We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel near the lake in the calm place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Lac de Madine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What was good:
Calm place, near the lake. Comfortable and clean room, although not very big, but for two people is enough. We took a room in the anex, and it is good choice, as it had a garden and the inside parking, so you can place your car just near the room window. All in all, it is good choice if you looking for the outskirt place to stay. We stayed one night without breakfast.

What was bad:
The WIFI internet was working, but you need to re-register every hour. I suggest to use the fake data to re-register, because it does not validated.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the annex building they have a terrace and nice yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank progys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thank you very much for your nice compliment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel in september 2012. We arrived a little late at 21.30, but the kitchen still served us with a very good meal from the menu. The friendly reception including some guidance to get there in the dark and the rain. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom and equipped with all the necessary implements one needs. Good beds.
Breakfast was a large buffet of food, fruit and drink. One could boil ones own egg, toast your own bread and enjoy all the nice titbits that were spread out.
The atmosphere is pleasant, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the interior of the hotel fairly traditional. The Drapier family will do it's best to make one comfortable.
The hotel is situated in a quiet village with nice surroundings and ofcourse the Lac de Madine. If one is interested in watersports, walking and relaxing, there seems to be enough to do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Thank you for your nice message !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night during a sunny weekend in September. The welcome is warm and pleasant. The hotel is run by a French family and they truely are very hospitable all while knowing how to keep enough distance for guests who prefer to have privacy and rest. The decoration of the hotel is traditional French. The rooms are small so you might consider getting one of the more pricey rooms if this is an issue. Also some rooms are located in a separate building (refered to as the 'annexe' which is about a five minute walk away from the hotel. We got lucky and were upgraded to one of the higher category rooms in the hotel itself. Our room .looked out over buildings at the back. Don't expect any views at the back even though what you look out over isn't necessarily unpleasant accompanied as it is by some cozily cackling chickens and crowing roosters. The room also came with a small but adequate balcony so that you could savour some fresh air. The bath room of the superior rooms are equiped with what is described as a bath 'balnéotherapie'. For those travelers who are used to spending their vacations in spas and resorts the encounter with this 'balneotherapie' bath may be a bit disappointing. It does however do some basic jacuzzi stuff. We ate dinner al fresco on the terrace at the front of the hotel and ordered a la carte. While waiting we got a little amuse-bouch of mousse of tuna which was nice. The starters were equally good consisting of terrine of rabbit with foie gras served with a bit of mirabelle compote. As main courses we got an (overcooked, dry) filet of pike with sorrel sauce and potatoes and on the other plate arrived a fillet of (correctly cooked) pike perch served with a pinot noir sauce and mashed potatoes. We accompanied the meal with a crisp Alsatian Riesling. Rounding off, we got tempted by dessert and got an 'a volonté' serving of soufflé of nougat glacé with mirabelles. The bill came to 120 EUR all in for two. Not cheap and probably overpriced given the poorly cooked pike and the rather simple starter of terrine. But nonetheless very tasty. It's furthermore maybe good to know that the hotels is located along the main road in the village but since the road is extremely quiet this is no problem. All in all a nice relaxing stay with nice options for walks or aquatic activities at the Lac Madine a stone's throw away.

Room Tip: Consider getting a superior room in the hotel building as the other rooms can be microscopic. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Thank you for your message.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a really nice hotel. Staff were really friendly and welcoming and the food was really great. Our room was clean and spacious and the hotel had a lovely atmospere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We "found" H. Rest du Lac de Madine "par hasard" and stayed there twice for one night each. Rooms @ 68 and 79€ perhaps a little expensive though very well presented (apart from strange floral "artwork" !) and the prix-fixe menus were @ 28 or 38€, with a limited but sensible and adequate selection, again not cheapish but entirely justified.. The welcome and the ambience were both very good. Family run - and well run. Most definitely "vaut le detour" - and we will hope to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendoffrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a Logis hotel situated in the small village of Heudicourt-sous-les-Côtes and within easy walking distance of the large Lac de Madine, a popular leisure area. The reception was cordial and informative. Unfortunately our room (no. 7) was extremely small, with just about enough space to walk around the double bed. The inclusion of 2 chairs at the bench desk didn't help! The bathroom was modern and clean; the toilet was separate, a quirky feature of many small French hotels. There was a small balcony with 2 chairs, overlooking the street; this afforded no privacy whatsoever from the balconies on either side.

WiFi worked well, with a strong signal, though how secure it is might be of concern.

The most appealing aspect of the hotel is its restaurant, which is very elegant. However, as it was a very warm evening, most guests opted to eat outside. This was very pleasant, apart from occasional emissions from inconsiderate smokers. The 3-course set menu @ €28 seemed rather expensive, especially as there were only 2 options for each course. However, the food and presentation were excellent and portions reasonable. A nice unexpected touch was a small "pre-dessert". Wine was expensive, e.g. a half litre carafe of the cheapest local rosé cost €12. Service was somewhat slow but this didn't matter as it was such a nice evening.

We had to leave very early to catch a ferry at Calais so we didn't have breakfast. However, at €11 it seemed expensive, unless it were a very copious buffet.

Room Tip: Avoid room no 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

set in a small village among mirabelle orchards....in full blossom when we stayed in early April......fantastic dinner and very good value......will definitely stay again

Room Tip: best rooms are worth the extra euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for your nice message !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
5.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Cotes de Meuse
Hotel Restaurant des Cotes de Me...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Maurice-sous-les-Cotes
121 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hattonchatel Chateau
Hattonchatel Chateau
#1 of 1 in Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel
123 reviews
15.8 mi away
Chateau des Monthairons
Chateau des Monthairons
#1 of 1 in Dieue-sur-Meuse
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel de la Madeleine
Hotel de la Madeleine
#1 of 2 in Commercy
34 reviews
21.1 mi away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
222 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Abbaye des Premontres
Hotel Abbaye des Premontres
#1 of 6 in Pont-a-Mousson
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac de Madine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac de Madine

Address: 22 rue Charles de Gaulle, 55210 Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
Price Range: £55 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac de Madine 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Lac de Madine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac De Madine France/Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing