We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annoying hidden costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Annoying hidden costs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel as we had an early flight. The website does not state the shuttle is 5 euros per person each way so for the two of us an additional 20 euros.they also don't state that wifi is 6 euro per person for 24 hr block. Unless you join the intercontinental group which from this year is free wifi.

You had to pay extra for tv which seems to be a german hotel thing and is highly annoying considering the cost of rooms.
The room itself was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and started at 4am which was perfect for us. We had dinner and it was quick and easy, not that you had any choice other than the hotel restaurant as it would cost you 20 euro to get to and from the airport restaurants.

I was really annoyed at check in with all the extra charges, they make it seem like a convenient and affordable location. I would prefer all costs were clear upfront.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Tracy M,

Thank you very much for taking time to give an explanation about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
First of all I like to say thank you for the feedback given on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you have been informed not very well by the homepage. We will check the page if there is an improvement of information is possible.
I would appreciate welcoming you again here in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    369
    263
    70
    31
See reviews for
227
238
77
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've stayed here each year for the past 3 years before flying out of Munich early in the morning. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from the airport. It is clean and simple. They have a shuttle for 5 Euros pp, one way. Parking was 8 Euros with in/out privileges. The bar is small, but has the necessary items. The breakfast is also simple, but adequate. My take is that it is appropriately priced for the value. If you need a full service hotel, expect a huge breakfast spread, or lavish rooms, this is not your place. If you need a clean, efficient place to stay before flying out of Munich, you have found it. My only comment for improvement is an upgraded mattress. Staff was helpful in securing extra pillows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffinCBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear jeffinCBF,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give some detailed information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am very happy that you stay every year with us and that you are always enjoying your stay here in the hotel.
Thank you again and I would appreciate to welcome you next year in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melito di Napoli, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stay in this hotel with my family for 1 night : very rude & unhelpfull staff at the reception & bar , very small rooms , terrible breakfast. the only positive is close to the airport but in the same area you can find other hotels . Not value for money !!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higuain125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Higuain12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a statement regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am very sorry that you have not been able to enjoy your stay at our hotel.
Furthermore I would be very interested in some more details about the things happened so that we are able to improve our service.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to give me some further information.
I would appreciate to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport to give us the possibility to show us from our best side.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oberding hotels

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My dad and I stayed overnight,as our flight arrived in at night making it too late to continue to Austria by train the next morning. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and despite being next to the runway was remarkably quiet. There is a shuttle service available to/from the airport from both terminals at the airport, which costs €5 per person each way (children travel for free).

The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet from 4am until 10am- which is perfect for those catching early morning flights or wish to take a long lie after arriving in late at night! Staff are very friendly.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who requires to stay overnight at Munich Airport

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Simone M,

Thank you very much for giving a feedback to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am happy to hear that you have been enjoying your stay and that everything went fine for you.

It would be very nice welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
341 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Not too close to the airport (10 minutes away by car), but along the landing path, so pretty loud during airport hours.

Typical HIEx....new, simple. Efficient checkin, clean, functional rooms. Rooms on road side were loud if you tried to sleep with the window open (My room was a ridiculous oven, so I had no choice) as cars, buses, trucks go by with regularity on this busy back road. I stayed a couple days later and had a room on the back of the hotel facing a field that was nice and quiet.

Free wireless for platinum members for multiple devices, free parking for platinum as well. Breakfast is mostly rolls, cereal, yogurt, cold cuts. No other hot food.

I don't like HIEx, overall, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear biztrav123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

It was a nightmare! Definitely will not stay at any of the Holiday Inn Express in the future.
Girl at the reception was prompt at service, I didnt spent much time at the check in. The nightmare started right after check in. I been allocated at the corner room at basement, and part of the hotel is having renovation NEXT to my room. I dont understand how can a reputable hotel arrange a room to your guest when you already know the big renovation is ongoing..Its okay I'm Asian, used of discrimanation especially in Germany. What do you expect me to do? sleep?? Or rest with unbeatable cracking noise? I call reception and request them to stop the work. It was 7pm already.

Next thing, I went for dinner at hotel restaurant. Guess what? For a simple pasta, they made me to wait for 1 HOUR!!!! One hour such a precious for business traveller. If im sitting at city restaurants with crowds I can understand of waiting hour but not with 7 other guests only.
I only ate 10% of the pasta as I cant force myself to finish lousy food been served by reputable hotel. Its totally unacceptable.

I knew I cant sleep well tonight for sure..im too upset to forget what had happen today!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geniusneenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Geniusneenee,

Thank you for taking time to explain the circumstances happened to you during your stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am really sorry to hear that you had such a bad stay with us. This sounds absolutely not like the service we are normally used to provide.
I would like to talk about this detailed with you why I am asking you to contact me directly: Thomas.nau@fmhos.com.
I would appreciate hearing of you soon and remain sincerely,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a lovely Holiday Inn express. All the same as you would expect but the staff really are exceptional. Very helpful with WiFi etc and just seemed very happy to help.

The shuttle bus to the airport cost €5 if you are not an IHG Plat but its very efficient and runs from 4am when I needed to take my flight. Also, they start breakfast at 4am which is very sensible for an airport hotel - I wish others would do the same!

A taxi from the airport cost me €15

Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: You are near the runway so ask for a room not facing it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Marraming,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us such a nice feedback of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
Thank you for the nice words you found regarding our staff which makes them very happy and gives power keeping on giving the best possible service to our guests.

I am hoping to welcome you again for the next time in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberding
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#35 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
0.5 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
0.5 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#2 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Address: Freisinger Str. 94, 85445, Oberding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel is ideally located near the Business Park Hallbergmoos and a mere 4km from Munich International Airport (MUC) - a 5 minute drive with the recommended hotel shuttle service (charge 8 per room / max 2 adults, 2 kids).The hotel is a convenient location for guests visiting Munichs international exhibition centre Neue Messe München (ICM) as it is accessible by car within 45 minutes.It offers 150 modern non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms equipped with flat screen tv and a variety of international channels, high speed Wifi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Are you booked on an early flight? The extensive cold buffet breakfast is available from 04 a.m. It is complimentary for all guests.The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel provides a full service bar with 50inch flat screen tv, a comfortable lounge area and air conditioning as well as high speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.With the business executive in mind, our exceptional conference facilities accommodate between 2-60 persons and benefit from natural daylight and high ceilings. Hot & cold buffet lunches are available to our conference guests in the lounge area.On-site car parking with 120 lots and direct access to the hotel is available for your convenience. All bedrooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel Schwaig
Holiday Inn Express Schwaig
Holiday Inn Schwaig
Schwaig Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing