We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Lac de Madine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Lac de Madine
Farnborough
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Friends were staying there, and suggested we all meet there for dinner. I've always had good experiences with Logis de France, and there was no hesitation on my part in accepting. We arrived in Heudicourt at the annexe, and were directed by a guest to the main hotel just up the road. I felt that I'd have no problem whatsoever in staying anywhere in this establishment! We were made to feel welcome, and a table for five was easily arranged. All the menus looked inviting, but we went for the 29€ menu, and quite honestly were not disappointed! Food arrived promptly to table, was hot, and was presented with care. Not advertised, but included was the entre-mets and the pastries with the coffee at the end of the meal. I felt that nothing had come out of the back of a lorry ready prepared. It is a three star establishment, and well deserves its rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you very much for your nice message !
Best regard from all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    88
    33
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
117
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel while we were visiting Verdun although it was actually 45 minutes away. The hotel is very nice and our dinner in the restaurant was superb, one of our best of our vacation. The rooms were clean and spacious. An employee smoking outside our room forced us to close our windows for a bit. There is not much to do within walking distance of the hotel, but we were a short drive from many historic WWI sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

After being stuck out in an Annexe 5 mins away, we found there was was no bath plug. Someone came and took one from another room !

But what was really poor was the food and service in the (expensive) restaurant. Overcooked mushy Gambas; "Waitresses" bringing peoples drinks in bottles to the table, and not pouring them at all; clearing away tables and blowing out candles at 2130 whilst we were still eating. No mention of "how is your food?".

Dreadful experience........

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJJ159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here to break our journey to Lake Como.

A very warm welcome awaited us, and shortly we were enjoying a beer on the patio. Dinner was exceptional, very well served and beautifully cooked.
The area is wonderful. The natural features of the lake start right in front; however, if it's history you seek, it is everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your nice message !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

A party of a dozen eating a good lunch with house wine, nothing extravagant, so surprised that the bill came to €630. Over twice what we paid for comparable food and wine a few miles away in a less smart establishment. I'll look for a better-value option next time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InningsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

the hotel rooms are very clean for french standards but relative small. good for spending the night but quite narrow for any other purpose. big bathroom, again i have to add CLEAN. we also had a small balcony just perfect to enjoy a bottle of good wine after dinner and a small recall of the day. The restaurant is excellent food as well as service. the desserts are great. breakfast is also quite various and good. despite language difficulties (as everywere in france) the hotel team is very friendly and competent.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

What was good:
Calm place, near the lake. Comfortable and clean room, although not very big, but for two people is enough. We took a room in the anex, and it is good choice, as it had a garden and the inside parking, so you can place your car just near the room window. All in all, it is good choice if you looking for the outskirt place to stay. We stayed one night without breakfast.

What was bad:
The WIFI internet was working, but you need to re-register every hour. I suggest to use the fake data to re-register, because it does not validated.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the annex building they have a terrace and nice yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank progys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christelle D, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lac de Madine, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you very much for your nice compliment !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
4.2 mi away
Hattonchatel Chateau
Hattonchatel Chateau
#1 of 1 in Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
15.8 mi away
Chateau des Monthairons
Chateau des Monthairons
#1 of 1 in Dieue-sur-Meuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Cotes de Meuse
Hotel Restaurant des Cotes de Me...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Maurice-sous-les-Cotes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel Abbaye des Premontres
Hotel Abbaye des Premontres
#1 of 6 in Pont-a-Mousson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel Le Chantoiseau
Hotel Le Chantoiseau
#1 of 1 in Chaumont-sur-Aire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel de Montaulbain
Hotel de Montaulbain
#1 of 10 in Verdun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac de Madine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac de Madine

Property: Hotel du Lac de Madine
Address: 22 rue Charles de Gaulle, 55210 Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac de Madine 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Lac de Madine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac De Madine France/Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing