rie,on the other hand was our guide to Kamakura. She was good in entertaining my eldest son who was chatty all the way and answered to all our questions pleasantly and patiently. She brought us to a good traditional restaurant at Kamakura which we enjoyed a lot and also to good souvenier shops. She even helped to negotiate the price. Thank you Rie.

Both Miwa and Rie made our trip in Tokyo an unforgetable moments!! A sweet memory indeed.

3  Thank LOGESHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello Tokyo explorers! It is so nice to hear from you and thank you very much for commenting on your days spent with us here in Japan. I am so happy to hear you took away sweet memories of our city and of our 2 guides. I hope you all enjoyed the robot show, not easily forgotten! We hope that one day you might visit us again as there is always more to see here. Best wishes from all of us in Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We only had 2 days in Tokyo and did not want to waste time trying to find our way around so we decided to book 2 private tours with Backstreet guides (4 people in our group). The first was as day tour with Mikiko which was great as she whisked us around the city and sights with ease, the second tour was an evening with Rie who showed us Tokyo by night. Both tours were brilliant and we all really enjoyed ourselves. The planning, organisation, booking, payment, communications, itinerary suggestions and the execution were all 1st rate.

We would highly recommend Backstreet Guides to anybody who is visiting Tokyo.

4  Thank Hinton55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Konnichiwa Tokyo explorers! A very large thank you to you for joining us here in Japan and for writing this review. I am so happy to hear that the team helped you to make the most of your short stay and give you a feel for what this city is about. I think you got it right by choosing to take a day and a night tour with us, the whole city takes on a different feel after the sun has gone down. You are welcome back here any time. Arigatou gozaimasu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We did 2 tours, one of Tokyo and another in Kamakura. Both tours were excellent and Rei was very knowledgeable and took us everywhere. It was especially helpful since we learned how to use the subway and we visited many places which we would not known about if we ventured out on our own. We went back to many places after the Tokyo city tour by ourselves and since we had already been there, it was easier to travel to, and we could take our time. Rei was great, she was very patience, friendly, and answered all our questions. She helped us look for a specific toy my niece wanted, and we were able to find it. I would highly recommend Backstreet Guides, especially if you've never been to Tokyo before.

3  Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Tokyo visitors! Thank you so much for spending the time to review your experience with us and of course thank you for booking with The Backstreet Guides. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your 2 days with Rie, one in the city and one exploring Kamakura. I hope that you might visit Tokyo again one day and I really do hope that your niece enjoyed her Tokyo toy! Kindest regards from Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Backstreet Guides also viewed

 

Been to The Backstreet Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing